We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame as brilliant location!”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Having lived in Norwich for several years on my return to watch the football with my wife I was looking forward to staying at this hotel as I had always thought it's position and look was great. When we checked in Liam was superb and very informative and all was looking good until we reached our room. We have stayed in hotels around the UK and indeed the world and for the price we were expecting a certain level of room. However, when we reached 226 we were certainly underwhelmed. It was small and had the feel of a room that you would expect at a conference centre. We dumped our cases and went out for the day and night and returned later on in the evening slightly inebriated (thank goodness). The bed was atrocious, very uncomfortable and the pillows were terrible. In the morning everything struck home, design wise everything seemed there but just not right i.e. dressing table but with mirror too high to sit and do your hair/make up. I am nearly 6 foot and the way it was set up meant I could barely see the top of my head, let alone my face, so goodness knows how my wife was meant to do her makeup. The whole room was small, cramped and a bit dingy. The view out of the room was of a pigeon infested hovel that was above the kitchens, hence the noise of the fans that kept us awake.
On checking out we voiced our concerns that the stay had been less than perfect and were persuaded to speak to the Duty Manager who might be able to 'do something for us'. Having had a conversation which eventually led to an apology she explained at length that due to a recent take over renovations were in the offing and that in the future things would be better. However, the damage was already done and by telling us that the next time we visited we might like to book into an executive suite for a better quality of room and bed (although these overlooked the car park and were also very noisy) we accepted a discount on the room and left. Best thing about the hotel??? The reception staff were really diligent and accommodating and the car park was free.
A real shame as the potential could be great, as much as we were told when we stayed again things would be better there is no chance I would risk it and would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: According to the Duty Manager all rooms are noisy so not a good endorsement!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugsyburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Bugsby Burton

I am sorry to read of your dissatisfaction, we are a city center hotel and therefore unfortunately do have rooms that overlook parts of the building, I that you were still disappointed when you left, my Duty Manager was under the impression that you were happy with the conclusion reached at the end of your discussion.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We visit Norwich every year for a family weekend but this was out first stay at the Maids Head and we were not disappointed. Perfect location, secure car parking and views of the cathedral from our bedrooms which were very spacious the hotel met all our requirements during our bed and breakfast stay.
I would not hesitate to recommend and we will definitely return on our next visit to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Clair D

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you found our parking secure and that you enjoyed the views of the Cathedral, we really are in a great location in Tombland. I hope that you will be back to stay with us.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel. Given it is a historic building this hotel does its best to keep decoration in keeping with its age and copes reasonably well with odd shaped rooms and wonky walls/floors.

Positives:
Warm and clean
Free wifi
Free parking
Its central location
Modern bathroom - with plenty of fast flowing hot water

Negatives:
Disliked that our double bed was against the wall and as a result there was no second bedside table
Room (310) was pretty small
Only one towel arrived on the second day

All in all a very nice stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Andrea D

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and I am pleased that you found many positives with your stay.

Unfortunately due to the age of the building some rooms are slightly small and odd shaped. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Regards

Christine Malcolm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was our second visit to the Maids head, we had room 414 which is a feature room, plenty of beams, eves, and nooks. roomy enough for a sofa, and table and chairs in addition to the usual room furniture. I can not fault the staff as nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate for one night in the wine press restaurant, and frankly wished we had chosen to eat there the second night as well. The food was superb well cooked with just a few "chefy" touches. Good wine list too.
I would heartedly recommend this hotel its location makes it perfect if you want to wander in Norwich, as it is so central.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexBluesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear EssexBluesman,

Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased that you could not fault my team and that you really enjoyed your experience in our WinePress restaurant, we are really proud of pour food and our Wine List which offers 40 different wines by the glass. we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is clearly an "old lady" and is showing signs of her age; windows have paint peeling and although there are signs of refurbishment there is still a long way to go. Having said that the place is warm and clean - and the staff helpful.
Only had breakfast there so can't commenton the restaurant meals - breakfast was fine with the usual offerings of cooked and continental.
Will stay again but feel that it could offer better deals on the rooms which have not been updated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Waller O

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and I am please that you enjoyed your stay. We have a rolling maintenance m at the hotel and last year redecorated in excess of 30 rooms and in 2014 plan to refurbish 40 bathrooms. I hope that you return shortly to stay with us.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Booked a weekend break to Norwich and glad I managed to get a seasonal offer, I wouldn't want to have paid the full price for this room. On arrival we were informed we had been "upgraded" to a feature room. There was a fire place but nothing special and the room was pretty bland and over looked other rooms opposite. The room was freezing as the radiators were not working correctly and we were given a convector heater to use for the weekend. The room had only been set up for one person, when the booking was clearly for two. There was a connecting door to the room next door and you could hear their voices etc through this. Now for breakfast, which was served buffet style and the so called hot food was in fact cold and inedible. To move your car from the car park, you had to get a ticket from reception which was valid for half an hour and if not used in this time you needed another one!! Felt like you had to ask permission for leave the building. The rating of two is for the staff who were very good and for how clean the room was. This is the third time we have stayed in so called AA 4 star rated hotels in Norwich and on all three visits have been disappointed. Certainly won't be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitbread61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Whitbread61

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor, I was sorry to read that you were disappointed in your room as it is normally a popular room located in the horseshoe courtyard area in one of the oldest parts of our historic building, We have reviewed our breakfast service and have received good feedback.

With regards to the car parking system the time allotted exit code is there for the security if our guests cards and we normally receive good feedback about this.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Maids Head Hotel is my favourite place to stay in Norwich. Great location next the Cathedral and in the heart of Tombland. The rooms are very comfortable with a choice of newer rooms or more traditional rooms in the older parts of the hotel. If you get a chance, go for one of the feature rooms which are all different ranging from four poster beds to large suites with a separate sitting room and bedroom. The bar and restaurant are very nice with good food and friendly staff. If you visit Norwich you cannot go wrong with the Maids Head.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Kevin M

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we can welcome you back shortly.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,724 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £93 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing