We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Split personality, but worth a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beeches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beeches Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Split personality, but worth a try”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Booked a night here (good rate) as had never visited Norwich and wanted somewhere central. Enjoyed stay overall but this is a property with a very split personality...
- Main reception building had recently been made over in modern style, but our accomodation was in separate Victorian house that had last been decorated in the '70s. Depressing public spaces and old furniture in the corridors etc. However...
- It was a decent room (very large) with attractive views and perfectly OK for the price.
- Clean bathroom and amenities OK
- Quiet

Even though this separate building was very tired would recommend it over the main hotel as it was very tranquil... the main building is right on a busy road, and any rooms fronting the property must be extremely noisy.

The staff are friendly and the breakfast perfectly OK (in a recently decorated conservatory-style room).

The main appeal of the hotel is its location next to (and extending into) a fascinating Victorian garden with lots of Gothic architectural details.

A rather mixed experience, but if you don't mind inconsistency worth trying (but make sure that you specifiy a room at the back!)

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CorinthianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    43
    23
    31
    173
See reviews for
30
88
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed at the Beeches as we always do when going to an evening performance at the Theatre Royal. We were a litttle apprehensive as our stays under the previous management had not been as good as we would have liked.

The main attraction for us is the location, just five minutes walk from the Theatre and city centre restaurants. The pretty and historic gardens are also a plus, together with free off road car parking.

We were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist and directed to room 11, which is in an extension at the rear of the main building, on the ground floor. The room cost £59. There was a double and a single bed, and a comfy chair and less comfy stool, which came in handy for our midnight feast after the Theatre. The room was warm and clean, as was the bathroom, but the bath and the taps on the sink were a bit tired and a refurb would be good.

The hotel does not do evening meals at the moment, but the breakfast (extra) was fine after a brief delay while the chef (!?) went out to get some orange juice and yoghurt.

53 Farmers

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Booked in here at the last minute for a business trip and would recommend it for same purpose and be happy to use again. Good value. Downside for some travellers might be lack of restaurant (they do breakfasts), but there are several good restaurants within about 5 minutes' walk (possible problem for a lone female guest?).

Also ample parking, which being so close to the city centre is a bonus for any guests wanting to sight-see and pleasant hosts.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChorleyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

We found this hotel to be clean with friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Our room was well appointed and spacious and hotel location excellent (next to Norwich Cathedral). The bathroom could perhaps have done with a refurb although at the price we paid we thought it was excellent value for money. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alutep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed in the main hotel building. The staff are really friendly and the location is simply ideal for either a Norwich city break or visiting student offspring at UEA. Free parking, quiet location with its own gardens.

Good value, presentable rooms, breakfast not as good as it was but still a place that we enjoy using.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eertpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Great location for Norwich town centre and the cathedral. Very comfortable bed and basic bathroom. The breakfast for £9.50 was really good with buffet for cereals, fruit and croissants and a cooked breakfast which was very tasty. The staff there were very welcoming and helpful and I would definitely recommend it if you are staying in Norwich.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Like many of the recent contributors we found our stay to be disappointing. The price was reasonable for a city centre room £59 for room only (breakfast extra). I think this was one of their basic rooms. The hotel is split into three buildings and this one was looking a little shabby - slightly threadbare stair carpet and battered paintwork. Our radiator did not work, which we reported and they said they would come over to check the boiler, which they did and rang to say it should be OK soon. We then went out for the evening but when we came back we still had no heating - not even any heat in the pipes leading to the radiator. As it was now late and all we wanted to do was go to sleep we decided to put up with it. When we mentioned it in the morning the reception staff were a little annoyed we hadn't reported it again.

Furniture in the room was fine but dated - reminded me of MFI in the 80s but everything was spotlessly clean. My side of the bed was comfortable but every time my husband turned over a spring rattled. The bathroom was clean but again has seen better days - first signs of mould on the bath sealant and the shower pressure was terrible with the water suddenly going cold several times during a shower.

The location is great but money needs to be invested. I realise this would probably mean prices rising but if something's not done soon they will not get repeat business.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.0 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Hotel

Property: The Beeches Hotel
Address: 2-6 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Hotel Norwich
Beeches Norwich
The Beeches Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing