We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Dinner Dance”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Had a great evening at a dinner dance with a group of friends. The food was delicious and the staff were great which made the evening so much better!! Dan was the manager in our area and Bruno was our waiter....... he was fantastic at looking after us throughout the evening and has such a fun and friendly nature and is a great dancer!!haha
Thanks to all the friendly staff for a good night!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Claire P,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to the recent christmas party you attended at the hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass your comments on to the team, especially Bruno and Dan whom I am sure will be pleased to see their hard work was appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
There are newer reviews for Maids Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

We returned to the maids head hotel to do our Christmas shopping, we had stayed there many times before at different times of the year. Norwich is a fine city and the hotel is central so you can explore without walking miles or catching buses or driving. The hotel remains fine although a drop of paint here and there would not go amiss. The staff are more than helpful, polite and engaging. We paid for an upgraded room but did not really notice the difference. The Friday night experience is very good value for money although they have now stopped the pre dinner drink being included in the price, which is a shame as it added to the evening and I am sure does not save that much money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Teresa D,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We have recently employed a new full time painter and decorator to join our strong maintenance team, as part of our ongoing project to keep the hotel looking in great shape so hopefully you will see a difference on your next visit.

Once again, thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

On 30th November our group of 6 friends attended a party night dinner & disco. We have been to a number of venues around Norwich in the past and found this to be the poorest by far. The venue was cold, draughty (in an old conservatory, stone floors etc ) and not at all suitable for this type of event. The food was of a poor quality, burnt and overcooked. The disco was 3rd rate with no up to date music, and the drinks at the bar were exorbitantly priced. When we complained, the reply was very unsympathetic and offered us 25% off our next visit. Needless to say, we would not recommend this hotel for any event and will not be going there again. David H & friends

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear David H,

Thank you for your comments. We are extremely disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We have had extremely positive feedback from our christmas parties to date so we are very disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations.

Most surprising to us was the comments about the restaurant itself and the food, as this is an area we have received lots of compliments about recently and recently won the "Best food and drink tourism attraction in Norfolk" at the Norfolk tourism awards.

Once again we apologise that you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, where we can hopefully win you over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a fantastic weekend break to do Christmas Shopping. Hotel was very nice, tastefully decorated for Christmas. Staff welcoming and friendly. Our room (a twin) was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom decor was a little tiired, but extremely clean. We visited the Beauty Room for treatments after a hard days' shopping, and it was realy wonderful, relaxing, excellent treatments and lovely staff. Definately coming again!

Room Tip: We were directly over the function room, which had a wedding going on and the disco was a little noi...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneZoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear JaneZoe2013,

Thank you for your lovely feedback in relation to your recent experience with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Maidshead held an event for us on Saturday night. Their staff were extremely polite and helpful. They were always eager to please and make sure that we had a good time. Food was delicious and to a high standard. I found the management always willing to help and asking for feedback. Great venue for an occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Lydia W,

Thank you for your lovely feedback in relation to your recent experience with us. We are delighted to see that you loved the venue, the food and that we looked after you well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Positives first:
The staff at this hotel is excellent; they are tentative, polite and have a very good understanding of customer care. In particular Krystyna far outshone the hotel. In addition, Rahul was also very good.
The meals & breakfast was very good.
Rooms are generally ok, clean and spacious enough for a weekend break.
Negatives:
Where is it best to start? This was weekend break for a first time visit to Norwich with some Christmas shopping. The first impressions were good however, when we placed the booking there was no warning about the parties they were holding that weekend. The first night I had to go to reception to report the noise from the disco, it was so loud you could not listen to the TV and defiantly could not concentrate on reading. Ok, they shut it down at midnight but then we had the screaming and shouting as people left. I reported this to reception at 23:20. The assistant manager tried to find another room but had no success with a promise of changing rooms on the Saturday, so we had to tolerate the noise for the remainder of the night/early hours of the morning. The second night we had to move restaurants as the hotel had put on 4 parties that night. That was not an issue although having the same menu as the previous night with limited choice was disappointing, we were then told we could not go in the bar for a drink after as this was closed for one of the private parties, so as a guest at the hotel had to go out and find a different venue!! On our return which we were now in room 321 was free from the noise of the disco but we were then subjected to listening to the shouting and swearing from the hotel rear entrance.
On the Saturday morning there was vomit at the front of the hotel and then on the Sunday near the temporary toilets in the car park there were piles of vomit, you could expect this outside a night club but a hotel?
Final comment, would I stop here again or recommend this hotel, I am not sure, this was not a cheap weekend stay but we felt that the management really did not want or care about hotel guests as there only interest was profiting on having the Christmas & wedding parties. Whether this hotel would be different any other time in the year I am not as sure as I think the management would still prioritize any parties bookings they have.
So I can say we came away feeling disappointed as previous reviews were saying how nice this hotel is!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for rooms away from the front of the hotel, near the party room and any rooms at t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear RihardG,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We must apologise that we did not meet your expectations during your time here and we were very disappointed to see this.

We would appreciate it if you could contact our operations manager Dan Hawkie on operations@maidsheadhotel.co.uk so that we can find out more details in relation to your stay and investigate the points raised fully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have just spent 2 night at the Maids Head Hotel and had a really lovely stay, the rooms are excellent if a little warm, the beds comfortable and the water hot with nice fluffy towels in the bathroom. I travelled with Moxon's a coach company from just outside Worksop to visit the Thursford Spectacular. The whole trip was lovely and the stay at the hotel very nice. On the down side on our last morning there seemed to be an more people than the hotel could cope with at breakfast which resulted in tables not being cleared. I felt that we could have been given a choice of scrambled egg instead of just fried. On the plus side as a coach party we had different meals from the usual guests but on the Monday night the chef served the most gorgeous lamp hotpot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanCaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear SusanCaryl,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time here.

We are however diappointed to see that you found tables not being cleared efficiently enough on your last morning with us and we will conduct an investigation in to this. In relation to the eggs situation, we supply menus on all tables which explain that although fried eggs are served from the buffet, you can indeed order eggs to be delivered to your table. We are currently reviewing this system and hopefully on your next visit you will see a marked improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £90 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing