We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maids Head Norwich”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Maids Head Norwich”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Lovely old hotel, centrally located near cathedral with plenty of other interesting places to visit with many within walking distance. Breakfast was in the super Winepress restaurant, which unfortunately was so busy we had to wait for a table.
Overall though, friendly helpful staff and great central location. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Heather O,

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us but I must apologise that you had to wait for a table in the winepress for breakfast. On check in we do advise guests at weekends of busy periods within the restaurant to help them avoid any long waits to ensure an enjoyable breakfast experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    347
    119
    40
    11
See reviews for
142
536
36
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I booked a night at the Maids Hotel in Norwich, on line at a very reasonable rate . I wanted to stay another night, but the hotel couldn't match my previous bargain rate, I needed to book again on line., I stayed any way. I know this seems to be the way of things at the moment but it truly is frustrating, when you are standing in front of the receptionist and they advise you should ‘log on’ and re-book. I have made a note to always carry an Ipad, when I travel. The Hotel is historic and has old world charm , the staff were excellent, the bar is well worth a visit and the restaurant was truly a very good experience. I will stay again, but intend to sort the booking out first

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GladysHilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear GladysHilda,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was great to see you had a lovely time with us but I must apologise for the confusion with your room rate and being advised to add further days online. We much prefer dealing with bookings direct in the hotel and we are always happy to match internet rates, I will investigate this matter further and ensure that it does not happen again.

Hopefully this did not spoil your time with us too much and we hope to see you back soon. (Contact the hotel direct for the best rates)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remich, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We booked this Hotel on spec, as we were attending a Meeting in town, but we found that the Hotel is a rare gem, not only is this Hotel excellently centrally located, it is the Country style Hotel we all wish to stay in. The Location is right next to the Cathedral in Norwich, and a short walk down to the Shopping centre, there is ample to do for all, from Shopping to historical visits, the building is period, but has been added to bit by bit, so to some extent the floors are on differing Levels, this we found quaint. for the upper floors there is a vebose lift, telling you exactly what it's next function is to be.... The staff were exceedingly helpful, always asking if there was anything else we needed, very good indeed. The room we had was an executive room, clean, airy and spacious. Parking was right next to the Hotel - parking was behind the Hotel.
To sum up, We would return without question, and we would advocate this Hotel to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusMis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Marcusmis,

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk , Uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel as we were atteding a wedding reception in the city. The hotel is really old and is full of charm. We stayed in the old part of the hotel and the room we stayed in was nicley laid out with all the things you would need if you were staying longer i.e ironing board and the like.
As the room was in the old part the floor does rise and fall in places but it adds to the cosy feel to the place.
We didn't have breakfast but when checking in were given the option of adding it along with dinner.
The only thing I would say regarding the hotel is that as the old part of the hotel doesn't have air conditioning and even with the radiators turned off the room remained quite warm so if you struggle to sleep in a really warm room a call to reception would have sorted that issue out but apart from that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you know when you want to stay use booking.com as managed to get the room at really good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spooky25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Spooky25,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. You will be glad to hear that we are currently working on our refurbishment plan and hope to have dual temperature controlled units within all of our bedrooms in the near future.

Once again thanks for your review and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Ideally located for Norwich Cathedral & Elm Hill. We received a very warm welcome and found staff friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious and very quiet. The restaurant menu was varied and imaginative. We were delighted we chose to eat there as the food was delicious- in fact one of the best meals we've had in a long time. Can't wait to return ! We'd highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 109 is located at the back of the hotel and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Gill C,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and very proud to see how much you enjoyed your meal with us.

Once again thanks for your review and we hope to see you back soon, why not try our 5 course taster menu next time, an absolute treat not to be missed out on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is a review only of the restaurant as I have not stayed here. The restaurant, however, is everything you would expect - a wonderful environment in which to eat, top quality food with excellent presentation and service.

As you can also imagine it isn't cheap but neither is it overly expensive - about £35 per head for three courses, both of us having wine and I happened to choose the most expensive main meal on the menu. Speaking of the menu, it is not particularly extensive but does change slightly each week. There were only about 10 main meals to choose from, two were vegetarian and each of the rest was quite different (beef, pork, lamb, chicken, duck).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Simon P,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal with us.

Once again thanks for your review and we hope to see you back soon, why not try our 5 course taster menu next time, an absolute treat not to be missed out on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stokke
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Nice hotel with walking distance to The Cathedral, parks and good Pub's. The rooms are clean and of ok size. Very good English Breakfast and good service from staff! Exellent resturant in the hotel and If you want a cheaper choise, try next door and neigbour cafe.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Reisetor,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

Once again thanks for your review and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,104 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing