We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much Bang for your Buck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not much Bang for your Buck”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I had a one night stay here as I was waiting for a next day flight from the conveniently close airport 5 minutes walk away. There is a very handy bus stop accros the road (Park and Ride) that runs into the city centre around every 15 minutes. So with time on my hands it was no problem going to see the sights for a few hours - very worth while as Norwich is very historic.

The hotel itself was a bit of a letdown, being rather pricey and in need of a bit om attention (threadbare carpets , very dated bathroom etc) For the price paid (around 140 GBP) I feel they should offer something a bit better. The restaurant staff was very friendly and helpfull, but next time I'll find a nice pub in the area and eat there as the food was like the hotel - in need of upgrade.....I have to add that the staff was very friendly and really treated me like a guest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. The property is old and it is time it had a refurbishment and I'm really pleased to inform you that the said refurbishment has now started.

We are having all of the bedrooms, bathrooms, public areas, meeting rooms and health and fitness club completely re-done so its a really exciting time for me and the team.

Sorry to hear you didn't particularly like the food, thats really unusual as one of the things people say is that the food and the team are great the hotel needs work!

Hopefully the next time you come and stay with us you'll give our restaurant another chance as we also have a new Head Chef who is fantastic.

Thanks for mentioning the Park and Ride it is really convenient and as you stated a very easy way to get into the city for very little money.

Thank you again for your review and hopefully the next time you stay you'll see a whole new product.

Bill Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    147
    85
    34
    25
See reviews for
77
125
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here for just one night in April 2014 to attend a function. Here is my report.
Not as easy to find as you might imagine but follow signs to the airport and just as you think you are driving onto the airfield itself there is some signage.
There seems to be plenty of parking available at a weekend.
On entering the foyer you will see a car park machine in which I had to input my car reg and room number this allows for free parking and for staff to find you if required.
Check in was quite smooth and a credit card taken to allow for meals and drinks, papers etc to be booked to the room.
The room itself was on the front (airport side) of the building but we did not notice any aircraft noise at all. The only real let down of this area was the small of cigarette smoke but it was not enough for us to change room. One towel had a stain on it (not dirty just stained) and the hotel services manager replaced this even before we returned from reception, excellent service.
The swimming pool and fitness centre are found at the back of reception down a long corridor and both facilities are very good. Towels are provided if you wish to swim and you will need a GBP 1.00 coin for the locker use. There is a steam room and also a sauna room accessed from the poolside. There are a number of meeting rooms and these all seem ideal for business uses.
The restaurant was closed after lunch when we arrived but staff made a sandwich for us "no bother sir"
The evening function meal was excellent and 100 guests were served, all hot foot arrived piping hot and was to a very good standard. The bar stays open until 0400 and breakfast starts at 0500 (probably due to Flight Crew staying at the hotel).
Morning papers arrived as requested and in good time to be read before breakfast.
The buffet breakfast was also excellent with cereals, full English or continental help yourself. Loads of choices and enough to set up even the most hungry traveller.
Overall this is one of the best budget hotels I have stayed in Europe OR UK.

Room Tip: Even numbers seem to be on airport side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

You'll be pleased to hear that the hotel has just started a full refurbishment so the next time you come and stay it will be even better.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review your comments are very much appreciated.

Bill Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Where do I start?
We attended the restaurant for dinner one evening in February as we are members of the restaurant club and all was well. Two weeks later we receive a parking fine on behalf of the hotel.!!!!

There is a machine in reception where you have to enter your vehicle registration when you visit however the restaurant staff had previously advised us our details would be entered and valid for six months.

We went to the hotel to try and sort this out and were told it was nothing to do with them and we had to contact the car parking company direct. We emailed the parking company to appeal the fine but they responded saying that although we may have been authorised to park there the car was not on the system so the fine stands.

After a further 2 trips to the hotel we were ensured the issue would be resolved by the manager however to date, some 3 weeks after the fine was issued, we have never had either a call back or email to advise what was going on. The customer service has quite frankly been appalling and the staff need to realise how this reflects on the Hotels image. Having been frequent visitors over the last 10 years we are questioning whether we wish to return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding the car park at our hotel. We do have a parking system in place that has been at the hotel now since May 2013.

If your registration details in the system have run out we can input them again without any problem. If it was inputted for 6 months a small note on a calendar may help for next time to avoid any repeat of getting issued with a ticket again just let us know your cover is coming to an end.

If you spoke to myself then the issue will have been resolved and as I've been on holiday for the last two weeks you'd probably not have heard from me as I was out of the country.

The system is in place to ensure genuine guests of the hotel can get a parking space. As it's a airport hotel the car park as you can imagine without some kind of control over it would be badly abused, which it was hence the system being installed in the first place.

I hope this answers your concerns however please feel free to contact me if you'd like to discuss any of the above further.

Bill Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Don't know where to start because this hotel is so poor, have stopped here for the last three years on business trips ( about 60 nights) but have stopped there for the last time, here is a short list of why not to stay.
. hotel is old & now looks dirty
. Gym/ changing rooms are a disgrace.( whirlpool been broke for at least 6 months)
. Restaurant ( ate in here three nights got order wrong every time , ordered a holiday inn chicken salad & it came without the chicken !). service so slow even though the restaurant was less than half full. One night when there was only four customers staff decided to talk about their social lives & what they were doing later over the customers from one side of the floor to the other.
.Ice machine on second floor has had an out of order sign for the last year.
.Bill is always wrong
I NOW EXPECT THE MANAGER WILL USE HIS NORMAL EXCUSE THE HOTEL IS DUE TO HAVE A MAJOR REFIT , LIKE HE DID 3 YEARS AGO !

Room Tip: Sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I'm sorry you feel the hotel should be knocked down. It is old I don't disagree and "Yes" a refurbishment is due in fact it's now starting although as I've only been here for 14 months it wasn't me who told you this three years ago.

I'm sorry to hear the service was poor this is not the feedback we normally get about the team and I'll be discussing your comments with food and beverage manager.

Please contact me directly to discuss future stays as the hotel is going through changes and I'd really like to be able to invite you back so you can see for yourself the changes that are taking place. Change takes time so I really hope you'll take up my offer.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Bill Heath
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Over the last 4 weeks I have used the hotel for meeting colleagues and clients in the foyer area. We have bought food in the restaurant and teas coffee and drinks over the different meetings. Having used the hotel while I was in business over the last 20 years, for other charity fund raisers I had organised and business dinners and Balls I had sponsored (the Lancaster Suite) and attended I had never been charged for parking while using the restaurant and front lobby areas.

This morning, a parking charge landed on the mat of the firm for £100. I had a receipt to show for my coffees, teas and biscuits, but when discussed with reception today they pointed to the machine adjacent to reception (which I hadn`t been near) and said it was out of their hands. I said that I had not been issued with a ticket to get stamped or processed, nor had any of the restaurant staff mentioned that I should be aware of this electronic machine. I have contacted my lawyers and have written to the Chairman of the group. So much for their stated aims on their web site. Money is obviously very tight and this is not the hotel it once was. Our next charity dinner will be at another Holiday Inn in the area, which apparently does not have parking managed by a firm of bailiffs`. There are better hotels, no doubt, but I now need to drive to Sprowston or Dunstan. Avoid this one, the trading standards report will undoubtedly change little!

Room Tip: Avoid completely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Andrew M,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel dated but clean with good facilities. Breakfast good but over priced for children over 13. Staff friendly. 10 minute ride to Norwich city centre. In the 21st century all hotels should offer WiFi in rooms. The hotel only had the facility in the lobby and then at a cost

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank whimbrelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear whimbrelboy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We were glad to see your kind comments for the staff, cleanliness, and breakfast quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I'll start with the positives - the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly despite the environment they have to work in.

This hotel really suffers as a result of what appears to be zero investment over the years, decoration in public areas is very tired with black marks on walls and paint chipped from door ways and other decorative features. Fixture and fittings are old and appear dirty as a result of their age - although they may function perfectly adequately. Lighting in public areas does not always work neither does the ice machine, WiFi is slow and intermittent (tested in room, bar and restaurant). Gym is just a mess - broken lockers, cracked tiles and rusty equipment.

Food from the restaurant is passable if not overpriced for the quality.

I stay regularly at IHG hotels across the globe and can say this is the worst Holiday Inn I've stayed in, I would not return and would not recommend to others whilst the hotel is in its present state.

If this is a 4 star hotel I dread to think what the reviewer would class as 3 star.

Room Tip: In another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordieladinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear geordieladinlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the the condition of our facilities. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#20 of 50 in Norwich
660 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
2.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Mercure Norwich Hotel
#24 of 50 in Norwich
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel

Property: Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Address: Cromer Road Nr Amsterdam Way, Norwich NR6 6JA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Norwich City Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the ideal choice if you re visiting the Norfolk Broads, Norwich city centre or attending a business meeting in Norwich. The fully air conditioned Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel is the first choice of many guests searching Norwich hotels.Our location minutes from Norwich International Airport makes our Park, Stay & Fly package ideal for a stress free start to your trip.If it s leisure that brings you to the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel, you ll be spoilt for choice. Relax in our health & fitness club, visit the Norfolk Broads or explore stately homes such as Royal Sandringham, all within easy reach of our Norwich hotel. Best known for its medieval castle & stunning cathedral, Norwich city centre, (3 miles from the Holiday Inn Norwich-North hotel), has been transformed. You ll find famous stores in the Chapelfield Mall, plus countless specialist shops.If you re choosing Norwich hotels for business our helpful staff, Wi-Fi access & 7 air-conditioned meeting rooms, offer a perfect working environment. You can trust in our reputation as one of the best Norwich hotels for banqueting , to help you plan perfect events in Norwich. We also offer a fantastic programme of tribute party nights during the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel Norfolk
Norwich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing