We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff make such a difference”
Review of The Beeches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Beeches Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed here over a weekend and chose the hotel for its location and ample parking facilities - excellent. Service and staff were very good as was breakfast (no Tiptree jam!) Our room, in the rearmost of three buildings was on the first floor and had been recently refurbished.

There were some minor issues with the room so it will be interesting to so if they have been resolved when we next stay at the Beeches.

All in all, a friendly hotel in a good location with a most unusual 3 acre quiet garden between the buildings. you wouldn't believe that you're less than ten minutes walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eertpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for The Beeches Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beeches Hotel, the staff were fantastic, so helpful & friendly, our room was pleasant, beautiful bed. A good size room, just lacking a mirror & could do with a general overhall. The ensuite bathroom was very tired & could be so much nicer if it was updated. But overall a good stay! Breakfast was delicious & so much to choose from & freshly cooked to order. The victorian gardens are truely beautiful & worth a visit. Location to the city is brilliant (aprox 10 minute walk). We would definatly come back & stay at the Beeches again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJRouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

My wife and I could not believe how good this place was! We paid peanuts for room only. On arrival we were met by Sandra at reception and were allocated an annexe room in the house that contains the reception/check in (the hotel rooms are spread between 3 Victorian buildings). We had arrived, early, at 1 pm, but Sandra arranged with the maid to get on and complete the preparation of our room (No. 14), whilst we completed check in procedures. The annexe section of the hotel is quite modern and the room was spotless and surprisingly large, with a tranquil outlook onto gardens and the Roman Catholic Cathedral. I had business to conduct for the rest of the day and we needed to grab a quick lunch. Sandra said that although chef was off duty, she could arrange to have sandwiches made quickly for us to eat on the terrace. Or, she suggested, if we wanted to just take a quick walk into the city that there were loads of Café's in nearby Upper St Giles Street. We popped into, the first one we came to - Café 91, which was less than a 5-minute stroll into the city - the food was delicious and the tea, to go with it was excellent. After work, in the evening, we wandered around the city and had dinner at The Belgian Monk (the mixed seafood platter of smoked fish was stunning!). We walked our dinner off slowly, taking in the narrow lanes and window-shopping in the twinkling night light. We returned to the hotel and had a really comfortable and peaceful nights sleep. Instead of taking breakfast at the hotel (which we thought was a tad on the expensive side at £10 each) we checked out and left the car at the hotel, which the morning staff said was no problem, at all. We ate, again, at Cafe 91 (which it turned out is owned by the same company as the Beeches) at a fraction of the price. There are loads of other Café's in the neighbourhood, so you are spoilt for choice, if you want to try something else (the deli/Café just a couple of doors down, called Louis’s Delicatessen, at 81 Upper St Giles Street – looked particularly scrumptious!). We then wandered around the city, taking in the atmosphere and putting our feet in and out of the lovely shops and market. We spent a couple of hours at the Anglican Cathedral (which is strikingly majestic and resounded to beautiful organ music for a little bit of our time there). We ambled back to the hotel and then spent another hour or so wandering around the in the garden adjacent to it – “The Plantation Garden” – know as Norwich’s “Secret Garden” see http://www.plantationgarden.co.uk/, which is absolutely marvellous! An absolute haven of serenity and beauty and free, for hotel residence.

We had not been to Norwich for over 15 years – but all in all we had an incredible time. We’ll be coming back again, to explore the city further and we will DEFINITELY stay at The Beaches, from the experience that we had and we’d rate this hotel at way above the meager 3 stars that it has and way above the standards of the likes of the large national chains! The staff were first class - and could not do enough for you. Cleanliness, the setting of the hotel in quiet location, but still at the heart of city made the overall experience terrific!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HowdyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Beeches since 2006 and before arriving were a little disturbed by some of more recent negative comments. Our room cost £59 and was cheaper than ever before. We stayed in room 14 which is in the annexe at the rear of reception, the room was clean and quiet. Yes the bathroom is dated but it is functional and clean. Our room had a flat screen TV which was more than adequate. Yes it was a little stuffy but our windows opened.
Quite simply we will stay here again its location to the town centre is perfect with free parking and its quiet.
The gardens again were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thriftycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 23 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This hotel is a excellent place to stay to see Norwich City,the broads and surrounding areas,
we were met by Christy on reception who is extremley helpful and has a lovely smile to greet you,
Steve the porter who also does waiting on at breakfast is a very cheerful man and nothing is to much trouble for him.
the breakfast is wonderful and presented beutifully extra toast ,tea or coffee is offered.
the room was clean and well stocked with tea coffee etc..the hotel is in a super location for the city and the broads,if you dont want to drive there is a bus service that goes from a few yards outside the hotel.
the sunken garden within the hotel grounds is well worth a visit.
we will be returning to the Beeches again this year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shropshirelass0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here for one night as we were in town for the Tattoo Convention, and I thought it looked a charming place and was £59 for the night - this doesn't include breakfast, however, which is £9.95 per person if you want to pay that much!

We had room 39 which was in the building at the rear of the grounds (there are 3 buildings). The lady on reception was very nice, and we felt like we were entering a plush establishment as we stood in reception.

The building we were in was nice enough - a lovely staircase welcomed us up to our room, which was on the third floor. Unfortunately, this was nothing more than an attic room, and decidedly poky.

The room was clean enough, and quite well appointed, but had been decorated on the cheap. Neither the nets or the curtains fitted the windows, and were of differing lengths, when painting the room, they had just painted over the border rather than taking it off......little things like that just made the room look tired and uncared for.

My husband had a shower and found the water temperature veered between freezing and scalding with little warning, and we could get hardly any water pressure from the hot tap in the sink.

Saying that, the bed was superbly comfortable and I did get a fantastic nights sleep, plus it was quiet.

The TV was a bit small, being a portable, and only 5 channels, so if you plan on spending any time in the room, bear that in mind.

I don't know what the restaurant was like as we didn't use it.

We thought it was a shame that small details had been overlooked, when they could have made an average stay quite charming.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
1.0 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#25 of 50 in Norwich
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aylwyne House
Aylwyne House
#27 of 50 in Norwich
56 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
1.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#16 of 50 in Norwich
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Hotel

Address: 2-6 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £47 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Hotel Norwich
Beeches Norwich
The Beeches Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing