We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated rooms and hotel in need of a refurb 4 star its not.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dated rooms and hotel in need of a refurb 4 star its not.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night recently and wasn't very impressed.

Starting with the positives the staff were nice and check in and out was fine. The rooms was clean enough and the bed was huge but it is 2 doubles pushed together so get the crack in the middle.

Now onto the negatives. The rooms are very tired and in need of a refit. The lights in the room have orange lampshades so make the whole room orange which was ok as I felt like I had a tan! The grouting in the bathroom is also black and not its original white. There is no safe in the room which I was surprised about seeing as its near the airport and people might want to leave there valuables such as passport when popping out for dinner etc. The public areas aren't much better either I'm afraid all very dated. £17 for breakfast for 2 we thought was a bit steep but booked it nevertheless. However the food looked like it had been sat there for a while.

All in all I don't think its a 4 star and wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gfunk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your helpful comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was great to hear you were pleased with your service and found the rooms clean. We do have safes in our executive rooms and if you stay again please let us know and we can allocate a room with this facility.

I am sorry if you felt this hotel’s rating awarded by the AA as 4 stars is not warranted and our continual refurbishment programme will undoubtedly help in renewing our furnishings over the course of 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    138
    77
    32
    23
See reviews for
68
118
16
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel early February with some friends and were amazed with the service offered yet again. We arrived at 1pm, before check in was normally allowed however the polite man at reception arranged a room for us which was ready. The room was spacious and very clean with a view of the runway of the airport (nice for planespotters!). We used the swimming pool and found it clean and quiet, the jacuzzi a perfect temperature.
The restaurant we used for our evening meal and breakfast and cannot fault either.
10/10 and cannot wait to relax and stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveandlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Great to see our returning guests so happy with their stay. Thank you for your comments and I assure you they will be shared with the Team through our weekly Managers’ Meeting. Hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed Two nights at this hotel. The rooms where ok but tired and a bit over priced at £139 The heating for the room was cold and we had to contact reception to get it turned up. It had a Gym which was ok . The staff i think did their best and where pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiPi312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. Great to see that the staff were their usual pleasant selves. I believe since your visit we have resolved any heating issues that may have been present during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Only stayed for one night, and while I can't say that it was awful, it was all very disappointing. The tv in my room (not a flat screen in sight) was like something from the 80's with poor reception. The bathroom was tired and the black sticky substance on the floor was something of a mystery. The overall decor was very tired, with a lick of paint well overdue. Outside of the room the public areas weren't much better. The bar was never going to be busy on a Sunday night but there was only one all male party in the bar which had taken most of the very limited seating - the only seating left were sofa's next to the main entrance. The whole bar area makes you feel like you're in a lobby area - not in a chic, open plan way - more of a sitting in a corridor - all very cold and drab. I checked in at 21:00, just as the pool / spa closed so I didn't get to sample what was on offer there. On the plus side, breakfast (served from 05:30 onwards) was ample, however disappointingly the salad bar had no serving cutlery, the eggs had not been replenished and my tea arrived with an empty milk jug. On the plus side the bed was huge and the sheets clean, but with so many hotels in Norwich (some within a stones throw) I don't think I got value for my £100+ per night stay - I will certainly try elsewhere before returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbutcher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for your thorough review of our facilities and as you can see from previous reviews this is not what you would normally expect and with that in mind I would like to personally speak with you to resolve the issues you experienced and welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Devin Gross (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Great position for the airport and close to the city. Happy staff lovely breakfast will be back

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonedd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact the hotel direct on 01603 201127 to get the best deals on room rates. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Two nights at this overpriced hotel. The rooms are tatty and tired and at £139 a night inferior to the Premier Lodge across the road ; the heating for each room can be controlled from reception and they appear to have a policy of switching it off or adjusting the temperature down. I have had to contact reception 3 times to get the heating back under my control. This policy is alledgedly 'environmental ' however I would suggest it is about reducing their costs and increasing profit.

A lot of the guests are from the oil & gas industry and only here for the night before or after going offshore and I think the hotel exploits this situation as there is little choice nearby The airport and a lot of the rooms will be on company accounts and therefore the hotel does not need to try too hard.

The gym is good but next time I will be staying in the Premier.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and make me aware of the situation you experienced on your recent stay. Since your review I have given full control back to the guests to ensure such well intentioned environmental initiatives do not make any guest’s stay less enjoyable during such a cold spell.

Please be encouraged that only 2 months ago we achieved a Gold Tourism Award, a feat that no other hotel in Norfolk has achieved proves our commitment to this area. If you could contact me directly I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you in person. Devin Grosse (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have just spent another 2 nights for new year at this hotel, we had previously stayed here in april 2011 and had a great room on that visit so we e-mailed ahead and asked the hotel if it was possible to have the same room again, we promptly got a reply within 24 hours saying no problem, we arrived at the hotel and was given this room so a very good start to the break, we had breakfast at the hotel on both mornings and this was done with excellent service and excellent food. we used the leisure facilities on both days while there and these again were very good, the hotel was yet again very clean and with very good service by all staff, we shall certainly book this hotel again while visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Fantastic to hear you received the great service we try so hard to provide on both your visits. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future; there are some great deals to be had around the Easter holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#23 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
7.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Address: Cromer Road Nr Amsterdam Way, Norwich NR6 6JA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Norwich City Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the ideal choice if you re visiting the Norfolk Broads, Norwich city centre or attending a business meeting in Norwich. The fully air conditioned Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the first choice of many guests searching Norwich hotels.Our location minutes from Norwich International Airport makes our Park, Stay & Fly package ideal for a stress free start to your trip.If it s leisure that brings you to the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel, you ll be spoilt for choice. Relax in our health & fitness club, visit the Norfolk Broads or explore stately homes such as Royal Sandringham, all within easy reach of our Norwich hotel. Best known for its medieval castle & stunning cathedral, Norwich city centre, (3 miles from the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel), has been transformed. You ll find famous stores in the Chapelfield Mall, plus countless specialist shops.If you re choosing Norwich hotels for business our helpful staff, Wi-Fi access & 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms, offer a perfect working environment. You can trust in our reputation as one of the best Norwich hotels for banqueting , to help you plan perfect events in Norwich. We also offer a fantastic programme of tribute party nights during the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel Norfolk
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing