We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding!”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had our wedding here in December and everything was perfect from start to finish. Amazing food and drink, service was first class and we will definitely be returning here for our first anniversary! Amy and Dan were both fantastic and made sure our day was perfect, thanks guys!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizzybabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Gizzybabs,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent wedding with us.

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass your lovely comments on to the team, especially Dan & Amy whom I am sure will be thrilled to see that their had work was appreciated.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just returned from a New Year's Eve dinner and entertainment. From when we checked in, to when we checked out , the staff could not do enough for you, very pleasant and helpful. The six course meal was very good, a credit to the kitchen, as was the breakfast, although keeping some of the food hot, due to many people having a later breakfast than us,may be a bit of a problem. Rooms were very clean, and adequate, without being anything special , but without a doubt would make another visit.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Steve f,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, in relation to your recent experience with us.

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The wedding of our daughter on 30th November 2013 was carefully planned by Amy, with regular planning meetings, although these became a little repetitive.
The day ran smoothly and to plan - everyone was helpful and pleasant - especially Dan who acted as Master of Ceremonies. The food was excellent and it was nice to be able to offer our guests a menu choice.
Our only problem arose when a wedding guest injured themselves (through no fault of the hotel)and an over zealous bouncer employed for the night insisted he was a first aider but clearly didn't have a clue as he was looking throught a first aid book and refused assistance from guests with medical training. The situation was not life threatening so we were able to monitor the events from a distance. Luckily his advise was ignored and the injured party was taken to hospital where he had a small operation.
Overall we felt well looked after and had a marvellous day which will be fondly remembered.

Room Tip: rooms towards the back of the hotel may be quieter on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear CheriD,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your daughter's recent wedding with us.

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and we will pass your lovely comments on to the team, especially Dan & Amy whom I am sure will be thrilled to see that their had work was appreciated.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel three times before because we love the atmosphere and proximity to the shops. The hotel is lovely and clean and the food is good. The staff are welcoming. We had a small room in the new block, we have stayed in the older rooms which we prefer as they are larger.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntieshona13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Auntieshone13,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent experience with us.

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 days over twixmas. Hotel is well located, easy walking distance to good shopping centre and train station. The hotel has a car park which is a bonus for a city centre hotel. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Food and drink were great. Breakfast first class plus evening meal in bar or restaurant was excellent. The main plus point was the wine selection. 44 wines by the glass or bottle. The rooms were quirky but have been modernised in recent times. Would stay again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 1wattsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear 1Wattsie,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent experience with us.

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and in particular your experience within our winepress restaurant. We also have a tripadvisor page for the restaurant and would love for you to share your feedback on there as well if at all possible.

Thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We are staying in the maids head hotel in Norwich. Nice hotel, clean, in a very pleasant area. Not far from busy centre but far enough away not to hear any noise. Helpful staff. Getting onto Internet was strange but staff were helpful

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Linda817,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent experience with us.

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend stay in order to attend a carol service at the Cathedral. It is within walking distance of the station (about 10-15 minutes) but also has a car park at the rear. A very interesting building, developed over several centuries and built on the site of a monastery it lies within sight of the cathedral, and has been developed into a modern comfortable hotel. Our room was large and airy and overlooked the front of the building, so not the quietest location, but the room had a lovely old brick fireplace and several beams across the ceiling, giving little doubt as to its history, and a modern tiled bathroom with heated towel rail and bath/shower and toilet. Two radiators were provided in the room and there was a air conditioning unit too, so we were cosy. The very large (6') bed was very comfortable and there was ample hanging and drawer space for clothes.

We only used the restaurant for breakfast, (since there were party nights being held there in the evenings) which is one of several attractive public rooms available to guests on the ground floor. It appears to be a covered courtyard area but is quite large and the buffet breakfast was the usual croissant, bread, jam, yogurt and fruit, and a cooked option is available to order. We used room service for our evening meals, and there was everything from sandwiches to a full meal available. It would have been helpful to have had a wine list in the room, since they boasted a large and varied wine list, but we had to guess at what would be available.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful and we had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is within walking distance from all the main attractions in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear TravellerChrissy,

Thank you very much for your lovely review in relation to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,766 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
658 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £92 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing