We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend stay”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend stay”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March as it was the venue for a friend's wedding. The hotel itself is very charming with the restaurant in a converted courtyard and rooms on different levels. Service on reception and from the bar and housekeeping staff was friendly. The executive room we had was lovely and spacious with a view out towards the cathedral. Breakfast in the morning is mostly from a buffet although you can order some items such as black pudding, scrambled egg, porridge or smoked salmon a la carte. My only complaint was that they charged me £3.50 to have a hot chocolate with breakfast although tea, coffee and juices were complimentary (and they did tell me there would be a charge upfront). The hotel is located in the city centre within easy walking distance of the main high street. I would thoroughly recommend the Maids Head and would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Kate C,

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Unfortunately Breakfast only covers complimentary tea and coffee, but does not include hot chocolate and other specialty coffees. I was pleased to see that you were informed of this however to avoid any surprises.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    337
    114
    40
    11
See reviews for
140
523
34
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous easter weekend at this hotel. It's ideally placed in the centre of Norwich, and we were all there to celebrate my niece's wedding. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and spacious. The staff, right from arrival at reception throughout our stay, were professional and warm. For example, I noticed a lovely waiter helping an older relative by holding her plate, selecting her food from the buffet and ensuring she was safely back to her seat. The wedding meal was delicious....the wedding ceremony fabulous (snow included!), and the disco in the evening had everyone dancing. Allowing for rose tinted spectacles because it was such a wonderful occasion...I will definitely go back to the hotel to stay. Thank you to all at the Maid's Head Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Susan L,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding,Lincs
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We had previously arranged to go to Dublin but due to a family bereavement had to change our plans and re-arranged to go to Norwich for a weekend.
We enjoyed a 2 night break at the Maids Head and found all staff polite and helpful at all times.
The Executive Room was very spacious,clean and well appointed. Athough the room overlooked a busy road it did not suffer from traffic noise.Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of fruit juices,cereals and hot food.
Location was excellent close to the city shops,cafes,bars,restaurants and cathedral.
Nice to find a hotel with a large car park and central for all amenities.
My wife and myself did find the beds and pillows harder than we normally like but otherwise we would recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avebury27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Avebury27,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us, however disappointed to see that you found the pillows uncomfortable, you will however be pleased to hear, we are expecting delivery of new pillows across the hotel in the coming weeks.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2013

During a university field trip to Nortfolk area we had a afternoon there. Something went wrong with the reservation and they did not know we're coming. But there was no stress about it, we were seated (17 people). Everything was fast and efficient. Scones were beautiful. As well, as we're students studying tourism and hospitality, we were shown around the hotel by manager. He as very helpful and polite. The room we seen were in excellent shape and had a nice vibe about them. Would definitely stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dajana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Dajana T,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us, although disappointed to see their was a mix up with your booking but we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisbech cambs england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

A lovely old hotel with plenty of character. We had a double room and was really pleased with the size, decoration and character of the room, the bathroom was big and modern but the shape of it and the old celing beams in this room and the bedroom reminded you of what an old building we were in. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. We really enjoyed staying here but it would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems because corridors were narrow and the were stairs but for us this all added to the character of the place. The hotel is situated near the Cathedral but also near to a lot of history and shopping a very central position. Free parking one site was also a bonus. We will deffernately stay here again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevjan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear TrevJan_8,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Following a Golden Wedding Anniversary celebration the day before, we were looking for a venue in Norwich to entertain family members to breakfast. We were not staying in the hotel, but The Maids Head could not have been more helpful, in particular Ariel and his assistant. We were given a beautiful private room with a huge oval table for 14 people and a private cooked buffet. Wonderful service. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Robert L,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. I will pass on your comments to Ariel and the team as I am sure they will be delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is probably the best hotel to use if one is planning a visit to Norwich. It is well placed in a pleasant, convenient part of the town, unlike the Premiers and Travel Inns etc, which all seem to be either too far out or in rather insalubrious surroundings.

The hotel itself is comfortingly traditional and has a cosy atmosphere in the lounges, which are delightful areas in which to sit for afternoon tea. We did not eat at the hotel, as we prefer to get out and about, but the menus looked very tempting. Breakfast a bit expensive when compared to a little café we found across the street, but that’s pretty much par for the course.

Our first room had an unfortunate problem with noise from what I assumed were air conditioning units attached to a nearby wall. The noise in the bathroom was so loud that it almost sounded like road works going on outside. Concerned that this could be a serious problem at night, I went down to reception to query the matter. I was reliably informed that the units were switched off at night and I was happy with that, as we planned to be out most of the day. Sure enough, when we went to bed the room was quiet. However, at seven o’clock the next morning, the units were switched back on and woke me and that was it as far as a quiet lie-in went that morning.

I had a word with reception and their reaction made it obvious that they were aware of the situation. But they were happy to move us and the next room we had was on the other side of the building and not affected by the noise. The next night’s sleep was blissfully peaceful. However, I think it’s a bit stiff that a four-star hotel expect guests to put up with such a racket and, since it seemed they knew about it (I see another guest has complained of it here) I feel they should be making plans to rectify the problem post haste.

The rooms are pleasant and comfortable with a decent sized bath for a soak after a day’s wandering. The beds are excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel, but just make sure you get a room on the quiet side of the building!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room unaffected by air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diximix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Diximix,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us yet very disappointed to read that you encountered problems with noise from extraction units. We are looking in to the noise issue currently and hope to have things rectified within the next couple of weeks.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing