We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We returned to the maids head hotel, and we were given a suite as we had our daughter with us. Nice size room, very comfy beds. lovely big bathroom. All the staff were very friendly, breakfast was great. The hotel is in a great location, and has free parking . We didn't eat in the restaurant this time, but the food and menu are great .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemoore_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear juliemoore_13
It is lovely to read that you have stayed with us before and chose to return. The team appreciate your kind words and we hope to achieve 100 for your next visit!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    332
    114
    39
    11
See reviews for
135
514
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I paid £175 for a single double-bed room through hotels.com. When I checked in the concierge mentioned I'd gotten one of the cheap rates through "hotels.com or expedia" -- his words. I was then told I'd be staying in the "new wing". When I asked if there were older rooms available he said no and that they were "quite a step above" the rooms I'd be staying in -- implying the price was much higher. However I'd seen someone on yelp comment that they'd had a great stay in an Elizabethan-style room for £150 (part of some sort of historic Norwich package). So I had assumed my stay would be in a similar room -- their website doesn't seem to mention that there's an "ugly sister" wing, built in the 1960s, for people who book online.

Shrug, a bit of a bait and switch. The room was a bit tatty, servicable size, nothing special about it. Bathroom tub/shower incomprehensible at least to this sleepy traveller -- ended up with my feet in a freezing cold tub of bath water while the medium-hot shower water cleaned my hair. Tub didn't drain well, so it was either cold water, or scalding water from below -- I picked cold. Maybe will look again tomorrow.

Ran out of TP almost immediately, no backups in room (am a single female traveler with no stomach ailments at the moment, ahem -- so that shouldn't have been a problem.) Plastic cups in bathroom so cheap they broke AS I WAS OPENING THEM. Chips and scuffs and stains. Nothing special. Ordinarily I wouldn't bother to complain about a baseline hotel, but was expecting something much nicer.

Location is still good, and staff friendly enough. The service at the restaurant below was very slow, food was ok.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phrannest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Phrannest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am sorry to read of the issues you had with your stay. It appears that we were fully booked during the period of your stay and that you had one of the last rooms available so we were unable to change your room to the old side of the hotel. We are in the process of renovating a large number of bedrooms and value feedback to ensure we improve our service in the future.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel back in May but I've only just got round to reviewing. My niece was getting married and this hotel was chosen for all the guests to stay in. We arrived quite late in to the evening on the Friday but were checked in efficiently. We then went for a bite to eat in the bar (we have 2 children, 7 & 3 so wanted something informal). The service in here was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, food cooked for the kids that wasn't on the menu, lovely meals for us. Just what we needed after seveal hours in the car. Lovely atmosphere and great place to unwind with a drink or three! We were given a large room to accomodate 2 extra beds for the kids (we were told in advance we would need to provide these which was not an issue however maids head provided all the bedding). Lovely room overlooking the cathedral. Breakfast was fab, buffet or menu, all with great service again. We stayed 2 nights and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Even my 7 year old has been asking if we can go back! Have to stay in Norwich again overnight in October and this place will be top of the list!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBontoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear KBontoft,
I am glad that you will be back in Norwich again in October and that you enjoyed your stay so much that you are coming back to The Maids Head. We look forward to seeing you then!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked a one night stay through Classic Hotels. Received a free upgrade and were very impressed by the friendly staff as nothing was to much trouble. Ideally placed to explore central Norwich and with free Parking an added bonus. Breakfast was another jem so all in all well worth 5 Stars. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Tom F,
Glad you like our location and convenience. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff so thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

For people who like us are touring and spending a night in Norwich, the Maids Head Hotel is very conveniently located right next to the cathedral and only a short walk to Norwich's lovely shopping and restaurant district. Parking is steps away in the back.
The hotel itself is a bit ramshackle with stairs going off in different directions, but the common areas are modernized and quite pretty. If you have a chance in the evening check out the pub... I'm not sure how authentic it is, but it has a lot of friendly charm.
The rooms themselves are a mixed bag... of our group's three rooms one was large and with a nice view. But the other two were actually somewhat dire... clean, but quite small, spartanly furnished and with a view looking out over the courtyard's rooftop exhaust fans. On a warm summer night the lack of air conditioning made for a fairly uncomfortable night.
Nonetheless, I would return to this hotel... but definitely only if guaranteed one of the larger renovated rooms facing away from the courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouPotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear LouPotato,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Maids Head Hotel. Our location in the center of Norwich is very convenient for all the sights and sounds of the City. The hotel has so many stairs because it was originally 6 buildings which were gradually amalgamated over the years. As to the authenticity of the bar - there has been a pub on the site since 1267, the oak paneling is Jacobean and Horatio Nelson frequented The Maids Head Hotel when he was in Norwich. The hotel is addressing the issue of air conditioning but I am sure you can appreciate that this is a tricky job in such an old building. I do hope that the works will have been completed by the time you next visit Norwich and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Maids Head Hotel.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Went with a coach trip to the hotel. I had paid a supplement to have a room on my own which turned out to be tiny,the window was painted shut with a very noisy fan outside and a view of a wall ! When I complained everyone was very nice and they helped me to move to a much better room. There are lots and lots of stairs in the hotel which appear very difficult to avoid,as they go up and down from the dinning room. The food was very nice even though we were there as part of a coach party and the staff were charming and helpful. Bizarrely the wi fi code changed each day but they were always happy to give it to you at the desk. The weather was very hot during our stay and the dining room got unpleasantly warm ,the fans were not on because they might put out the candles apparently. There was a lovely courtyard outside where you could have drinks which was cool and pleasant. Nice hotel with great staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annemagowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Annemagowan,
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with your party. I am pleased that the staff were all helpful and that you found the food to be good and I will pass your compliments on. The Hotel is currently undergoing works to improve the temperature control in rooms which will improve the experience for guests so you should notice an improvement the next time you stay.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at maids Head for 1 week and the service and breakfast were excellent. However, an added bonus was that we could have a reasonably priced dinner in the bar with Richard's splendid service. The staff at Maids Head were very competent and extremely friendly. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Owner at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Colin M,
Great to read that you enjoyed your week with us. Richard will be very pleased that you appreciated his service, as will the rest of the team. We do hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Norwich.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing