We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing weekend at this wonderful hotel celebrating our anniversary”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

.We were made to feel so welcome from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. nothing was too much trouble from the wonderful staff.
However we would like to mention the excellent team in the winepress they were superb,a special mention to Katherine and Rob who were exceptional .
The food was excellent so a big thank you to Chef and staff. The wine and dine menu is a must it waas fabulous.

Room Tip: we stayed in 403 a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules8140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Jules 8140

Thank you for choosing The Maids Head Hotel as the place to celebrate your Anniversary, I will pass your kind comments on to Katherine and her Team in The WinePress Restaurant and to Magic our Chef and his Team.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here on week long business trip to Norwich & would happily return!

Location is good right in the centre near many restaurants & the cathedral. Whilst a little far, is still walkable from the station in 10-15 minutes.

The rooms are very nice, my colleague got upgraded to a suite on arrival, which was huuuuge.

One of the best parts was the restaurant. Breakfast is an extensive continental buffet and cooked English to order (they even ask how you would like your eggs!). Dinner is towards the pricey side for Norwich, but the food is top notch.

Would recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Okciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Ok ciaran

Thank you for your review I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your week long stay and that you found the food very good, I hope that you will be back to stay with us again, we have just launched our new spring menu which is being well received.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We've stayed with my partner in this hotel last year and chose it as per reviews. Room was nice, clean, staff very friendly. Unfortunately we've been allocated on the ground floor with probably group of young people who decided to come back around 2am and make such a huge noise in the corridor, that non of us could sleep any longer for that night.
On 25th of March my boyfriend took me here for my birthday meal. We sat down at 7:30pm, our main course arrived at 8:55pm. Both of us were tired, hungry and not happy with the slow service at all. I do work in the hotel and know it was not waiters fault, as the waitress was very nice and apologized, its just kitchen who couldn't handle all those orders at a time. Food was delicious, but as well just barely warm when it came to our table. Not sure if we'll go back there or recommend it to someone else. Maybe just different time of the day.

Room Tip: Not a ground floor, really noisy from outside as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Lucia P

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, I am sorry that the group of young guests made a noise on their return which woke you up when you stayed, I am also disappointed to read that you had a long wait in between courses during your dinner, we cook every thing fresh at the hotel and to order, in busy times there may be a delay, the kitchen team work very hard to ensure the wait time is kept to a minimum.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hubby and I booked the wine & dine package for a Saturday night, and we chose the Tamworth Suite. We live half an hour from Norwich but had never been inside the Maids Head before. The reception staff were very friendly and we were impressed by our Suite. We had a drink in the bar, hubby ate a toasted sandwich and I had scones with cream & jam, very naughty but very delicious! The 5 course sampling menu was excellent as was the different wine for each course. All food & wine is locally sourced. The restaurant staff were all delightful. The restaurant was full and we were aware that some tables had to wait a while for food, but the staff were trying their best. We had no delay at all. Our room had a huge 4 poster bed which was very comfy so we had a good sleep. I must point out that the hotel is in the city centre near bars & restaurants, and on a Saturday night there were quite a few loud passers by and lots of traffic noise. But we knew that so it didn't bother us. The building is very old and creaks a lot and we heard every footstep from the room above but again this is to be accepted. The hotel interior is full of character and maintained very well. Breakfast was excellent. All in all the price was very good value for money, and we will definitely stay/eat there again.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking rear car park if you want to escape the road & reveller noise, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear NickyP1971

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am please that you enjoyed the Ranworth Suite and that the dinner and wines met your exceptions. The team work hard to achieve this.
We hope that you will return to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hotel is rambling, eccentric, and wonderful if you don't want the chain experience. I imagine its like staying at a great-aunt's rambling house (if I had such a family member!) The staff and service is really excellent. Quirky Maids Head pub inside worth a visit to try the local ale/s http://maidsheadhotel.co.uk/blog/?p=247 The restaurant has amazing food and the service was excellent. The only niggle was the bathroom could do with a bit of an update. We had the cheaper room, ok for family but not romantic - go for the themed / pricier rooms. Great location if you are driving and need to park your car in central Norwich, the hotel is easy walking to all of the main attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear TravelBuufy

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are very proud of the Maids Head Hotel, I am pleased that you liked the Maids Head Bar with it's named ale and that you found the service good.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Excellent weekend stay. Food was of a high standard, and every single member of staff was attentive, helpful and courteous - could not have asked for more. Would definitely go back again - a most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Baggies68,

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased to read that you had an excellent stay and found my team helpful and attentive,

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

room upgraded before we arrived which made the stay.,the location is just perfect for the centre,
this was our first visit to norwich so will revisit in the future,the staff where very attentive and full off useful information.
the local map was not perfect but with a little imagination you got used to the fact that the street name are not there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artphil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Artphil 2013

Thank you for your review, we are really pleased tjat you enjoyed your anniversary with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,720 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £93 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing