We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is a historic building with lots of character in a great location to explore Norwich. We booked a historic package deal which included 2 nights in a feature room, bed, breakfast and evening meal, 2 tickets to the Norwich castle, bottle of prosecco and box of chocolates. We had a fabulous time and felt the staff did everything they could to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. The room was quite large and had two comfortable chairs to sit in (in addition to the dressing table chair). The windows were quite large and let in a lot of light which I particularly liked. The bed was a bit on the firm side for my liking but not too bad. The best thing about this hotel was the lovely food and fantastic service we received. Checking in was easy and the person on the desk was very friendly and helpful. The service on both evenings in the restaurant was exceptional as was the service at breakfast time. I would have liked to mention one gentleman waiter in particular who went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed but we never caught his name on his badge. He was so busy attending to everyone (in a good way) that we didn't want to stop him! The food was delicious and there was a good choice on the menu. The breakfast was great and hot, which is something important to me. I would definately recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzar1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Cazzar 1961,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and it was great to see you enjoyed your meals and the service inparticular. We will pass your comments on to the team as I am sure they will be pleased to hear their hard work was appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    333
    114
    40
    11
See reviews for
135
516
34
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Took my husband for a night in Norwich for birthday. We were so very impressed with the city. Location of the hotel was excellent. Cleanliness of the room you couldn't fault. The staff were very polite and helpful. Lovely city, much prefer it to Canterbury. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandmike53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Janandmike52,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your husband's birthday with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future, maybe treat yourself for your next birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very clean, spacious room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic location with free parking. Plus it's a really interesting hotel with a tremendous history. It was just so easy to walk to and from the various places in the city itself and if you like a drop of vino they've 40 different ones for you to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbatps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Mbatps,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Comfortable environment, friendly staff, not to mansion its perfect location. Couldn’t recommend maids head hotel highly enough.The historic charecter of the building is typical Norwich. Will be heading back in the summer !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Adam V,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Comfortable room, although several stairs to carry luggage up, prompt service to fix toilet, helpful staff, on-site parking, fast wifi, great location. We stayed two nights in April 2013, and walked to the Cathedral, the market, the castle, Elm Hill, and along the river. It is close to several eating places.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltrav876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Globaltrav876,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

The Hotel location is perfect for shopping or a night out in Norwich. A lovely room very clean and comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly. The Hotel has a lovely restaurant & great bar. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Kim L,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Improved since I last stayed a couple of years back, but still some way to go. Excellent staff and the charecter of the building more than made up for the shortfall. Great location being next to the cathedral and an easy walk to the football ground. I'll stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Ray P,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us considerably more than your previous stay with us. We are now under new ownership and have worked very hard to improve service standards and are working our way through an extensive refurbishment plan.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing