We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Party!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Great Party!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We held a dinner dance for 60 work colleagues, some of whom were leaving the company. The support of the Hotel team throughout the preparation and on the evening itself was first class. In particular I would mention Dan the Head of Operations who organised the team brilliantly and nothing was too much trouble.

Overall the meal and service were great and it made for a really memorable evening. I would most certainly recommend to anyone thinking of booking a wedding, party of similar function.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass your comments on to the team, especially Dan whom I am sure will be delighted to read your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    332
    114
    39
    11
See reviews for
135
514
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I came to this hotel with a group of friends for a school reunion. We had a sit down meal together and then spent the evening in the bar and surrounding lounge areas. The service was excellent! Very helpful staff and delicious food. The rooms were comfortable and clean. It was a little on the pricey side but if you were to split the cost with someone it would be OK.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Julie S,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed in Norwich for a few nights. The price was a little more than we wanted to pay, however, we were glad we made the choice. Stayed in the Queen Elizabeth room, really is worth the money. The hotel is old and has its own character, far better than the big chains. The restaurant was very good. Food and service was excellent. The local wine is worth a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrL-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear fine-dining1957,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel at the end of September and it is unbelievably dated.

I was ignored by almost all staff I encountered both at reception and in the lounge area.

Customer service doesn't seem a strong point here.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank TheStevieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2016
Dear TheStevieGee,
I am sorry you had a bad experience. I can assure you the hotel has changed under new ownership and we hope you would consider returning.
Kind regards
Maids Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights - a very good stay. I have read the previous review and I can only think this chap must have been in a bad mood, as the service etc I received was far superior to what he describes. I found the back car park door easily and, to me it was extremely obvious that the restaurant was part of the hotel. I struggle to see the problem here. I found all the staff very helpful, and the breakfast excellent, as was the service. The small snug bar was good and sold reasonably priced bar meals. The bedroom was good, bathroom also. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Try rooms away from the side street as it was quite noisy, and some rooms are next to a pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear FairGB ,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

In early September we spent 5 nights in the Maids Hotel and were very happy with our experience. Yes - the floors are wonky and the many stairs are awkward (I often need to walk with a stick) but then our Tasmanian house has 5 flights of steps and I live with that. Our room #200 was a bit far from the transmitter for good reception from the free WiFi but there are several small lounge areas where one can comfortably sit to enjoy a drink and some quiet conversation while accessing the WiFi. The bathroom was small and the typical English hotel shower over a high bathtub is difficult for people like me to access but we loved the plentiful hot water and lots of lovely fresh soft towels each day. Beds were comfortable and the room overlooked the corner of Elm Hill and Wensum Street - we only had one evening disturbed by a noisy crowd on the street, and not for long. There was scaffolding covering the facade of the old building but it didn't bother us. We know from experience that constant maintenance is a fact of life for these old buildings and modernisation is a huge challenge. But we appreciated that this is a VERY old and historic building and its quirks are part of the historical charm. It's not slick and modern, with easy access for everyone and devoid of character, but it is warm and friendly and utterly delightful. We will certainly stay here again if we get the chance to return to Norwich.

Room Tip: Check stairs if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear TheWegs,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We came here from London and were very pleased with our stay. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we had never been here before. The Restaurant was excellent and the service was great. The bar, waitress, and reception staff went above and beyond and it was greatly appreciated by these two weary travelers. It was conveniently located to everything so that we were able to walk to all the sights....it was wonderful. We would highly recommend it to anyone and would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear RobertaT,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing