We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maids Head Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Central Hotel(Norwich)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Stracey Hotel(Norwich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (1,284)
Filter reviews
1,284 results
Traveller rating
698
401
128
45
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
401
128
45
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine pressoldest hotelcathedral suitenorwich cathedrallovely old hotelcar parkafternoon teacentral locationexecutive roomfree parkingsconesbuffet stylesingle roomvisiting norwichrestaurant staffweekend breakstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,001 - 1,006 of 1,284 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Had a great evening at a dinner dance with a group of friends. The food was delicious and the staff were great which made the evening so much better!! Dan was the manager in our area and Bruno was our waiter....... he was fantastic at looking after us throughout the evening and has such a fun and friendly nature and is a great dancer!!haha
Thanks to all the friendly staff for a good night!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Claire P,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to the recent christmas party you attended at the hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass your comments on to the team, especially Bruno and Dan whom I am sure will be pleased to see their hard work was appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We returned to the maids head hotel to do our Christmas shopping, we had stayed there many times before at different times of the year. Norwich is a fine city and the hotel is central so you can explore without walking miles or catching buses or driving. The hotel remains fine although a drop of paint here and there would not go amiss. The staff are more than helpful, polite and engaging. We paid for an upgraded room but did not really notice the difference. The Friday night experience is very good value for money although they have now stopped the pre dinner drink being included in the price, which is a shame as it added to the evening and I am sure does not save that much money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Teresa D,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We have recently employed a new full time painter and decorator to join our strong maintenance team, as part of our ongoing project to keep the hotel looking in great shape so hopefully you will see a difference on your next visit.

Once again, thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

On 30th November our group of 6 friends attended a party night dinner & disco. We have been to a number of venues around Norwich in the past and found this to be the poorest by far. The venue was cold, draughty (in an old conservatory, stone floors etc ) and not at all suitable for this type of event. The food was of a poor quality, burnt and overcooked. The disco was 3rd rate with no up to date music, and the drinks at the bar were exorbitantly priced. When we complained, the reply was very unsympathetic and offered us 25% off our next visit. Needless to say, we would not recommend this hotel for any event and will not be going there again. David H & friends

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear David H,

Thank you for your comments. We are extremely disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We have had extremely positive feedback from our christmas parties to date so we are very disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations.

Most surprising to us was the comments about the restaurant itself and the food, as this is an area we have received lots of compliments about recently and recently won the "Best food and drink tourism attraction in Norfolk" at the Norfolk tourism awards.

Once again we apologise that you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, where we can hopefully win you over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a fantastic weekend break to do Christmas Shopping. Hotel was very nice, tastefully decorated for Christmas. Staff welcoming and friendly. Our room (a twin) was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom decor was a little tiired, but extremely clean. We visited the Beauty Room for treatments after a hard days' shopping, and it was realy wonderful, relaxing, excellent treatments and lovely staff. Definately coming again!

Room Tip: We were directly over the function room, which had a wedding going on and the disco was a little noisy in the evening, so if you want total peace that's worth checking (didn't really bother us).
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneZoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear JaneZoe2013,

Thank you for your lovely feedback in relation to your recent experience with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The Maidshead held an event for us on Saturday night. Their staff were extremely polite and helpful. They were always eager to please and make sure that we had a good time. Food was delicious and to a high standard. I found the management always willing to help and asking for feedback. Great venue for an occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Lydia W,

Thank you for your lovely feedback in relation to your recent experience with us. We are delighted to see that you loved the venue, the food and that we looked after you well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews