We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy night and slow dinner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noisy night and slow dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We've stayed with my partner in this hotel last year and chose it as per reviews. Room was nice, clean, staff very friendly. Unfortunately we've been allocated on the ground floor with probably group of young people who decided to come back around 2am and make such a huge noise in the corridor, that non of us could sleep any longer for that night.
On 25th of March my boyfriend took me here for my birthday meal. We sat down at 7:30pm, our main course arrived at 8:55pm. Both of us were tired, hungry and not happy with the slow service at all. I do work in the hotel and know it was not waiters fault, as the waitress was very nice and apologized, its just kitchen who couldn't handle all those orders at a time. Food was delicious, but as well just barely warm when it came to our table. Not sure if we'll go back there or recommend it to someone else. Maybe just different time of the day.

Room Tip: Not a ground floor, really noisy from outside as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Lucia P

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, I am sorry that the group of young guests made a noise on their return which woke you up when you stayed, I am also disappointed to read that you had a long wait in between courses during your dinner, we cook every thing fresh at the hotel and to order, in busy times there may be a delay, the kitchen team work very hard to ensure the wait time is kept to a minimum.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    324
    114
    39
    11
See reviews for
133
505
33
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beccles, Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hubby and I booked the wine & dine package for a Saturday night, and we chose the Tamworth Suite. We live half an hour from Norwich but had never been inside the Maids Head before. The reception staff were very friendly and we were impressed by our Suite. We had a drink in the bar, hubby ate a toasted sandwich and I had scones with cream & jam, very naughty but very delicious! The 5 course sampling menu was excellent as was the different wine for each course. All food & wine is locally sourced. The restaurant staff were all delightful. The restaurant was full and we were aware that some tables had to wait a while for food, but the staff were trying their best. We had no delay at all. Our room had a huge 4 poster bed which was very comfy so we had a good sleep. I must point out that the hotel is in the city centre near bars & restaurants, and on a Saturday night there were quite a few loud passers by and lots of traffic noise. But we knew that so it didn't bother us. The building is very old and creaks a lot and we heard every footstep from the room above but again this is to be accepted. The hotel interior is full of character and maintained very well. Breakfast was excellent. All in all the price was very good value for money, and we will definitely stay/eat there again.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking rear car park if you want to escape the road & reveller noise, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear NickyP1971

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am please that you enjoyed the Ranworth Suite and that the dinner and wines met your exceptions. The team work hard to achieve this.
We hope that you will return to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hotel is rambling, eccentric, and wonderful if you don't want the chain experience. I imagine its like staying at a great-aunt's rambling house (if I had such a family member!) The staff and service is really excellent. Quirky Maids Head pub inside worth a visit to try the local ale/s http://maidsheadhotel.co.uk/blog/?p=247 The restaurant has amazing food and the service was excellent. The only niggle was the bathroom could do with a bit of an update. We had the cheaper room, ok for family but not romantic - go for the themed / pricier rooms. Great location if you are driving and need to park your car in central Norwich, the hotel is easy walking to all of the main attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear TravelBuufy

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are very proud of the Maids Head Hotel, I am pleased that you liked the Maids Head Bar with it's named ale and that you found the service good.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Excellent weekend stay. Food was of a high standard, and every single member of staff was attentive, helpful and courteous - could not have asked for more. Would definitely go back again - a most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Baggies68,

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased to read that you had an excellent stay and found my team helpful and attentive,

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

room upgraded before we arrived which made the stay.,the location is just perfect for the centre,
this was our first visit to norwich so will revisit in the future,the staff where very attentive and full off useful information.
the local map was not perfect but with a little imagination you got used to the fact that the street name are not there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artphil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Artphil 2013

Thank you for your review, we are really pleased tjat you enjoyed your anniversary with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We celebrated a friends birthday in the Wine Press. We were seated in the "snug" so it felt like a private party. The staff were very attentive, professional and friendly.

Everyone except me had the carvery and said the meat was exceptional. I had the cod it was divine it just melted in the mouth. There was plenty of vegetables to choose from all nicely cooked and hot. Oh my plate was red hot!

The desserts were amazing the dark chocolate one is a dream.

The food was nicely presented and amazing. It certainly is good value for money.

We all said we go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Tina H

Thank you for your review of our Sunday Lunch. I am really glad that you enjoyed The Snug as it is one of the oldest rooms in the Hotel.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Having lived in Norwich for several years on my return to watch the football with my wife I was looking forward to staying at this hotel as I had always thought it's position and look was great. When we checked in Liam was superb and very informative and all was looking good until we reached our room. We have stayed in hotels around the UK and indeed the world and for the price we were expecting a certain level of room. However, when we reached 226 we were certainly underwhelmed. It was small and had the feel of a room that you would expect at a conference centre. We dumped our cases and went out for the day and night and returned later on in the evening slightly inebriated (thank goodness). The bed was atrocious, very uncomfortable and the pillows were terrible. In the morning everything struck home, design wise everything seemed there but just not right i.e. dressing table but with mirror too high to sit and do your hair/make up. I am nearly 6 foot and the way it was set up meant I could barely see the top of my head, let alone my face, so goodness knows how my wife was meant to do her makeup. The whole room was small, cramped and a bit dingy. The view out of the room was of a pigeon infested hovel that was above the kitchens, hence the noise of the fans that kept us awake.
On checking out we voiced our concerns that the stay had been less than perfect and were persuaded to speak to the Duty Manager who might be able to 'do something for us'. Having had a conversation which eventually led to an apology she explained at length that due to a recent take over renovations were in the offing and that in the future things would be better. However, the damage was already done and by telling us that the next time we visited we might like to book into an executive suite for a better quality of room and bed (although these overlooked the car park and were also very noisy) we accepted a discount on the room and left. Best thing about the hotel??? The reception staff were really diligent and accommodating and the car park was free.
A real shame as the potential could be great, as much as we were told when we stayed again things would be better there is no chance I would risk it and would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: According to the Duty Manager all rooms are noisy so not a good endorsement!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsyburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Bugsby Burton

I am sorry to read of your dissatisfaction, we are a city center hotel and therefore unfortunately do have rooms that overlook parts of the building, I that you were still disappointed when you left, my Duty Manager was under the impression that you were happy with the conclusion reached at the end of your discussion.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing