We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jewel in our crown of meeting venues for BNI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A jewel in our crown of meeting venues for BNI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We currently use weekly around 13 different meeting venues for breakfast networking groups.
I always look forward to my personal monthly visit to the Maids Head for our Castle Chapter meeting.
Superbly located. Elegantly decorated and the service my members receive is first rate. The gentleman who looks after the members (Bruno) is such a pleasant and hard worker and nothing is ever too much trouble.
He told me he 'loves looking after them every week'! - Great attitude.
Throughly recommend the Maids Head for business meetings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Dan K,
We are honoured that you consider The Maids Head Hotel to be the jewel in the crown of BNI meeting venues! I hope that we will retain that status through the hard work of the team and continue to welcome you for a long time.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    325
    114
    39
    11
See reviews for
134
506
33
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hopton on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I attend a weekly Breakfast meeting with 30 plus businesses. Bruno is always in attendance to ensure the room we us is immaculately set out as we wish and the breakfast is superb.
He even ensures there is a pile of toast. :)

The Hotel is excellent for both business and pleasure and is excellently located for central Norwich.

I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Jerry232,
Bruno will be very pleased that his efforts are noted and you have taken the time to comment upon them. It is great to read that you enjoy your meetings at The Maids Head and are happy to recommend us to others.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I go along to the Maids Head Hotel every week to meet fellow local business people to network and pass business. We consider ourselves so lucky to have such a great venue as the room and the facilities are perfect for us. The Full English breakfast is always a hit and the super organised Bruno, is always on hand to ensure our meetings run without a hitch. He and all the staff at the hotel are always extremely helpful. I would fully recommend the Maids Head as a business venue as the service, facilities and location are hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Nikki T,

I am glad that you enjoy your regular meetings here at The Maids Head Hotel and that Bruno looks after you - he will be proud to be mentioned. We look forward to continuing to serve your breakfast meetings.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly adequate and I would write a more favourable review if it were 3 star but there is simply no way it should have a 4 star rating from the AA. The rooms are clean, but small and dated, with no air conditioning. Breakfast is okay, but nothing more. Oh, and then there are the stairs - of which there are many as the hotel is on so many different levels.

It's fine for an overnight, but absolutely not 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolknproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Norfolknproud,
I am sorry that you do not feel we warrant our AA 4 star status. The issues that come with being the oldest hotel in England, as well as a Listed Building, mean that we are not able to implement all of the 21st Century trappings that guests are often used to. I am glad that your find us fine for an overnight stay however.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I attend a weekly meeting at the Maids Head Hotel and despite it being at 6am I am never confronted by moody staff. Everyone has a smile on their face and Bruno in particular (our regular assigned staff member) is an absolute star who couldn't do enough for you.

I have never heard a grumble from any hotel guests and would highly recommend them to any one wanting to stay in Norwich.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Mark S,
Thank you for taking the time to review your meetings here at The Maids Head Hotel. It is great to see that you are looked after, even at 6am, and we hope you continue to meet here in the future.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Probably the very best hotel and meeting venue in the centre of Norwich with on site parking. Their friendly personal service is outstanding, and a special mention for Bruno who went the extra mile. Many thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Saffire C,
Bruno will be very pleased that his effort are noticed and I am glad that you find The Maids Head a great meeting venue.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Maid's Head in lovely Norwich England, leading a group of 15 Hobart and William Smith Colleges alum. The hotel sits in the center of this wonderful city that boasts a number of pubs (including the Adam and Eve the oldest in England), and magnificent cathedral and many churches, as well as modern shopping. The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. They went out of their way to meet all our needs in a pleasant and efficient manner. The rooms are large, but without air conditioning (not really needed even during most of the summer). Unlike Jackspratt 27, I found the room suited my needs perfectly. The Oak Bar is quite spectacular, and you can imagine yourself back in history as you sip one of the many delightful drinks. Breakfast consisted of a buffet with a variety of food that was certainly beyond adequate. They even provided us with a box breakfast, at no extra cost, on the day we left early in the morning. I would have no trouble staying at the Maid's Head hotel again.

Room Tip: get an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Lester F,
The whole team will be very pleased to hear that you found them nice and helpful during your stay. We are glad that you appreciated the history of our hotel and we do hope that you will stay at The Maids Head again if you are every in Norwich.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing