We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel at the end of September and it is unbelievably dated.

I was ignored by almost all staff I encountered both at reception and in the lounge area.

Customer service doesn't seem a strong point here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank TheStevieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2016
Dear TheStevieGee,
I am sorry you had a bad experience. I can assure you the hotel has changed under new ownership and we hope you would consider returning.
Kind regards
Maids Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    355
    119
    40
    11
See reviews for
142
546
37
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights - a very good stay. I have read the previous review and I can only think this chap must have been in a bad mood, as the service etc I received was far superior to what he describes. I found the back car park door easily and, to me it was extremely obvious that the restaurant was part of the hotel. I struggle to see the problem here. I found all the staff very helpful, and the breakfast excellent, as was the service. The small snug bar was good and sold reasonably priced bar meals. The bedroom was good, bathroom also. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Try rooms away from the side street as it was quite noisy, and some rooms are next to a pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear FairGB ,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

In early September we spent 5 nights in the Maids Hotel and were very happy with our experience. Yes - the floors are wonky and the many stairs are awkward (I often need to walk with a stick) but then our Tasmanian house has 5 flights of steps and I live with that. Our room #200 was a bit far from the transmitter for good reception from the free WiFi but there are several small lounge areas where one can comfortably sit to enjoy a drink and some quiet conversation while accessing the WiFi. The bathroom was small and the typical English hotel shower over a high bathtub is difficult for people like me to access but we loved the plentiful hot water and lots of lovely fresh soft towels each day. Beds were comfortable and the room overlooked the corner of Elm Hill and Wensum Street - we only had one evening disturbed by a noisy crowd on the street, and not for long. There was scaffolding covering the facade of the old building but it didn't bother us. We know from experience that constant maintenance is a fact of life for these old buildings and modernisation is a huge challenge. But we appreciated that this is a VERY old and historic building and its quirks are part of the historical charm. It's not slick and modern, with easy access for everyone and devoid of character, but it is warm and friendly and utterly delightful. We will certainly stay here again if we get the chance to return to Norwich.

Room Tip: Check stairs if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear TheWegs,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coarsegold, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We came here from London and were very pleased with our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we had never been here before. The Restaurant was excellent and the service was great. The bar, waitress, and reception staff went above and beyond and it was greatly appreciated by these two weary travelers. It was conveniently located to everything so that we were able to walk to all the sights....it was wonderful. We would highly recommend it to anyone and would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear RobertaT,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This review may be biased as I was visiting on a chilly day and already had the start of a cold and visiting a relation who was very ill. I had booked a double about 4 days before and paid £192 including breakfast for two. This is more than I pay for a hotel normally but figured that being in the city centre and with free parking it would be ideal for an overnight stay for first taste of Norwich. Our first impression was not good arriving from the car park side we could not see where the entrance door was and finished up by walking through the dining room door which was open. On leaving the hotel I did find the Car Park door and observed the notice but it is not strategically placed for first time visitors. I should have said that the actual first impression was that the front of the hotel is covered with scaffolding. Reception was fine and obtained the room key 106 quickly and were asked if we wanted to reserve a table for dinner but declined as wanted to have a look round before deciding.
The room was on first floor in the modern block with view of air ventilator extractors and pigeon excrement. This may not have been so bad if a net curtain was shielding the view but we had plain glass. The bathroom was small and I mean small, height low and not what we had expected. Maybe if this was a single room then fine. And in this respect the bed was a standard double with lights on both sides but only one side had a table. The view from the bed was dreary with a TV and blank wall in mushroom. This modern block is not shown on photographs of the hotel. I would add that getting to and from the room meant several different flights of stairs but this tends to be what old hotels are like especially when enlarged with a new block.

So as first timers we had a short walk outside to see the beautiful cathedral and surroundings then later discovered by chance when looking for a place to eat the Winepress @ wensum. Of course as we would discover it was linked to the hotel but had not fully realised when entering off the street. Decided to give the restaurant a try and asked for a table. The room or should I say large courtyard like space with glass above and tiles on the floor which would have been nice as an open air courtyard, had a large stone font in the centre with a few champagne bottles placed inside. Maybe we were going to be blessed with the fizzy juice? But sadly we would not be allowed to dine until 8.15 despite the place looking not busy at all soon after 7pm on a Saturday night. I was later to learn that this was because the hotel prides itself in giving a delicious meal to guests and do not want to be under any pressures so stagger the seating and presumably keep certain tables empty. The hotel does have a cosy small bar but this was hidden away through this dining area off the courtyard and may be well known to locals but not to hotel guests.

We left as soon as we could in the morning after our breakfast served in that courtyard area and sat under a man trap presumably placed to ward off any diners who behaved badly and heard the flow of waste water down a large diameter plastic pipe that skirted the room clearly indicating that it was indeed an open air space once.
A final disappointment came when in our hurry to leave a toiletry bag was left behind and on phoning later that day (Sunday) and leaving our address and asking for it to be posted it was not until the hotel was reminded on Wednesday about the matter that arrangements were made to send it for a cost of £5.50 debited to my card. A small thing but in a hotel which wanted to provide some extra service to their guests to differentiate with the Premier Inn or Holiday Inn type deal it would have been great for them to have taken action promptly and ensured the bag was sent off earlier.
The Maids Head sells itself on its location and history I guess. But on reading the leaflet in the room I still do not understand this :
“The Jacobean oak panelled Maids Head bar surveilled by Norfolk's famous sons and daughters including Horatio Nelson and Edith Cavell ...”
Is surveilled a Norfolk expression ?

Room Tip: avoid the new wing lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear cadiz_lover,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are obviously very disappointed to read your feedback in relation to your recent stay and apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this ocassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights in August. Buffet breakfast service terrible. Day one fresh orange empty. Bacon tray empty. Day 2 asked for scrambled eggs that have to be ordered separately. Scrambled eggs never arrived. Day 4 buffet breakfast suddenly removed and advised breakfast would be individually served. While advising waitress what I wanted she announced "Full English breakfast" and disappeared before I could comment. Received scrambled eggs dumped on top of beans which I did not ask for and do not like. Breakfast ruined.
Did not eat in restaurant because of poor service at breakfast and did not appear to represent good value for price.
Complained to Maids Head when booking out to no avail.
Stayed 2 nights at Premier Inn in Kings Lynn breakfast perfect.
Maids Head could learrn a lot from Premier Inns.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Ian P,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to see that your experience was tarnished by poor breakfast. We have had numerous rave reviews about our breakfast recently and we apologise that we did not meet our own expectations or your own through your stay with us.

We hope you give us the opportunity to show you how we usually operate and come back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Dropped in one Sunday lunchtime with my elderly mother in a wheelchair and we were treated with courtesy and respect and given a first class meal. Decent selection at the carvery and well cooked. Good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nousmangons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Nousmangons,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback in relation to your recent experience with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,600 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing