We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average and uninspiring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Average and uninspiring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Oh dear... Holiday Inn is a global brand, quality is a "watch word" - this hotel is somewhat uninspiring.

If I had to place a bet, I'd say this hotel was built in the 80's - and has not been updated since. Maybe a lick of paint on the walls, but certainly not on the woodwork - which was horrendously chipped. My room (as many others according to reviews...) smelled of something odd - mould? Damp? Carpet looking worn, furniture very dated - as was the bar area (basically it was "reception" and restaurant.

Bed was fine - although I'm not convinced it was a duvet. Felt more like a layer of a few blankets in a duvet cover.

I didn't have food, so can't comment on that.

Staff were very polite and cheerful, room was clean. Can't fault the people running/managing the place, but really expect better of the Holiday Inn parent company as this lets their brand down. Especially at £139 room only on a Sunday night - fels like poor value. At least the wifi was free (unlike some hotels - Hilton!!!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. The property was built in 1990 and we have had work done but more is required which we are hoping will happen in the very near future as we are due a full refurbishment.

I agree the bar and reception area do look tired but this will all be resolved soon.

Pity you didn't try the food the restaurant is excellent and very popular with our guests staying in the hotel and also with our local community.

It's great you mentioned the team they are fantastic and really work hard to ensure all of our guests have a great stay. Eileen my Housekeeping Manager really appreciated your comments about the room being clean it can be hard work when the property is slightly older.

As I mentioned earlier we will soon be a fully refurbished hotel and hopefully at that time we'll be a brand leader!

Thanks again for your feedback very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    141
    81
    33
    25
See reviews for
72
120
17
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lanark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a last minute deal after an apartment in Norwich city fell through. Rooms are very dated and neglected, bed was uncomfortable and the bathrooms was mouldy. Hotel needs renovated but I doubt this will happen. Hotel is used as an offshore base for workers so it is guaranteed income.

Much better hotels available in Norwich. If it is for an overnight and use of the parking whilst going on holiday it is bearable, just. Foods ok if a little pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ_MCNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear KJ_MCNI,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry our hotel fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Swindon.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Not disturbed by aircraft noise. Very good restaurant. Staff very attentive in the restaurant. Didn't expect it to be as good as it is.
Only negative was room(219) had a very odd aroma which needed an air freshener to cover it up.

Room Tip: rooms at the front face the airport - our room faced the rear and we didn't hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for your review about our hotel and I'm really pleased we exceeded your expectations. The team are great and go out of their way to ensure everybody has a really great stay.

Our restaurant is very popular, so popular in fact we have a restaurant club which is frequented by our local community, our Sunday Lunch carvery is well know for its quality and quantity.

Sorry to hear the room had an aroma it's something I've looked at and hopefully its now resolved! We are due a refurbishment in the coming months so hopefully the next time you come back your review will be giving us 100%.

Thank you again for your review it really is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in october last year. We had a family room for the three of us. Our room was spacious and clean. The staffs were very helpful and friendly. There is small gym and a swimming pool which was good but the toilet / changing room is in need of an updating. The breakfast offers good variety of food from continental to cook English breakfast to pancake and fresh fruit. Overall it was a good long weekend away for the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear LRHow,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We decided to chase some decent weather over the bank holiday and head to Norwich. Hotel rooms for a family of 2 adults plus 2 kids and a toddler were next to non-existent but the Holiday Inn offered us a Suite on a B&B basis for £125 a night. This meant we could stock up in the morning and only need one other meal during the day which suited us fine. The hotel staff were fabulous - very helpful and polite and couldn't do enough for is. Breakfast was great with plenty of variety and freshly cooked items. The suite was spacious with a separate bathroom and dressing area and 2 TV's. yes, the room was a little tired but it was spotlessly clean. We took the kids for a swim in the pool (which was lovely). The only downsides were the noise of the air conditioning unit situated outside the hotel below our window which did keep me awake on the first night and the pillows which were seriously hard. I actually thought it was aircraft noise initially as the hotel is so close to Norwich airport but I was mistaken. The hotel was less busy on the second night and the noise was barely heard. All in all, we felt as a family we got good value for money, using it as a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryscakeandCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review about our hotel, i'm delighted you had such a good stay and found it good value for money. As a base we're perfect for the city, and for the beautiful North Norfolk Coast with Holt and Cromer only 20 minutes or so away.

Glad to hear you liked the room, they're a great size for a family and with the two TV's also stops the kids arguing!

Breakfast as you said is fantastic lots of choice and more than enough to keep you going until the evening.

We are looking forward to a refurbishment in the coming months so hopefully the next time you come and see us you'll see a whole new hotel to enjoy.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We went to the 80's tribute night for my hen night last month, there was 19 of us, the night was very good, nice food, good band and disco afterwards. The downside to it was we were on 2 seperate tables would have been better if we were altogether of if the tables were closer together. Some of us stayed the night. The room was very comfortable with a massive bed. The breakfast in the morning was lovely and lots to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelseadenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for your review of our hotel I was really pleased to read how much you'd enjoyed the night. The tribute nights and other theme nights are always very popular and usually sell out so we know we're doing something right!

We usually put in tables of 10-12 so that we have more room for people to walk around in, if we had lots of large tables people would find it difficult to move around the rooom freely.

The rooms are big and the beds are also enormous so I'm glad you had a good nights sleep with us.

Breakfast remains a firm favorite and I'm really pleased you and your friends enjoyed it so much.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how your stay went and I hope you'll be back soon on somebody else's hen night or just for a great night out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Like a lot of airport hotels, the Holiday Inn Norwich North has suffered from an obvious lack of investment. The rooms are patched up and fixtures have seen better days, and the carpets are all very bare and communal areas and lifts are dated. However the room had decent air con and a comfortable and clean bed, and the staff on reception were helpful. At £90 a night it was expensive for what you got, especially with a more modern and cheaper Premier Inn next door, however the breakfast was reasonable and the hotel had a large free carpark which made it ideal as a base for a wedding weekend held down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogwai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear mogwai84,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the cleanliness of the room that did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Address: Cromer Road Nr Amsterdam Way, Norwich NR6 6JA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Norwich City Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the ideal choice if you re visiting the Norfolk Broads, Norwich city centre or attending a business meeting in Norwich. The fully air conditioned Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the first choice of many guests searching Norwich hotels.Our location minutes from Norwich International Airport makes our Park, Stay & Fly package ideal for a stress free start to your trip.If it s leisure that brings you to the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel, you ll be spoilt for choice. Relax in our health & fitness club, visit the Norfolk Broads or explore stately homes such as Royal Sandringham, all within easy reach of our Norwich hotel. Best known for its medieval castle & stunning cathedral, Norwich city centre, (3 miles from the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel), has been transformed. You ll find famous stores in the Chapelfield Mall, plus countless specialist shops.If you re choosing Norwich hotels for business our helpful staff, Wi-Fi access & 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms, offer a perfect working environment. You can trust in our reputation as one of the best Norwich hotels for banqueting , to help you plan perfect events in Norwich. We also offer a fantastic programme of tribute party nights during the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel Norfolk
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing