We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Like a lot of airport hotels, the Holiday Inn Norwich North has suffered from an obvious lack of investment. The rooms are patched up and fixtures have seen better days, and the carpets are all very bare and communal areas and lifts are dated. However the room had decent air con and a comfortable and clean bed, and the staff on reception were helpful. At £90 a night it was expensive for what you got, especially with a more modern and cheaper Premier Inn next door, however the breakfast was reasonable and the hotel had a large free carpark which made it ideal as a base for a wedding weekend held down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogwai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear mogwai84,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the cleanliness of the room that did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

This Holiday Inn came to our rescue providing accommodation with disabled bathroom access for 6 nights for my elderly father and me, when our initial Holiday Inn booking in the city wasn't able to meet our request. (Twin room or disabled access but not both!) The room was fine, spacious and comfortable, but essential mobility needs such as hand rails were lacking and the wash basin is minuscule in a giant bathroom. The air con really challenged us as it kept switching to heat mode uninvited so we sweltered through one night not realising the settings changed themselves. However the Manager was great and all the staff very helpful, and the gym and pool were a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Wendy W W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased that you found our staff to be very helpful.

On the other hand, I apologzie for you didn't find our hotel to your liking and for the shortcomings you had in your room. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 2pm but told room not ready and will be 45 mins, give tea coffe and squash with biscuits whilst we wait. Room was lovely huge bed and sofa bed. Water crisps and chocolate on room and a fridge too. Also hairdryer and iron with board. Air con was rubbish!! Not cold at all. Bathroom was fine but the bath could have been much bigger. We ate in the bar in the evening, quite expensive almos £15 for a burger but the kids were free so it kind of made up for it. The burger itself was homemade and fab. Breakfast was wonderful drag strawberries lush. Full English, continental etc all buffet style. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornsyyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was really pleased to see how much you enjoyed the restaurant and the food. The burgers are homemade and are really popular so thank you for metioning them.

Breakfast always goes down well and as you pointed out there are over 50 items to choose from including specials such as smoked salmon and scrambled eggs always worth trying.

The rooms are a great size and when we get our planned refurbishment in the near future I'm sure you'll see an even better hotel than you've recently stayed in.

Thanks again for your review it's very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I stay here regularly for business and it does the job. Very convenient for flight-catching, rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Restaurant food is average and tables are usually sticky (must be the cleaning fluid they use). Staff are on the whole friendly and plentiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear DutchJoe,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. The Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I am very pleased to hear from your review that we're able to meet your expectations. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

we stayed for a hen night and took part in the 80's themed night. it was fantastic...excellent food,service and the group and disco were fab..
we stayed the night and our room was clean and very comfortable. reception staff were helpful and friendly. Spa was good too

Room Tip: we had a twin room on ground floor behind recetion very quiet
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you very much for writing a review on TA. Its always great to get feedback about our hotel and particularly when you have had such a great time.

Our "Theme Nights" are superb and as you saw very well attended. We normally do a couple per month and you'll find details of future events on our website or just call and ask for our Events department.

The food is excellent and always piping hot when we serve it.

I'm really pleased you liked your room, the twin rooms are huge and as you stated very quiet, who'd believe you were at an airport hotel?

Thank you once again for your review and I hope you'll look again on what we've got on offer and join us for another great night out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

In the Wright Brothers Suite
What a lovely room, with a huge bathroom
The bar was expensive, but the king sized bed was perfect
Did not have the breakfast, but i'm told there was a large choice on the menu
The staff were all helpful, when ever we needed service

Room Tip: ask for an access room
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbevHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Great to see that your check-in and check-out were good, quick and easy.

It was however disappointing to read that you had some problems with your room. A new management company has taken over the property and we have carried out more training with all of the departments to ensure we are offering great service at all times.

Eileen and her team in housekeeping are reporting all defects directly to maintenance so I would hope a repeat incident will not occur again as all of the team in housekeeping are dedicated to their roles.

I was pleased that your steak was changed although the first one should not have been overcooked so apologies for that.

We always get great feedback about our breakfast so thank you for mentioning how good it was.

All of the team are superb and guests regularly comment about how friendly everybody is so its great you've also mentioned this.

Thank you again for thaking the time and effort to write a response on TA and I hope we'll be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Efficient and jolly check in, all explained well. Room was okay but there was a lack of attention to detail. For example - there was a lightshade missing from a bedside light, no big deal but makes it look like no one cares. The bathroom could have been cleaner (and bigger). I think it's just a bit expensive for what you get. Food in the restaurant was pleaseant. I had to return my incinerated 'medium' steak but there was no fuss (and a free drink) and when the next one came it was perfect. Breakfast was a pleasant buffet with pleasant staff. Check out, like check in was efficient. I'd stay again as it's convenient for the town but more convenient to get to and park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TA, we really appreciate the feedback about your stay and our hotel.

The reception team are great and always go out of their way to ensure all of our guests have a smooth and efficient check in and check out and your comments certainly tell me that their standards remain very high.

The restaurant team also work very hard to ensure everybody has a great experience in either breakfast, lunch or dinner, it was good to read that your steak was immediately replaced and the second one was very much to your liking and that you enjoyed your breakfast experience.

We are just about to start a new range of "Specials" in the restaurant in the evenings so hopefully on your next visit you'll be able to try one of our new dishes sourced wherever possible form local Norfolk produce.

I was disappointed to read your comments about your room and I have spoken to Eileen and the team in housekeeping regarding your comments about the bathroom and the missing light shade the team do care about the hotel and many of the girls have been here over ten years so I'm sure when you next visit you'll see a definite improvement.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review and I hope I'll be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
677 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.1 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel

Address: Cromer Road Nr Amsterdam Way, Norwich NR6 6JA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Norwich City Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £68 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the ideal choice if you re visiting the Norfolk Broads, Norwich city centre or attending a business meeting in Norwich. The fully air conditioned Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the first choice of many guests searching Norwich hotels.Our location minutes from Norwich International Airport makes our Park, Stay & Fly package ideal for a stress free start to your trip.If it s leisure that brings you to the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel, you ll be spoilt for choice. Relax in our health & fitness club, visit the Norfolk Broads or explore stately homes such as Royal Sandringham, all within easy reach of our Norwich hotel. Best known for its medieval castle & stunning cathedral, Norwich city centre, (3 miles from the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel), has been transformed. You ll find famous stores in the Chapelfield Mall, plus countless specialist shops.If you re choosing Norwich hotels for business our helpful staff, Wi-Fi access & 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms, offer a perfect working environment. You can trust in our reputation as one of the best Norwich hotels for banqueting , to help you plan perfect events in Norwich. We also offer a fantastic programme of tribute party nights during the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel Norfolk
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing