We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished our stay was longer”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Only stayed for one night, but was very welcoming,Plenty of old history , very oldy worldy, Very comfortable and clean. Food was awesome. the service was excellent, Would definatly use again. Hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear DeborahMitchell,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

Chain hotels have their place. You know what you're going to get whether you're in Basingstoke or Dubai, Barnsley or Bristol - the Maid's Head is not a chain hotel.

This is our second stay with a good double room and big bathroom.
A great value, centrally located and characterful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliententacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Aliententacles,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you chose to return to us for a second time and hope that you will be back for a third visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Even though weather was terrible we had a brilliant break mainly due to the hotel. Location was great and car parking at the hotel was good. Had a DB&B package which was fantastic value, both restaurant and service where superb. Cannot praise the hotel and staff too highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Kenneth P,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. If you enjoyed the restaurant, why not treat yourself to a wine and dine package next time. 5 courses all accompanied by a matching glass of wine to enhance your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We went to Norwich because our ancestors are from there. Maids Head was the perfect location as the major Norwich attractions are within easy walking distance. The hotel had great character, updated without being over-modernized. The wi-fi worked fine, there was a bathroom in our room, and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast buffet worked perfectly and was our introduction to an English Breakfast.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Cathy M,

Thank you for your lovely feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that we were able to make your stay with us so comfortable and relaxing whilst exploring your ancestory.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The DB&B deal was a real success and great value for money. The location of the Hotel couldn't have been better being within a stone's throw of the Cathedral and easy walking distance from shops, river and many other interests. Contrary to other reports the car park was easy to find being just behind the hotel with plenty of space.
Our room turned out to be a double rather than the twin we booked but this was soon sorted out and we happily settled in to the complimentary bottle of fizz and the box of chocs.
The food was excellent although the buffet breakfast was a little disappointing particularly with the food temperature, just above cool.
The friendliness of all staff was very welcome and we would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnMMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear KnMMcEwan,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I was glad to see that we managed to sort out the issue of room type woth you quickly enough. I was however disappointed to see that you found breakfast a disappointment. We have lots of excellent reviews in regards to our breakfast of late after we made some remedial changes. Hopefully this was just a one off as temperature hasnt been an issue in recent times.

We hope to welcome you back for our seasonal dinner, bed and breakfast rate, inclusive of prosecco and chocolates again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

There were 4 of us for Dinner for a birthday celebration. What a wonderful meal and the service was excetional. Well done to the Team. Everwhere was very clean. The wine was superb. We will definately be using the restaurant again in the future

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear JonathanS001,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback in regards to your recent meal with us in the winepress restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Second stay at the hotel alone and must say what a wonderful place this is. Staff are efficient and effective, made sure I was very happy. The Executive Double Room is stunning and comfortable to be in and very generous with the space to move around in. This hotel is a definitely a must have stay because of the location, the wonderful food and great full english breakfast. The portion of the breakfast was more than accomodating, half eaten but thoroughly enjoyed with fresh coffee.
My recommendations of this hotel is that you should take a opportunity to dine in the hotel, have a taster of some wine in the Wine Press with excellent bar staff especially a pleasant chap called Richard with great knowledge of wine and will let you sample a couple before deciding what you like to enjoy. I must add the atmosphere in the Wine Press is great because its vintage and oldy worldy also it has that happy buzz added to it. The WiFi is great for business work and a good connection.

Room Tip: Please visit booking.com for when booking this hotel to get value for money. The double executives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Dear Ultimateminx30,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear how our guests have enjoyed themselves.

It is especially pleasing when our staff get special praise and we will pass your comments on to Richard, I am sure he will be thrilled to read these comments.

One small thing however... Please book direct with the hotel in future as opposed to through booking.com where you will find even better offers.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,764 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,174 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £92 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing