We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, location; rooms a little tired”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights while visiting family in Norwich. The central location is excellent, with ample free parking; a plus given that medieval and earlier cities weren't exactly built for motor vehicles and municipal parking is at a premium at stiff prices.

The staff were friendly and highly professional. If only all hotels paid this sort of attention to staff training.

A minor issue was the room felt a bit tired. As soon as you walked in, you could tell it previously had been a smoking room, though indoor smoking has been banned for quite some time in England. New carpeting would go a long way toward solving that problem.

The room rate was quite reasonable given that we had two kids in tow. The included breakfast was great, and the small bar area, centuries old, is rather cosy.

A recommendation to the proprietors would be to keep an eye on the temperature in the dining area. It was unbearably hot two of our three mornings.
Note that while Wi-Fi is free, you have to keep asking for 24-hour codes from the front desk. Connectivity was a bit sporadic during our stay, though the receptionist was quite apologetic and proactive in addressing it.

We will definitely stay here again on our next family visit to Norwich.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank ibcgg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear ibcgg1,
Thank you for your review and I shall pass on your kind words to the team - they will be genuinely pleased that their efforts are noticed. We are in the process of undertaking works in the bedrooms so I hope you will find the rooms much better on your next stay. We are also looking at some sort of cooling system for the restaurant in the future.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

I attend a morning Business meeting for 3 hours every wednesday, the room is always well prepared, the staff are always very helpful if we need anything extra or have any questions these are dealt with professionally and promptly (hats off to Bruno and the team) The food is always to a good standard and the area for teas and coffee regularly looked after. I would definitely recommend this venue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_Ferguson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear N_Ferguson77,
Bruno will be very proud that he has made such a positive impression. Thank you for taking the time to tell us how well he and the team do and thanks for your recommendation.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Attending weekly meetings at 6.00am isn't everyone's favourite thing however doing this every Wednesday I actually look forward to coming to The Maids Head Hotel! The breakfast is superb each week and offers such a variety that not many BNI Chapters can boast. Our regular staff member Bruno, ensures all our needs are met from a pot of honey through to tea on the tables ready for our meeting. Would highly recommend The Maids Head for a corporate event.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Charlotte S
We are glad that we make 6am meetings enjoyable! Thank you for your recommendation and Bruno is look forward to another early start next week.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Maids Head Hotel on a previous visit some years ago,as were impressed on our first visit we decided to stay here again. We were not disappointed, the atmosphere is excellent, a lovely room in the old part of the hotel full of atmosphere. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Our only minor complaint was that for the 3 nights we stayed there was a problem with the T.V. which although we were assured each morning that it would be resolved during the day it was not repaired during our stay. Only a minor irritation and it would not prevent us from staying in this lovely historic hotel again.

Room Tip: If you have difficulties with stairs say so wen booking. It is a warren of corridors and staircases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Roy P,
I am glad we are still as good as you remembered, though I am sorry we couldn't resolve your tv issue. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Fantastic, beautiful hotel, set right next to Norwich Cathedral. Stayed here for a wedding so had a slightly different experience from a normal weekend/business traveller. Staff were excellent, food was outstanding, every request was catered for, it honestly was first class.

If I had to complain about one thing it would be the breakfast service, it was dreadful to be blunt! Hopefully it was a one off due to it being a busy weekend.......but then they really should be able to cater for that!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Cathedral Suite, it was fantastic, great space and a separate bedroom, would highly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyfyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear mandyfyfe,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad that you found the staff and food of a high standard but I am sorry that you were disappointed by breakfast. If you could contact me directly with details - operations@maidsheadhotel.co.uk - then I can investigate what happened to try to prevent further issues. I do hope you will still consider us when you are next in Norwich.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife & I have just been on a coach tour to visit Norfolk gardens and we stayed at Maids Head Hotel in central Norwich. May I say how pleased we were with our accommodation. The rooms were of a high standard, clean & with tea/coffee making facilities, (no fridge) The staff were friendly & helpful & we enjoyed the buffet breakfasts with the add-on extras menu. (eg free kippers, haddock BP etc). Our dinners were excellent too! The hotel is full of character, near the cathedral , the main shopping centre & market & has a car park. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s55jce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear s55jce,
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Norwich and we hope that you will enjoy your stay as much as you obviously did this time. Thank you for your kind words which I will pass on to the team.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have held our breakfast meetings every week at this hotel for the last seven years and they have always looked after us superbly. The room is always well set out and the breakfast is excellent. At 6.00am the friendly face of Bruno from the Hotel is always on hand to make sure we have a great start to the meeting. Well done

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear johnkeen,
As a regular guest at The Maids Head Hotel we appreciate you taking the time to review your meetings. It is always good to receive feedback and the team, and especially Bruno, are very pleased that we continue to provide the experience you enjoy.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,781 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#8 of 50 in Norwich
668 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,189 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £84 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing