We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Three Night Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Three Night Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We decided to take a three night break in Norwich as it was a part of the country we had not visited. The Maids Head proved to be an excellent choice as it was very central with some wonderful restaurants close by. We went to the the Indian across the road, a Spanish Restaurant Bar about 80 yards away and treated ourself to the tasting menu in the hotels own Winepress Restaurant over the three evenings. All three meals were well above average and thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel breakfast was equally impressive and the service from the Reception desk and the restaurant first class. Car parking was available and convenient and if we go back to Norwich again the Maids Head will be our obvious choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear John L

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your 3 night stay, I hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    326
    114
    39
    11
See reviews for
134
506
33
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

.We were made to feel so welcome from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. nothing was too much trouble from the wonderful staff.
However we would like to mention the excellent team in the winepress they were superb,a special mention to Katherine and Rob who were exceptional .
The food was excellent so a big thank you to Chef and staff. The wine and dine menu is a must it waas fabulous.

Room Tip: we stayed in 403 a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules8140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Jules 8140

Thank you for choosing The Maids Head Hotel as the place to celebrate your Anniversary, I will pass your kind comments on to Katherine and her Team in The WinePress Restaurant and to Magic our Chef and his Team.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on week long business trip to Norwich & would happily return!

Location is good right in the centre near many restaurants & the cathedral. Whilst a little far, is still walkable from the station in 10-15 minutes.

The rooms are very nice, my colleague got upgraded to a suite on arrival, which was huuuuge.

One of the best parts was the restaurant. Breakfast is an extensive continental buffet and cooked English to order (they even ask how you would like your eggs!). Dinner is towards the pricey side for Norwich, but the food is top notch.

Would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Okciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Ok ciaran

Thank you for your review I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your week long stay and that you found the food very good, I hope that you will be back to stay with us again, we have just launched our new spring menu which is being well received.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We've stayed with my partner in this hotel last year and chose it as per reviews. Room was nice, clean, staff very friendly. Unfortunately we've been allocated on the ground floor with probably group of young people who decided to come back around 2am and make such a huge noise in the corridor, that non of us could sleep any longer for that night.
On 25th of March my boyfriend took me here for my birthday meal. We sat down at 7:30pm, our main course arrived at 8:55pm. Both of us were tired, hungry and not happy with the slow service at all. I do work in the hotel and know it was not waiters fault, as the waitress was very nice and apologized, its just kitchen who couldn't handle all those orders at a time. Food was delicious, but as well just barely warm when it came to our table. Not sure if we'll go back there or recommend it to someone else. Maybe just different time of the day.

Room Tip: Not a ground floor, really noisy from outside as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Lucia P

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, I am sorry that the group of young guests made a noise on their return which woke you up when you stayed, I am also disappointed to read that you had a long wait in between courses during your dinner, we cook every thing fresh at the hotel and to order, in busy times there may be a delay, the kitchen team work very hard to ensure the wait time is kept to a minimum.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, Suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hubby and I booked the wine & dine package for a Saturday night, and we chose the Tamworth Suite. We live half an hour from Norwich but had never been inside the Maids Head before. The reception staff were very friendly and we were impressed by our Suite. We had a drink in the bar, hubby ate a toasted sandwich and I had scones with cream & jam, very naughty but very delicious! The 5 course sampling menu was excellent as was the different wine for each course. All food & wine is locally sourced. The restaurant staff were all delightful. The restaurant was full and we were aware that some tables had to wait a while for food, but the staff were trying their best. We had no delay at all. Our room had a huge 4 poster bed which was very comfy so we had a good sleep. I must point out that the hotel is in the city centre near bars & restaurants, and on a Saturday night there were quite a few loud passers by and lots of traffic noise. But we knew that so it didn't bother us. The building is very old and creaks a lot and we heard every footstep from the room above but again this is to be accepted. The hotel interior is full of character and maintained very well. Breakfast was excellent. All in all the price was very good value for money, and we will definitely stay/eat there again.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking rear car park if you want to escape the road & reveller noise, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear NickyP1971

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am please that you enjoyed the Ranworth Suite and that the dinner and wines met your exceptions. The team work hard to achieve this.
We hope that you will return to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hotel is rambling, eccentric, and wonderful if you don't want the chain experience. I imagine its like staying at a great-aunt's rambling house (if I had such a family member!) The staff and service is really excellent. Quirky Maids Head pub inside worth a visit to try the local ale/s http://maidsheadhotel.co.uk/blog/?p=247 The restaurant has amazing food and the service was excellent. The only niggle was the bathroom could do with a bit of an update. We had the cheaper room, ok for family but not romantic - go for the themed / pricier rooms. Great location if you are driving and need to park your car in central Norwich, the hotel is easy walking to all of the main attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear TravelBuufy

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are very proud of the Maids Head Hotel, I am pleased that you liked the Maids Head Bar with it's named ale and that you found the service good.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Excellent weekend stay. Food was of a high standard, and every single member of staff was attentive, helpful and courteous - could not have asked for more. Would definitely go back again - a most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Baggies68,

Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased to read that you had an excellent stay and found my team helpful and attentive,

Kind regards

Christine Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing