We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, but dated, and overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Starke, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Well located, but dated, and overpriced”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

As other TripAdvisor reviewers have noted, this hotel is looking rather dated and tired. At £139 a room it is also in my view overpriced. That said, the bathroom of the room I stayed in had recently been completely refurbished, and was absolutely first class.

I ate in the bar on the evening of my arrival, and the food was good. Breakfast was also good, although for some reason (to save time perhaps) the eggs are deep fried, which makes them pretty unappetising as far as I am concerned.

Finally, as a Gold level Priority Club member, I find it deeply irritating to be told that I have to pay £10 for internet access, when several other chains now provide it free to all, and almost all make it free for elite members. Unless you really need to stay right by the airport, you can do better.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DylanWadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your comments and great to see you experienced one of our newly refurbished bathrooms, they really are exceptional. I’m glad our food offerings were to your liking and I have shared your comments with the Team. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    147
    84
    34
    25
See reviews for
76
125
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Better than most airport hotels - comfortable, with friendly and efficient staff. Also had a very pleasant dinner in the hotel from a short but interesting menu. Pool and gym facilities were an unexpected extra.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afmmbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Glad that you enjoyed our hotel and found us “Comfortable & Friendly”. We are excited that our new Restaurant menu starts at the end of the month with an “Autumn feel” which has quite an extensive selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Arrived just after midnight and was warmly greeted by a woman on check-in.

Neither myself, nor friends realised there was a gym or swimming pool, a shame really. Probably a oversight on own part rather than theirs.

Bathroom suite a little dated and tv not a top of the range flat screen HD, but it worked.

Had booked a kingsized bed, which end up being two singles push and zipped together. I'm aware that this makes the room more flexible to accommodate different guests and their needs, but I wasn't 'woah-ed' by the bed.

Quiet on the whole, even with the airport near by, with the exception of a guest who had a loud phone conversation somewhere on the corridor at 7.30am in the morning to someone called Charlie!

Breakfast can be pre-ordered for £8.95. We didn't bother about this, but when we woke up the next morning we went down to see what was on offer. We were told breakfast was £13-ish!!!! And we thought £8.95 was expensive!!!!!!!!!!!

The hotel is really handy for the Park and Ride, literally 2 mins walk. A return is £2.10 into the city centre. You can get a group ticket for £4.20 which will cover 2+ people. Only realised this after we'd all bought individual return tickets!

Would definitely stay again and would bring my swimming gear next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaRomer1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Great to hear that you would return and excellent to highlight the Park & Ride which is a real asset so close to the hotel. I have shared your comments with the rest of the Team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vijfhuizen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Having stayed a considerable time at this hotel I feel the need to add a review.
Surely its a dated hotel but it still comfortable.
And yes, the TV sets need replacing.
The air conditioning work but requires more than just the push of a button
But the staff is nice and helpful
Special requests are often honored
The breakfast offers a wide variety of food.
The rooms are quiet and spacious.
Bath rooms are presently renovated and look now modern and very nice.
The location is outstanding for air travelers in particular for early depts.

A pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. As you know we will always try to make you feel comfortable during your stay with us in your “home from home”. If I can be of personal service to you just call. Devin Grosse (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed for one night. Was upgraded by Abbie the reservation supervisor and allocated a very nice executive room. Had a warm welcome and found everything to be as you would expect.

Comfortable nights sleep and a very good breakfast.

If I have one suggestion it would be that the tv needs upgrading. Flat screen HD it was not.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickiedickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Excellent that you enjoyed your stay with us here in our hotel and just for your information we have quotes in for new TV’s so hopefully they should be with us fairly soon. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Overall a very clean tidy hotel with a very good restaurant and friendly helpful staff. I requested to have a room ready for an early morning arrival and they accomodated me without any fuss, unlike many other hotels.

I would certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart139Craft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Great to hear from all our guests especially such positive comments. Thank you for visiting us and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Devin Grosse – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here as part of a coach tour for three nights from 22 June. My elderly mother and I were given excellent treatment. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and clean. All the staff were extremely helpful and obviously have been well trained. The standard of the food was very good as was the choice. Well done Holiday Inn Norwich North I would definitely stay here again and recommend you to friends and family. Jenny from Nottingham

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden would be tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANorwich, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
What a lovely review to read on such a lovely day here in Norfolk. Thank you for your comments which I will ensure the Team get to see and I know they will take pride receiving such feedback. Thank you once again – Devin Grosse (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
658 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
2.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Address: Cromer Road Nr Amsterdam Way, Norwich NR6 6JA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Norwich City Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the ideal choice if you re visiting the Norfolk Broads, Norwich city centre or attending a business meeting in Norwich. The fully air conditioned Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the first choice of many guests searching Norwich hotels.Our location minutes from Norwich International Airport makes our Park, Stay & Fly package ideal for a stress free start to your trip.If it s leisure that brings you to the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel, you ll be spoilt for choice. Relax in our health & fitness club, visit the Norfolk Broads or explore stately homes such as Royal Sandringham, all within easy reach of our Norwich hotel. Best known for its medieval castle & stunning cathedral, Norwich city centre, (3 miles from the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel), has been transformed. You ll find famous stores in the Chapelfield Mall, plus countless specialist shops.If you re choosing Norwich hotels for business our helpful staff, Wi-Fi access & 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms, offer a perfect working environment. You can trust in our reputation as one of the best Norwich hotels for banqueting , to help you plan perfect events in Norwich. We also offer a fantastic programme of tribute party nights during the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel Norfolk
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing