We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding for corporate/fundraising evening”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding for corporate/fundraising evening”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

As a Norwich based charity fundraiser i needed a venue that was central and would accommodate a non-specific number of people for an evening event with a bar. From the time we arrived we were delighted with the service - nothing too much trouble, including 'borrowing' a PA system on our behalf, extra tables and chairs. We had a great evening and were supported by the staff and management for our event. The food we also ordered was excellent, even though just afternoon snacks. I will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnsandcakes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Bunnsandcakes1,
Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to be of help with fundraising for a worthy cause. We all look forward to next year!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    358
    121
    40
    11
See reviews for
144
555
38
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiba Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here for 3 days while visiting from Japan - my partner's Japanese so I wanted to show her one of the nicer, very English style, places to stay in central Norwich.

We had a double facing onto Wensum Street, facing a church across the road. Nice view, not spectacular, but it was good. The room was a good size with a reasonable and modern bathroom.

Overall it felt very comfortable. Very traditionally English and good location. Recommended.

Room Tip: Even though there are several pubs on Wensum Street, we didn't suffer from the noise especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear mjb1001,
I am glad that you and your wife had a nice stay and chose The Maids Head Hotel as your very English style base from which to explore Norwich. If you get chance to come back to Norwich I do hope you will stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Quirky hotel; due to the age and layout you need a good memory in order to remember where to find your room. The rooms are well equipped, nicely furnished and a good size and the bed was very comfortable.
The only thing that spoilt our stay was the noise from the late night (early morning) revelry on the adjacent street - some form of (better) double-glazing might be required.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Neil A,
I am glad you found your room pleasant though I am sorry that you were disturbed by people on the street. Double glazing is a very difficult issue with a Grade 2 listed building but we are looking at ways to improve its' effectiveness. If you request a room away from the street for your next visit we will do our best to accommodate you.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Norwich is a city - indeed its cathedral is one of the most imposing in England and its spire is visible from all over the city. But the Maids Head still reminds me of typical market-town hotels and inns - for all the right reasons. I suspect the place is a local tradition - it's an old building with surprising twists and turns (though we were given a room in its unobtrusively added modern block) - and the afternoon would see groups of local ladies dotted around the lounge having a typical up-market afternoon tea - think sandwiches, cakes on what-nots etc. We had first visited just a few years after our marriage and had been charmed then and, when we decided to revisit Norwich after a gap of over 30 years, a return to the Maid's Head seemed obvious - and it was a choice we didn't regret. It lives up to its 4-star rating and its location, almost next door to the cathedral, is convenient for the centre of the city - but not in the middle of the clubbing district!
Rooms were relatively large, perfectly clean with a good-sized bathroom - with a bath! - and service was helpful and, we found, efficient. Breakfast was a pretty standard buffet but plentiful, and coffee and tea came quickly. And rooms, by the standard of other cities, are incredibly inexpensive.
There had, of course, been changes. The covered courtyard used to be an extension to the somewhat small wood-panelled bar, where one could get snack, pub-grub lunches. But this has now been converted into the hotel's main dining space - breakfast room in the mornings and then transformed into a heavily publicised new up-market restaurant, The Wine Press. This is worth a visit - we had a very good dinner - but the loss of the informal space does mean that the bar can become crowded very quickly.
The old restaurant upstairs, of which we had fond memories, seems to have been added to the large list of function rooms the hotel possesses - but these are largely tucked away - even the inevitable weddings - there was one on the Saturday and one on the Sunday during our visit - didn't really impinge on the hotel's public spaces and though the accompanying discos were audible from our bedroom they did finish on the dot of midnight as promised.
So, while not giving a rave review, we had a perfectly pleasant stay in a place that seems part of the fabric of the city's traditions.

Room Tip: Ask if there are to be any major functions - and if there are, go for the modern section of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meic_watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear meic_watkins,
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review of your stay in Norwich at The Maids Head Hotel. It is lovely to read that you returned after 30 years and found the hotel to your taste. I am glad that staff were friendly and efficient as we pride ourselves on our team and their guest service skills. I hope it is not another 30 years before we welcome you again!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We went for afternoon tea and so glad we did...It was lush!
Endless tea, stunning cake,
Service excellent, great value, relaxed atmosphere and overall just a super afternoon, couldn't fault it.
We will return and would I recommend it, definitely! !!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonster1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear bonster1997,
Thanks for your very kind words. The whole team take pride in the quality of our Afternoon Tea and it is great to read that you enjoyed it so much. We will be launching an Autumn Afternoon Tea in September so please keep an eye open for that!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had a lovely stay in the Maids Head Hotel. The room in the modern part of the hotel, was spacious and comfortable and the view across to the cathedral was good, and even better at night, when the buildings were lit up against the night sky.
The hotel staff were very cheerful, helpful, and friendly. They were happy to explain about the history of the hotel and obviously had a great pride in their hotel. There are lots of different areas in the hotel where you can sit and have coffee or drinks and it is in a great location, near to the cathedral. Some parts of the building are very old and characterful.
The breakfast was very good and it was a bonus that we were able to park there all day, even though we had checked out by 12.a.m.

Room Tip: The modern wing is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Claire R,
I am very pleased to read that you had a lovely stay here at The Maids Head Hotel and that you liked your room. Our staff pride themselves on their service so it is lovely to read that you found them cheerful, helpful & friendly! We hope you will stay with us again when you are next in Norwich.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Night one - we were woken at 6:30 am by the couple next door energetically "making out". Night two - 7 am we could hear every detail of the bath being taken above - at least not as a couple this time. Night three - wedding band - every drum beat and bass note could be heard and it was two floors below and not directly below us either. That apart every door appeared to slam loudly and every conversation in any adjoining room was totally audible. Not good enough for a "quality hotel"

Also don't be misled by the web site - the majority of rooms are not "ye olde oaky beams". There is a 1980's wing that we were in. The rooms are hotel average. I paid extra for an "executive" room. It had one hotel style chair and a coffee table - value for money?

Positives - of the room - generous size and a huge comfortable bed, but nothing exceptional. Staff were very pleasant and helpful,

Wi-fi - what a pain in the back to have to phone up every morning for a new wi-fi password. Why oh why could the password not last for the duration of the stay? And that was a password per device - I could have tried to connect 4 devices - How laborious!

Location - excellent - smack in the middle of historic Norwich. Very impressed with the city.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn at Carrow Road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeylandAtlantean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear LeylandAtlantean,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Maids Head Hotel. I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed by other guests and the wedding over our very busy Bank Holiday weekend. I am also sorry to read that you found your room a disappointment. We do try to reflect all our rooms on our website but I will look into updating some of the pictures. Due to our City Center location, and security concerns, we find it safest to update wifi passwords on a very regular basis though I appreciate this can be an inconvenience. Thank you for your positive comment regarding the staff, I shall pass that along.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,643 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Property: Maids Head Hotel
Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing