We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, traditional hotel”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is probably the best hotel to use if one is planning a visit to Norwich. It is well placed in a pleasant, convenient part of the town, unlike the Premiers and Travel Inns etc, which all seem to be either too far out or in rather insalubrious surroundings.

The hotel itself is comfortingly traditional and has a cosy atmosphere in the lounges, which are delightful areas in which to sit for afternoon tea. We did not eat at the hotel, as we prefer to get out and about, but the menus looked very tempting. Breakfast a bit expensive when compared to a little café we found across the street, but that’s pretty much par for the course.

Our first room had an unfortunate problem with noise from what I assumed were air conditioning units attached to a nearby wall. The noise in the bathroom was so loud that it almost sounded like road works going on outside. Concerned that this could be a serious problem at night, I went down to reception to query the matter. I was reliably informed that the units were switched off at night and I was happy with that, as we planned to be out most of the day. Sure enough, when we went to bed the room was quiet. However, at seven o’clock the next morning, the units were switched back on and woke me and that was it as far as a quiet lie-in went that morning.

I had a word with reception and their reaction made it obvious that they were aware of the situation. But they were happy to move us and the next room we had was on the other side of the building and not affected by the noise. The next night’s sleep was blissfully peaceful. However, I think it’s a bit stiff that a four-star hotel expect guests to put up with such a racket and, since it seemed they knew about it (I see another guest has complained of it here) I feel they should be making plans to rectify the problem post haste.

The rooms are pleasant and comfortable with a decent sized bath for a soak after a day’s wandering. The beds are excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel, but just make sure you get a room on the quiet side of the building!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room unaffected by air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diximix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear Diximix,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us yet very disappointed to read that you encountered problems with noise from extraction units. We are looking in to the noise issue currently and hope to have things rectified within the next couple of weeks.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,191 - 1,197 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Only stayed for one night, but was very welcoming,Plenty of old history , very oldy worldy, Very comfortable and clean. Food was awesome. the service was excellent, Would definatly use again. Hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear DeborahMitchell,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Chain hotels have their place. You know what you're going to get whether you're in Basingstoke or Dubai, Barnsley or Bristol - the Maid's Head is not a chain hotel.

This is our second stay with a good double room and big bathroom.
A great value, centrally located and characterful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliententacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Aliententacles,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you chose to return to us for a second time and hope that you will be back for a third visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Even though weather was terrible we had a brilliant break mainly due to the hotel. Location was great and car parking at the hotel was good. Had a DB&B package which was fantastic value, both restaurant and service where superb. Cannot praise the hotel and staff too highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Kenneth P,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. If you enjoyed the restaurant, why not treat yourself to a wine and dine package next time. 5 courses all accompanied by a matching glass of wine to enhance your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We went to Norwich because our ancestors are from there. Maids Head was the perfect location as the major Norwich attractions are within easy walking distance. The hotel had great character, updated without being over-modernized. The wi-fi worked fine, there was a bathroom in our room, and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast buffet worked perfectly and was our introduction to an English Breakfast.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear Cathy M,

Thank you for your lovely feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that we were able to make your stay with us so comfortable and relaxing whilst exploring your ancestory.

We hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The DB&B deal was a real success and great value for money. The location of the Hotel couldn't have been better being within a stone's throw of the Cathedral and easy walking distance from shops, river and many other interests. Contrary to other reports the car park was easy to find being just behind the hotel with plenty of space.
Our room turned out to be a double rather than the twin we booked but this was soon sorted out and we happily settled in to the complimentary bottle of fizz and the box of chocs.
The food was excellent although the buffet breakfast was a little disappointing particularly with the food temperature, just above cool.
The friendliness of all staff was very welcome and we would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnMMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear KnMMcEwan,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

I was glad to see that we managed to sort out the issue of room type woth you quickly enough. I was however disappointed to see that you found breakfast a disappointment. We have lots of excellent reviews in regards to our breakfast of late after we made some remedial changes. Hopefully this was just a one off as temperature hasnt been an issue in recent times.

We hope to welcome you back for our seasonal dinner, bed and breakfast rate, inclusive of prosecco and chocolates again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

There were 4 of us for Dinner for a birthday celebration. What a wonderful meal and the service was excetional. Well done to the Team. Everwhere was very clean. The wine was superb. We will definately be using the restaurant again in the future

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear JonathanS001,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback in regards to your recent meal with us in the winepress restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
693 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £93 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing