We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and Scones”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Coffee and Scones”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Looking for somewhere to have a nice relaxing coffee and bite to eat,we found the ideal place.My aunt suggested this hotel,the girl on reception was very helpful and informed staff that we had arrived and what we would like a snack.A very nice young man ordered our scones jam and cream .coffee and tea,we had to wait quite awhile for the scones but when enquiring w told they were very busy and would be with us soon.No problem to us as we were in no great hurry but did like to be told what was happening.The scones were very nice along with the coffee.Really enjoyed the hotel and staff were busy but not to busy to speak to us and explain everything.Have lived in Norwich all my life but have never been here before.I really enjoyed it because it felt very festive.There was a wedding about to take place.It was warm and relaxing and classy yet reasonable.Perhaps they should advertise this service more as I would never think about going anywhere like this but for a couple of extra pounds it is much more enjoyable than lots of cafes I have visited in Norwich,and nice to have a smile from people.Will return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Tuckswood,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is amazing to think that you had never visited us before but hope you come back soon. Apologies for the delay in the scones but as you were informed we did have a wedding on at the time and hopefully the delay was not too long. We cater for many functions and weddings but nonetheless we always strive to ensure that delays are kept to an absolute minimum.

We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    338
    114
    40
    11
See reviews for
140
524
34
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire lass in ashton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

we went to the maids head between xmas and the new year the main point is the location right facing the cathedral so really central .
the room they gave us was so small with a constant humming background noise , ask to be changed ,and was changed straight away to a really great room 219 , but the bed was so hard struggled to sleep .
the buffet breakfast was fine really enjoyed it , but the whole hotel was just too hot .
staff were lovely , but dont think i would return sorry .
also found in the room 1 umbrella and 1 dirty pair of tights so cleaning not throughly done .

Room Tip: quiet room quite large room 219
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millie1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Millie1033,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you would have liked and I was very disappointed to read about the problems you encountered during your time with us.

We strive to make our guests experiences with us a memorable time and on this occasion it seems as if it was for the wrong reasons. We have a very thorough housekeeping team where we rarely see any negative comments but on this occasion it seems as if they failed to deliver our usual high standards and I must apologise for that. I was also disappointed to hear of the humming noise that disturbed you when you first arrived. I was however delighted to see that you enjoyed your second room and breakfast.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future and hope to turn your opinion around as we don't like to be "just ok".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

booked a new years eve package and did,nt really know what to expect but we had a wonderful time, we thought it great value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was basic but spotlessly clean. The food was brilliant, five course evening meal and a great buffet breakfast.We suffered no noise in our room and would certainly stay here again, I think people forget the hotel is over 800 years old, its full of character, and Norwich is a wonderful city

Room Tip: We stayed in 102, basic, but quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Kimfam,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I was delighted to see that you started the new year off with a bang and enjoyed yourselves at our NYE 007 inspired evening.

Make sure you return this year to ensure 2014 starts off in the same way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

booked here for a birthday and shoping trip, a good welcome but that where it ends, our room was cold with the sound of dripping water in the walls, the night manager did bring us a heater in when we reported the rads was not working. glass was missing from the double glazing. so we could here all the fights and shouts from all the pubs at chucking out time. breakfast was not any better, the bar was the size of a small bedroom, this hotel could be so much more.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Steven c,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I was however disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your time as much as we would have hoped.

We must apologise for the noise experience you encountered during the night and as much as outside guests causing noise is not something we can directly deal with, we do have a lot of sound proofing to prevent such problems, however it does not seem as if it was sufficent enough on this occasion. We have recently been bought by an independent hotelier and this is high on our list of areas to look at resolving.

We are also looking at our breakfast offering to see how this can be improved but as you can see from a couple of reviews posted after yours, they have commended our breakfast so it is an area where we need as much research as possible.

I was disappointed to read your comments about our bar. It may be small but it is filled with so much character and we certainly would not want to rip the heart out of the oldest bar in Norwich to conform to the modern big bar area with no life and soul. This bar has been frequented by the likes of Nelson and Oliver Cromwell so we see it as a great feature of our hotel. Proudly the oldest hotel in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Although we expected some noise as this otherwise lovely building in in the heart of Norwich, nothing could have prepared us for what I would describe as probably the worst night in a hotel we've ever had. Stayed for one night for a Christmas party and came home very disappointed. Staff were friendly, our meal was nice and so was breakfast. The room temperature however was unbearable so we had to have the windows open but this meant that we had to listen to constant noise from drunk people shouting and smashing glass, etc. This went on until about 6 am at which point we had decided to get up and drive home to get some sleep. Please sort the air conditioning out and invest in some decent pillows as when paying nearly £100 a night, people expect to sleep on something a little more comfortable than a sand bag. Lots of potential in this building but it needs sorting out soon.

Room Tip: Unless you are going clubbing all night and don't plan on sleeping, chose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartyPants4872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Pixiejojo933,

Thank you for feedback in regards to your time with us. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal, the service and breakfast but was upset to read that you did not enjoy other aspects of your stay.

Unfortunately mattresses and pillows are of high debate as to guests preferences and we do have a range of pillows to cater for guests requests. One guest may prefer a soft pillow and the next a firmer pillow to sleep on. It was just a shame that you did not get the chance to ask for a replacement.

In regards to the heat, being December we wanted to ensure our guests were not freezing cold when entering the hotel and also comfortable within their rooms. Being an older hotel it is quite diffcult for us to balance these issues with pipe works etc running through the hotel, however having been bought out by an independent hotelier in December we are looking at how this area of our hotel can be improved and we are hoping for work to start within the next few months.

I must apologise that you did not enjoy your time with us as much as we all would have liked but we do hope that you come back to experience the changes we hope to make within the next few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Booked in for one night at the Maids Hotel in the centre of Norwich.
Was prepared for it to be noisy as had been told they had office parties on and also it is in the centre near late opening clubs etc.
None of that was too much of an issue
Checked in to be told we had been upgraded to a suite. Sounded good but that was all. Room was small and in the eaves, it stank of damp or for a brief spell the cheap air freshner unit put in to disguise the damp. Neither were pleasant. It was baking and even with all heating turned off we could not cool the room. This was the 15th Dec and we even put the aircon unit on to help although that like everything else did not work!
TV remote did not work and had lost back which was cheaply fixed with some black tape which did not hold the batteries in fast enough for the unit to work. The lights were so dim you could barely read.. I could go on and on. This is no way 4 stars lucky to score 3 I would say.
It is a great building and if someone bought it and spent the needed cash on it , could be a 5 star gem, but I suspect it will never happen.
Staff were friendly that was the saving grace perhaps.
Still after a night of hardly any sleep due to the heat lack or air and small bed I will not be returning

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathanN n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Jonathan N,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us much as you would have hoped.

However it was great to see that you share our view on the potential for this hotel and having been bought out on the day of your stay we are looking at the areas of concern that you have raised.

Watch this space. We may well be a 5* gem in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing