We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect.”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Almost perfect.”
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay & it was almost perfect. The room was a good size as was the bathroom. Both the bedroom & the bathroom were very clean with everything we needed. There were a few issues, both phones in the room didnt work, sleep was disturbed by the constant pigeon noise, also we booked the room with the free bottle of wine, we were told that this would be given to us upon checking out???? Would have been nice to enjoy the wine in our room!!!! Would stay again despite the minor issues its a lovely hotel & the staff were helpful & polite.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Ricci D,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay with us.

We must apologise for the problems you encountered with the phones and pigeons. We have already replaced the phones in the room in question, this was most unfortunate and we are looking in to the problem you encountered with the pigeons.

The wine on check out is seen as a gift from us to remember your stay, which is why we give it on check out to our guests.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    358
    121
    40
    11
See reviews for
144
555
38
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Think I must have stayed the same night as a recent reviewer who was kept awake,the night duty staff said it was a problem especially with Americans calling home,loudly, due to the time difference.
It was like Chinese torture ,loud voices all night long,being woken every hour.
Staff are friendly as is check in,public areas pleasant and comfortable.
I booked an Executive room,319,seemingly recently refurbished but it was done in boring creams and browns,dull furniture with a lampshade full of holes.The " king" bed was two singles pushed together with big ridges down the middle - don't you just hate that ? The bottom sheet had a hole in it ,however the mattress was comfortable though the pillows were not.
The bathroom had a faint smell of urine,basin plughole surounds was brown and the tap was limescaled behind and green verdigis underneath.Poor shampoo and body wash,no body lotion.
The litte wood panelled bar is great with a fine choice of wines.Breakfast was excellent ,a first class english.Great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Worldtraveller1953,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. We were very disapoointed to see that you did not get a good nights sleep due to the noise encountered from another guest. Unfortunately this is not something we can help too much with, if we are not aware of the situation.

I was also very alarmed at the problems you encountered with the bathroom and we are looking in to this immediately as cleanliness is something we pride ourselvs on.

I was however pleased to see you enjoyed that bar and restaurant and we hope you come back soon to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

A lovely time, staff in the restraunt were brilliant, the service and food very good. I found the bed extremely comfortable although the pillows were too hard for me. The only fault really were the TV was on in the bar, on a Saturday night...i would have prefered music playing in the back ground rather than tv/football, but stlll had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Mary H,

We were delighted to read that you had a brilliant time with us on your birthday. It is a shame that you did not enjoy the football on in the bar. It is not something we have on very often as we only put live games on when they are on terrestial and on request.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon for another celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmswell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I picked this hotel to stay in because it was close to the town centre and seemed to have character.
I didn't realise until I got to norwich how conveniently located the hotel is and how nice the place is.
From the hotel you can easily get to any of the nice bars and restaurants that the town has to offer. The hotel itself has a nice old charm to it with lots of exposed wood frames. My only gripe is that our room was nice but the curtains and decor needed a bit of a refresh. The room was nice a spacious and the bathroom was huge but just I think they could do with giving the room just a little bit of a makeover, the wallpaper was stained in places and peeling. But overall we got a nice sleep and felt very comfortable in the room.
I can't forget the breakfast, it was lovely and very filling. The staff were really polite and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Daniel J,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.

We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment plan and we hope to iron any issues such as decor etc in rooms over the coming months.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Firstly, the service was great. Receptionist, guys behind the bar & especially the staff in the restaurant were fantastic. Unfortunately we found our room to be extremely noisy, and it seemed like the walls were paper thin - we could hear everything going on around us. We're seasoned travellers, so quite used to the noise of hotels - but we'd not experienced anything like this before. The room itself was comfortable. We'd paid for an upgrade - thought I'd hate to see what we would have got had we not. The hotel didn't seem busy - so judging from other reviews - we may have just been unlucky. We also had to drag our bags up and down stairs to our room which I always hate. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was supurb - couldn't asked for better service or food.

Room Tip: We only stayed the once, and doubt we'd go back. But if you're a good sleeper, and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helentlr276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Helenltr276,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I was extremely disappointed to see that we did not fulfill your expectations during your stay with us mainly down to a problem with noise. We do not often hear problems about guests in nearby rooms so this was unfortunate so we must apologise that you were disturbed by this. We are usually able to deal with guest noise quite easily once informed. Did you inform us at the time?

We also do have lift access in the hotel as well as offering luggage assistance. Were these optiops not discussed with yourself?

It would be good to hear back from you so that I can investigate the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We spent last weekend at your hotel, and what a lovely time we had. The room (414) was beautiful and spacious. The bed was so comfortable. All the staff couldn't do enough for you especially Richard in the bar. The hotel is very conveinently placed in the city. We had breakfast and Sunday lunch and both were very tasty. Thank-you for making our anniversary very special.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Penny C,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We were delighted to see that we made your anniversary stay with us a pleasant one. I will also pass on your comments to Richard, it is always nice to read about staff looking after guests in such a way.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have stayed here before and had a great time and always recommend to friends and family so this time we decided my sister, her partner,myself and my husband to treat my mum and dad for mums 70th with the Friday night feeling package, BBEM, wine and cocktail before evening meal. Previously we have had fantastic rooms, large, kingsize beds, large bathrooms and very clean,this time the complete opposite, isn't it always the way when you've raved about something then take someone else, our extremely small double which although ok for a one night stay or single occ of a double maybe for business clients was very disappointing, we just had enough room in the very tiny wardrobe to hang 4 tops and 2 coats, the double bed had a mattress that had gone one side my husband had a dip right in the middle, the walls were marked in the bedroom and the bathroom in desperate need of a paint, the need for a good feather duster and a red mark on the toilet seat which we could only think was blood and an apple core under the dressing table, how this wasn't noticed when hoovering by housekeeping I don't know! I know it's a very old building one of the reasons we love this hotel as its so quirky and appreciate room sizes in an old building will vary but the cleanliness and quality of the room was really not up to scratch, guess we have been lucky on previous visits with our rooms! But the worst thing was we had no sleep at all due to a constant humming noise!! However as before the evening meal was amazing, the presentation and quality of the food was fantastic, and the waiting on staff were great, well trained, professional and courteous, two young waiters stood out in particular, the breakfast was also great quality, although two of us ordered from the menu the others had the Buffet and said the quality was great, food extremely tasty, obviously excellent chefs both in the evening and for breakfast, hopefully if we return we will be luckier with the bedrooms, it's not a cheap night for 3 couples with coffees we spent £440.00 in total and this review would have been 5 star if it wasn't for the bedrooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Julia R,

Thank you for your feedback.

I must apologise for not delivering to our usual high standards on this ocassion. I am in the process of conducting a full investigation as to why the bedroom cleanliness was not up to it's usual standards. We rarely hear any negative feedback in relation to our cleanliness and it is most upsetting to see. I would really appreicate it if you could contact me at the hotel to discuss further to help with my investigations.

I must also apologise that you did not find the room as suitable on this ocassion, we do indeed have a variety of guest rooms available but once again it is not something we hear too much negative feedback about as each room has its own character and charm.

I was however delighted to see that you enjoyed the service you encountered at the hotel as well as your meals. And it was great to see that you would come back to visit again.

We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,644 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing