We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the flat lands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Return to the flat lands”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel dated but clean with good facilities. Breakfast good but over priced for children over 13. Staff friendly. 10 minute ride to Norwich city centre. In the 21st century all hotels should offer WiFi in rooms. The hotel only had the facility in the lobby and then at a cost

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank whimbrelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear whimbrelboy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We were glad to see your kind comments for the staff, cleanliness, and breakfast quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    144
    83
    34
    25
See reviews for
75
123
18
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I'll start with the positives - the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly despite the environment they have to work in.

This hotel really suffers as a result of what appears to be zero investment over the years, decoration in public areas is very tired with black marks on walls and paint chipped from door ways and other decorative features. Fixture and fittings are old and appear dirty as a result of their age - although they may function perfectly adequately. Lighting in public areas does not always work neither does the ice machine, WiFi is slow and intermittent (tested in room, bar and restaurant). Gym is just a mess - broken lockers, cracked tiles and rusty equipment.

Food from the restaurant is passable if not overpriced for the quality.

I stay regularly at IHG hotels across the globe and can say this is the worst Holiday Inn I've stayed in, I would not return and would not recommend to others whilst the hotel is in its present state.

If this is a 4 star hotel I dread to think what the reviewer would class as 3 star.

Room Tip: In another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordieladinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear geordieladinlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the the condition of our facilities. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here over the new year and attended the glitter ball the hotel held. From the check in to the ball the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The event was a great success which we much enjoyed and was good value for money with a lovely 4 course meal and the band got every one up on the dance floor.





Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding New Years Eve. We had some great feedback and yes the band was fantastic, we're currently taking bookings for this year so don't miss out and book now to avaoid it being a sell out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I booked 2 rooms for the family prior to reading the reviews, the hotel had an excellent past history. Upon reading the reviews I was concerned about what I would find. We checked in early hours of 26th Dec the rooms were clean and the bathroom for room 205 looked like it had been refurbished. Staff did not tell me that there was only 1 lift to the third floor and at 02:00 I spent 5 minutes trying to work out how to get to my room with a lorry load of luggage. There was a sign but not that clear -

Breakfast on 26th was served until 10.00 am, while we were cutting this a little fine there a a reasonable choice and the quality was fine, my parents joined us just past 10:00 and they still had a reasonable choice of a fry up. The only down side was a member of staff taking away a balloon from my 18 month son after his co worker had given it to him 5 mins earlier and the mad rush to clear our tables.

Boxing Day lunch was good, food fresh at 13:30 only complaint would be no roasted parsnips and no mince pies with the coffee. Minor issues but they make Christmas special.

Over the next couple of days I found the two chef very helpful and the food was of good quality, other staff were not so pleasant and felt like they were wishing they were elsewhere. I spoke to the manager who has a desk in the entrance hall, very keen to take on-board feedback and not push it away with the usual corporate crap...The plans for the refurbishment sound good and I am sure we will all see new new hotel born. Just hope that some of the staff also find a happy face as well.

In general its fine but a little tired in places, wait a couple of months and I am sure you will be happy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripple_Disaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, the renovations will end soon, and I hope you stay with us again and see the improvements we have made. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Been staying here for business for a number of years. Over the last 5 years I have seen the hotel slowly declining. My latest stay Dec 2013, will be my last. Shower sealant covered in black mould. Toilet flush handle broken. Drawers in room falling to bits and bodged repairs. Temperature control non existent. Room way too hot! When I spoke to reception ll I got was a "we will get maintenance to look at it" !Breakfast Luke warm and dried up. Not quite what one would expect for £160 per night. Good points, staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Mike C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is over priced and dirty stayed the 26th, dirty glasses left in the room... Two single beds pushed together... Avoid if can do... Would never go back!! The only plus to this hotel would be the customer service we got when coming into the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwi3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. I'm really sorry you didn't like your room and had you spoken to us after you checked in we would have happily moved you.

Your bed is what we call a zip and link, it forms a King size bed when its zipped together which is huge, or it becomes two single beds when a twin room is required.

Many hotels use these kind of beds to allow for flexibility within the room as I previously mentioned had you told us you disliked the bed we could and would have moved you.

I'm sorry you found a dirty glass in your room, whilst the hotel is quite dated we really pride ourselves on the cleanliness of all areas so I was surprised to read that you felt the hotel was dirty so I'll agree to disagree with you on this occasion.

Once again thank you for your review we really appreciate all feedback good or bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding breakfast and reception here 17 August 2013 in the wallbrough suite. Can't say how brilliant it was. We had a great time. Food was excellent and organisation fantastic. Great value. Everything went so well an we really relaxed and enjoyed our special day. The room was transformed into a beautiful space and the staff were more then happy to help with extra things. Special thanks to Sophia our organiser and Ginny who was helping us on the day. Nothing was too much we so appreciate it. Our suite the wright brothers suite was lovely as was breakfast. I'd recommend it for a fantastic wedding venue, thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review about your wedding day at our hotel. I'm delighted you had such a great day and that everything went so well. We always go out of our way to ensure that all of our guests have a stay to remember and It sounds like we exceeded your expectations.

All of the team really appreciate reviews good or bad when they come in as it allows us to see what we are getting right and what we can improve on, your review tells us all we gave you a memory you'll never forget. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Address: Cromer Road Nr Amsterdam Way, Norwich NR6 6JA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Norwich City Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the ideal choice if you re visiting the Norfolk Broads, Norwich city centre or attending a business meeting in Norwich. The fully air conditioned Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the first choice of many guests searching Norwich hotels.Our location minutes from Norwich International Airport makes our Park, Stay & Fly package ideal for a stress free start to your trip.If it s leisure that brings you to the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel, you ll be spoilt for choice. Relax in our health & fitness club, visit the Norfolk Broads or explore stately homes such as Royal Sandringham, all within easy reach of our Norwich hotel. Best known for its medieval castle & stunning cathedral, Norwich city centre, (3 miles from the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel), has been transformed. You ll find famous stores in the Chapelfield Mall, plus countless specialist shops.If you re choosing Norwich hotels for business our helpful staff, Wi-Fi access & 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms, offer a perfect working environment. You can trust in our reputation as one of the best Norwich hotels for banqueting , to help you plan perfect events in Norwich. We also offer a fantastic programme of tribute party nights during the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel Norfolk
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing