We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very atmospheric”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very atmospheric”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Lovely warm room on a cold weekend. Very central to the City and close to the Cathedral. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice. There was a wedding reception there on the Saturday evening in the restaurant, but another room and a bar had been set aside for residents of the hotel. The bar area wasn't great but okay to have a quick drink

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Kay S,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on your recent stay with us.

It is always great to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable experience with us and we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    332
    114
    39
    11
See reviews for
135
514
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Quirky layout with loads of history in the hotel and perfectly placed to walk anywhere in the City. The staff were very friendly and efficient but left you alone until you wanted them. Quiet, comfortable rooms and the shower was the best I have ever had in any hotel anywhere but I would replace the flimsy shower curtain with a folding screen. Tasty breakfast and plenty of it - the bacon was particularly nice. Although it wasn't on while we were there I can see how the TV in the cosy little bar would be extremely annoying if you just wanted a quiet drink and a chat. We left on the Saturday morning - there was a wedding party being held in the hotel that day and the dining room was looking magnificent.

Room Tip: Ask about upgrades. Ours was well worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveV_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear SteveV_999,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to read such lovely reviews where we have met the guests full expectations.

The majority of our guest bathrooms are fitted with screens as opposed to the shower curtain and we are currently looking at converting the remainder within the near future.

Also, you will be pleased to hear that the TV is usually only in the bar area on request or on news channels with no sound so as not to disturb our guests.

Once again thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting family. Managed to get a car parking space. Staff on arrival were pleasant. Room small and could have done with a face lift. Paper coming off the wall, carpet could have done with a good Hoover, and paint peeling off the wall in the bedroom. However bed was comfy, but do not think it was a double bed. Bed was up against the wall so if you needed to get out in the night one had to climb over the other person. Room was warm. Did not eat in restaurant, and breakfast very pricey. On checking out the staff did not have a lot of conversation, we were not asked if we had had a pleasant staff. If we had had to pay the going rate then We would have been very disappointed, however we paid £48, which for the centre of Norwich was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Gina S,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that you were not overly enthused with your time with us.

We are currently working our way through a refurbishment plan so the majority of rooms will have a touch up of some kind, you will be pleased to hear.

I must apologise that the receptionist did not seem to strike up much conversation on check out, customer service is key to our business and a lot of training is given to our staff in this field. They should certainly always be checking how a guests stay was.

We do hope you give us another chance so we can show you how we usually do things. Why not book on a B&B rate where you get a reduced rate on breakfast so you can experience how good our breakfast is. We certainly think it's great value for money as do many of our guests as you read through the reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here again in February - not as good as a year or so ago though.
Some rooms (like ours) may have only a view of wall covered in guano with resident pigeons & unwanted light from entrance lobby. Ours also had a seriously noisy bathroom extractor fan. Not a great night then!
Breakfast now buffet style which is OK but we hoped for the previous superb table service.
Place is close to some of the best places in Norwich - cathedral, market, castle, great shopping, Jamie's Italian restaurant. Can't agree with another reviewer that parking inadequate (well not in February anyway). Just near impossible to find although right nearby (signing inadequate).
Staff helpful at all times and manager particularly amenable when we highlighted our concerns.
Love Norwich and have stayed at quite a few hotels there but might give some others a try next.

Room Tip: Avoid 104 or near
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Colin R,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I must apologise that your stay was not to your satsifaction. Unfortunately not all of our rooms do have the wonderful view of Norwich Cathedral but on booking you can upgrade to one of our feature rooms or executive rooms with a view.

Breakfast is either served by buffet or a la carte dependant on the number of guests that are staying with us in house (the majority of the time being buffet) so we can ensure that guests can get a fulfilling breakfast at the speed they like. A la carte options are available every day from the menus set on the table however.

We do hope you give us another chance on your next visit to the area and hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and i stayed here recently to celebrate her 50th birthday. We had no problems with parking and booking in. The room was facing Magdalan street which can be noisy although we were not disturbed with any noise. Room was clean, tidy and warm, bed and pillows were hard but i expect some people like them like that. The room did smell of paint. We had A good choice at breakfast which was good. The hotel looks in places tired.

Room Tip: You can ask to leave your car in the car park which allows you more time to look around Norwich
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwm2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear wwm2310,

Thank you for your recent feedback with us here at The Maids Head Hotel.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed most parts of your stay and that you enjoyed your wifes 50th birthday with us.

Being the oldest hotel in the UK we are prone to the odd thing looking a bit tired but we are currently in a refurbishment period at present which is where you may have got the faint smell of paint from. We must apologise that this was the case however as we do keep our rooms off for a few days after paint work so as not to effect their stay.

We do hope you return to us soon and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed here overnight for a business trip. I arrived about 10pm and left by 9am the following morning so I didn’t really spend much time in the place. From what I saw I liked it, it has lots of character.

My room was spacious and had a faint smell of paint which I took as a good sign that it had been recently refreshed. The décor and furnishings were very nice.

The downside was the bed was really hard, whilst it didn’t stop me sleeping (I was tired from travelling across Europe all week) I woke up with my hips hurting.

The bathroom was fine though there were a few nooks that were not very clean. I spotted this just as I was about to leave that there was a ledge between the outside shower screen and the wall which looked like it was collecting dust and dirt. I’m glad I spotted it at the end it might have put me off otherwise
.
The breakfast buffet selection was very good and staff attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astro07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear Astro07,

Many thanks for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I was most disappointed to see that you found the bed, not to your liking and also some cleanliness issues and must apologise. Mattresses and pillows are a very difficult situation, due to guest preferences and we do not hear too many negative comments about them. However we should not hearing negative comments about cleanliness of our rooms/bathrooms and will investigate this matter fully.

We are currently working our way through a lot of rooms to touch up which is where you may have got the faintest of fresh paint smells. We do however keep our refurbished rooms off for days after paint work etc to avoid problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Overall a pleasant stay with good food. Room was very small and been swopped before we arrived. Had someone rejected the room? Car park was rammed and we had to street park several hundred yards away at £1/hr free after 6pm. I had previously checked about parking and was told that residents had parking included. Eventually got parked at hotel in late evening. Norwich seems to be anti car to the point of absurdity.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotfrog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear HotFrog99,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I must apologise for the inconvenience with the car parking. Unfortunately as you probably saw the barrier was unfortunately broken this past weekend which meant that non residents must have parked in to the car park as a result. We usually have adequate parking for all of our guests as well as functions etc that may be going on but this was an unforseen circumstance of which we are deeply sorry. We are now in the process if getting the barrier repaired..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing