We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding17th May 2013”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Just wanted to thank your entire team for helping to make my daughter Mel's wedding day so perfect. From the meal for six the night before, to the wedding itself to breakfast the morning after (yes, we were the ones wearing fascinators for breakfast!) we couldn't fault the service and support we received. The food was superb and served promptly. Nothing was too much trouble and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend you. The only downside was the lack of draught beers that particular day due to a problem.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceburgh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Iceburgh9,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your daughter's recent wedding with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we made the day extra special.

Apologies however, on a couple of our ales not being available on the day, this was a technical issue which was unfortunately rectified later on in the evening.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,129 - 1,135 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

Parking was difficult wine and chocolates order on arrival were not in room and had to have them sent up which spolit the suprise element. No bottled water in room (£4.50 from bar ) cold water tap in bath was broken. room view was of a pigeon stained chimmy breast, food was OK but not worth an AA rosette, ordered morning paper did not arrive. room on the small side. Worst of all a noise from the kitchens below ( think it was an extractor ) ran all day and night (£180 pounds I won't be spending again)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Allanc,

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us.

I must apologise profusely but the title of your review is definitely correct. We have let you down on this occasion. The problems that you encountered are not typical of what we offer our guests at the hotel and we would like to turn your opinion of us around.

Hopefully you will decide to give us another chance. (If visiting the area again, please contact myself directly as I would like to arrange the booking for you and meet you on your next visit)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Cannot fault the service here. Have stayed twice now on business- 2 completely different rooms: one up back stairs and very tiny but very functional and then last week fabulous room overlooking the cathedral. Company books so I get what they order!! Had one evening meal in the bar-service amazing, and so impressed with breakfast. Parking is a real bonus and as my office just down the road the staff are more than happy for me to park on day on arrival and all day on departure. Cannot fault them. Back next week!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Laura C,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We booked this hotel because we wanted to treat ourselves to a night away and the reviews were so good but unforturnately we were very disappointed. The parking was ok and we managed to find the last place luckily. The location was also very good and very central.
We checked in and were allocated a room in the new block, the room was absolutely tiny with an awful view and the quilt on the bed was visiably full of large lumps and empty areas where the stuffing had clumped together and would not shake out. This was not the sort of luxury we were hoping for.
We went to reception and explained and they were very helpful and said they were full but could swap our room with somebody else, we had to look at five rooms before we found one we found acceptable and I still wouldnt describe it as wonderful. The decorations were tired and in places dirty, there was a large damp patch on the wall and the bedside cabinet drawer would not stay closed so I had to turn it round. The room however was quite large and we were not asked to pay the extra charge of £10 for an executive room.
We had a good nights sleep and declined the offer of breakfast in the room so went to the restaurant for breakfast.
We were met at the door to be shown by a table, the member of staff seemed extremely stressed and actually answered the phone while showing us to our table then we had to wait while he finished the call. He offered tea or coffee but didnt bring the requested tea and we had to ask somebody else. The breakfast was buffet style and was very nice. This could be a really nice hotel with some attention to detail but unfortunately we wouldnt want to return and are very surprised by the excellent reviews.

Room Tip: It sounds like one of the feature rooms would be better, these are the once onthe website I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topkat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear topkat68,

Thank you for your review in relation to your stay with us.

I must apologise that you found your stay with us unsatisfactory. We are currently working our way through an extensive refurbishment plan across the building which will hopefully improve aspects of the tired looking building. This is an 11th century building and the oldest hotel in the UK so unfortunately we have to take our time in ensuring these changes are not too dramatic and in keeping with the nature of the building. We do not want to lose it's unique and amazing character.

Hopefully you will return in the near future and experience a more enjoyable time like the vast majority of all of our other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

To celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary, we stayed at the Maids Head for 3 nights. The staff on arrival were very efficient and friendly. On booking we had requested one of the beamed Executive rooms, we were not disappointed, the room was lovely and very spacious. The breakfast menu was extensive, from cereals, fresh fruit, full English; served as a buffet, with smoked haddock, kippers and salmon to order. The staff again were very professional, efficient and friendly. Dinner in the Wine Press was delicious and again the restaurant staff were great. If there was just one little problem and this really isn't the hotels fault at all, the room we were in faced the road so was quite noisy at night. It wouldn't put us off staying here again though.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Linda H,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a truly lovely hotel with lots of period features and character. We booked one of their packages which included a 'feature room', dinner bed and breakfast, wine and chocolates in the room and two tickets to Norwich Castle. The price was amazingly reasonable given the quality of the hotel, restaurant and room!

The room we were given was in the eaves of the hotel - it was huge with exposed beams and a traditional feel. The dinner in the restaurant was spot on; great food and service. Parking is included which is very convenient for the central location close to the Cathedral.

I can't fault it - definately one of the nicest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

Room Tip: The 'feature rooms' are slightly more expensive but worth it for the gorgeous period feature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nablies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Nablies,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have just got home from the wedding of my son/daughter in law , held at The Maid`s Head and I have to say it was a fantastic day from start to finish. The Hotel made everybody welcome and the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff certainly contributed to the happy feel of the wedding. The food, both for the sit down wedding breakfast and for the evening buffet was excellent and commented upon by the guests. The day was very well organised with nothing too much trouble for the staff. I will mention Dan at the hotel who co-ordinated the day brilliantly but in truth I could mention all staff in turn who really helped to make this a day to remember for the bride and groom and all the guests. so, if you are looking for a venue for your wedding, do consider the Maid`s Head, cos it was brilliant for us!

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite at the front of the hotel. The room was lovely, but being in the old part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Mark e,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your son and daughter in law's wedding with us and will pass your comments on to the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
693 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#12 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £92 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing