We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so disgusting I have contacted environmental health” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beeches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beeches Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“so disgusting I have contacted environmental health”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I only wish I read others reviews first! I have taken 24 photos to show how disgusting this accommodation is. There was what looked like the following on walls/carpets:- curry/blood/mucus?/dust/stains/chewing gum/chicken (from a take away?) - these stains were on all 4 walls plus the carpet. Under the sink in the bathroom was so bad - just look at the photos! My e mail has been ignored - here is a copy:-
"I am writing to you regarding our stay at the beeches hotel.
I appreciate that it states quite clearly in your paperwork that complaints can only be taken by e mail at the time of your visit.
For me this was impossible as I do not own a mobile that has internet or indeed a laptop computer.
I am now home and therefore have access to my computer.
I have taken 24 photos to demonstrate the level of how disgusting the room and bathroom were. There was food and or blood smeared on all 4 walls and the carpet. Dust thick enough to write in and the 2nd photo was taken under the sink in the bathroom. I thought it only fair to give you the opportunity of finding a solution to my complaint.
I am attaching 2 photos. If you are interested I can send more. If you are not interested I can send them to environmental health/booking.com/tripadvisor.
I am happy to talk to you, e mail you or write but if I do not receive a reply from you I will take this matter further.
Hoping you will reply to me
Janice Arkulisz

Room Tip: Don't go - no matter how cheap it is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank janiceark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    43
    23
    31
    170
See reviews for
30
87
35
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

MJB Group are having problems with Prostitutes in their Norwich Properties so be aware.

MJB Group will Take your Money and Run - they have No Reception nor Customer Care Services only Unhelpful and Extremely Rude People on the other end of the Phone.

Stayed at Stable Court A, Langham Hall, Holt - First thing is their was NO KITCHEN, just a table with a Broken Microwave, Kettle, Toaster, Small Fridge.
Then the real issues arose upon arrival.

- Accommodation was FREEZING COLD upon Arrival
- No Washing up Bowl - had to wash up in the BATH !!
- No Cold Water in the Bathroom Sink
- No Dustpan & Brush or Hoover to clean up any mess
- ALL Bed Lining was Marked with PEN
- No Battery in Smoke Alarm
- By having the Connecting Door into Stable Court B you could hear absolutely everything even the floorboards were noisy - So if you want a Relaxing Time do not stay here.
- Wrong TV Remote
- The Carpets were Stained and very unsightly

The List is Endless

If you don't mind having the Basics and your not expecting too much out of your stay then this is the place for you.

MJB DO NOT ANSWER ANY EMAILS OR PHONE CALLS SHOULD YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH YOUR STAY.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

just had a 4 night stay in Norwich location great Hotel good and only £120 for 2 of us.Rooms tidy with on suite.Only 800 metres from city centre.Well worth a look.Remember to book your car reg in on arrival parking tickets served if forgetting so

Room Tip: Doubles better than twins
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Booked in here at short notice as it was cheap! After finding out there was no receptionist at the hotel, it took some time to gain access to the building and my room, of which was occupied. After making a call, I was given a code for another room. This room had no curtains, smelt of urine. Mushrooms growing on the carpet and mould in the bathroom. As it was late, I just went to bed. At around midnight, someone entered my room, but quickly left, I then heard them outside the room on the phone to someone complaining. At this point I decided to leave and book in at a Travelodge, also with free parking which was far superior. Tried to get a refund but was refused.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Do not stay here.

No curtains on windows, just plastic so sun comes through at 4am.

No staff present at all.

Stains on carpets.

Bed dreadfully uncomfortable.

If your a stag do you wouldn't care but don't think oh cheapish hotel I'll stay there for a night

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Without a doubt the worst hotel experience and not at all cheap - blood in the room doors that wouldn't open A 100 pound parking ticked levied by operators working for MJB despite informing them of the numberplate - they are not interested in helping or listening. STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS - a false economy. Dreadful. You have been warned

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Unthank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

One of the strangest places I have ever had the misfortune to stay in, there have been very few worse in this country.

The only positive thing I can say about the place is that it has a good location, close to one of the city's cathedrals and within easy walking distance of the city centre.

It is fairly cheap, but I wouldn't say this represents good value for money (see below).

Visitors are emailed a code to access the main front door and another one for their room. Beeches House has a dirty, haunted, derelict feel about the place and an overwhelming sense that any expense is too much to the detriment of the staying guests.

Sure enough, on entering your room, this is confirmed. The bedding was truly revolting and had past guests' hair in it as well as stains (blood or poo, I didn't put my face close enough to try to find out), doubtless it had not been washed for some time. The room itself smelt like most badly kept, grotty accommodation. The carpet was also dirty.

One of the worst features is that the windows are all coated up with some adhesive material, ensuring that no natural light is allowed into the room. This adds a whole extra layer of depression about the place.

The bathroom was just about functional, although the bathroom door could not shut as it was swollen from the damp. The toilet flush did not work particularly well and a bowel-like groan accompanied each attempt at using it. I was actually surprised when the shower dispensed hot water. Towels, (like the toilet paper....), were very thin.

Anybody contemplating a romantic trip with a partner should be warned this place could and should end your relationship, with whoever booking it being extremely culpable. Then again, this may have its uses for some.

It is a disgrace to run properties to this standard, especially when the original buildings do not look as if, once upon a time, they were all that bad.

To be avoided at all costs

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.2 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Hotel

Property: The Beeches Hotel
Address: 2-6 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Hotel Norwich
Beeches Norwich
The Beeches Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing