We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maids Head Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Farm Hotel(Hethersett)
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunston Hall(Stoke Holy Cross)
US$127
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnham Broom(Barnham Broom)
US$270
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveller rating
698
401
128
45
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
401
128
45
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine pressoldest hotelcathedral suitenorwich cathedrallovely old hotelcar parkafternoon teacentral locationexecutive roomfree parkingsconesbuffet stylesingle roomvisiting norwichrestaurant staffweekend breakstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,226 - 1,231 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The DB&B deal was a real success and great value for money. The location of the Hotel couldn't have been better being within a stone's throw of the Cathedral and easy walking distance from shops, river and many other interests. Contrary to other reports the car park was easy to find being just behind the hotel with plenty of space.
Our room turned out to be a double rather than the twin we booked but this was soon sorted out and we happily settled in to the complimentary bottle of fizz and the box of chocs.
The food was excellent although the buffet breakfast was a little disappointing particularly with the food temperature, just above cool.
The friendliness of all staff was very welcome and we would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnMMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear KnMMcEwan,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I was glad to see that we managed to sort out the issue of room type woth you quickly enough. I was however disappointed to see that you found breakfast a disappointment. We have lots of excellent reviews in regards to our breakfast of late after we made some remedial changes. Hopefully this was just a one off as temperature hasnt been an issue in recent times.

We hope to welcome you back for our seasonal dinner, bed and breakfast rate, inclusive of prosecco and chocolates again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

There were 4 of us for Dinner for a birthday celebration. What a wonderful meal and the service was excetional. Well done to the Team. Everwhere was very clean. The wine was superb. We will definately be using the restaurant again in the future

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear JonathanS001,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback in regards to your recent meal with us in the winepress restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Second stay at the hotel alone and must say what a wonderful place this is. Staff are efficient and effective, made sure I was very happy. The Executive Double Room is stunning and comfortable to be in and very generous with the space to move around in. This hotel is a definitely a must have stay because of the location, the wonderful food and great full english breakfast. The portion of the breakfast was more than accomodating, half eaten but thoroughly enjoyed with fresh coffee.
My recommendations of this hotel is that you should take a opportunity to dine in the hotel, have a taster of some wine in the Wine Press with excellent bar staff especially a pleasant chap called Richard with great knowledge of wine and will let you sample a couple before deciding what you like to enjoy. I must add the atmosphere in the Wine Press is great because its vintage and oldy worldy also it has that happy buzz added to it. The WiFi is great for business work and a good connection.

Room Tip: Please visit booking.com for when booking this hotel to get value for money. The double executives are much bigger than standard double rooms so I hear. Mine was v. spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear Ultimateminx30,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear how our guests have enjoyed themselves.

It is especially pleasing when our staff get special praise and we will pass your comments on to Richard, I am sure he will be thrilled to read these comments.

One small thing however... Please book direct with the hotel in future as opposed to through booking.com where you will find even better offers.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Second stay at the Maid's Head and would definitly return again. Hotel is very central directly opposite the cathedral, yet still has a good sized car park. All the shops and resturants of Norwich are easily walkable, with several within five minutes walk. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful - requests for things like fresh milk were speedily met. Room on this occassion was at the top of the hotel - quirky with uneven floors but a huge twin room - and yet just £41 per person per night for bed and breakfast excellent value. Heating great and room really warm desipte it being a bitterly cold weekend. Internet (one code per computer but you can have as many as you want) worked very well. Buffet style breakfast very good, with items available to order if wished. If I could suggest one thing it would be to replace the plastic looking coal effect fire in the main lounge (which was never on) with a living flame gas fire or similar. Then, if there was a sofa next to it, I might never leave......

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hersoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear hersoton,

Many thanks for your lovely review on your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time with us.

We are currently looking at our refurbishment plan and the lounge area is certainly towards the top end of our agenda so your suggestion will definitely be put forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is a really nice place to stay in Norwich, set in Tombland so easy to get to restaurants, train station, courts etc. We ate in Zizzi which was minutes away. The hotel is a period hotel and full of quirky features for example the restaurant was in what looked to be an old courtyard which has been made into part of the hotel (My only criticsm would be the waste waterpipes were a little noisy and off putting though) The staff at reception were really helpful and organised enough to have items such as tooth brushs for guests that forget these things! (at a reasonable cost). The breakfast was very nice. Plenty of parking spaces available, although the entrance to the car park was a little hidden away.

Room Tip: I have been told from a colleague that the single rooms are quite small
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear jwillia,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear that we have met our guests expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews