We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maids Head Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Central Hotel(Norwich)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Stracey Hotel(Norwich)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Reviews (1,284)
    Filter reviews
    1,284 results
    Traveller rating
    698
    401
    128
    45
    12
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    698
    401
    128
    45
    12
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewswine pressoldest hotelcathedral suitenorwich cathedrallovely old hotelcar parkafternoon teacentral locationexecutive roomfree parkingsconesbuffet stylesingle roomvisiting norwichrestaurant staffweekend breakstayed here for one night
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    868 - 873 of 1,284 reviews
    Reviewed 18 August 2014

    Booked a one night stay through Classic Hotels. Received a free upgrade and were very impressed by the friendly staff as nothing was to much trouble. Ideally placed to explore central Norwich and with free Parking an added bonus. Breakfast was another jem so all in all well worth 5 Stars. We will definitely return.

    • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Tom F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

    Dear Tom F,
    Glad you like our location and convenience. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff so thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
    Kind Regards
    Andrew S
    pp Christine M

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 August 2014

    For people who like us are touring and spending a night in Norwich, the Maids Head Hotel is very conveniently located right next to the cathedral and only a short walk to Norwich's lovely shopping and restaurant district. Parking is steps away in the back.
    The hotel itself is a bit ramshackle with stairs going off in different directions, but the common areas are modernized and quite pretty. If you have a chance in the evening check out the pub... I'm not sure how authentic it is, but it has a lot of friendly charm.
    The rooms themselves are a mixed bag... of our group's three rooms one was large and with a nice view. But the other two were actually somewhat dire... clean, but quite small, spartanly furnished and with a view looking out over the courtyard's rooftop exhaust fans. On a warm summer night the lack of air conditioning made for a fairly uncomfortable night.
    Nonetheless, I would return to this hotel... but definitely only if guaranteed one of the larger renovated rooms facing away from the courtyard.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank LouPotato
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

    Dear LouPotato,
    Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Maids Head Hotel. Our location in the center of Norwich is very convenient for all the sights and sounds of the City. The hotel has so many stairs because it was originally 6 buildings which were gradually amalgamated over the years. As to the authenticity of the bar - there has been a pub on the site since 1267, the oak paneling is Jacobean and Horatio Nelson frequented The Maids Head Hotel when he was in Norwich. The hotel is addressing the issue of air conditioning but I am sure you can appreciate that this is a tricky job in such an old building. I do hope that the works will have been completed by the time you next visit Norwich and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Maids Head Hotel.
    Kind Regards
    Andrew S
    pp Christine M

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 August 2014

    Went with a coach trip to the hotel. I had paid a supplement to have a room on my own which turned out to be tiny,the window was painted shut with a very noisy fan outside and a view of a wall ! When I complained everyone was very nice and they helped me to move to a much better room. There are lots and lots of stairs in the hotel which appear very difficult to avoid,as they go up and down from the dinning room. The food was very nice even though we were there as part of a coach party and the staff were charming and helpful. Bizarrely the wi fi code changed each day but they were always happy to give it to you at the desk. The weather was very hot during our stay and the dining room got unpleasantly warm ,the fans were not on because they might put out the candles apparently. There was a lovely courtyard outside where you could have drinks which was cool and pleasant. Nice hotel with great staff.

    Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    Thank Annemagowan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

    Dear Annemagowan,
    I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with your party. I am pleased that the staff were all helpful and that you found the food to be good and I will pass your compliments on. The Hotel is currently undergoing works to improve the temperature control in rooms which will improve the experience for guests so you should notice an improvement the next time you stay.
    Kind Regards
    Andrew S
    pp Christine M

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 August 2014

    We stayed at maids Head for 1 week and the service and breakfast were excellent. However, an added bonus was that we could have a reasonably priced dinner in the bar with Richard's splendid service. The staff at Maids Head were very competent and extremely friendly. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

    Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cathedral
    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Colin M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Christine M, Owner at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

    Dear Colin M,
    Great to read that you enjoyed your week with us. Richard will be very pleased that you appreciated his service, as will the rest of the team. We do hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Norwich.
    Kind Regards
    Andrew S
    pp Christine M

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 August 2014

    We spent one night in this very central hotel. Our main purpose in being in Norwich was to visit the beautiful cathedral which is just across the road. It is also very easy to walk to the main shopping area. Our room appeared to be fairly newly renovated and was clean and spacious with a small but very adequate bathroom. The room looked over the car park but as we had not booked ahead we were not expecting any great views. The different areas of lounges looked inviting and comfortable. We had an enjoyable drink and meal in the bar in the evening and a lovely breakfast in the dining area. Certainly stay here if you are in Norwich.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Bolly27
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

    Dear Bolly27,
    I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to the magnificent Norman Cathedral as well as your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
    Kind Regards
    Andrew S
    pp Christine M

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews