We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”
Review of Maids Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maids Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I am not one for normally writing reviews but me am my partner had a lovely weekend break , staff were very friendly the food was great and the suit we had was amazing, it is also central to the city so we where in a stones throw of all the bars and restaurants etc

Room Tip: get a room over looking tombland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Kevin T,
I am glad that you took the time to write a review of your stay! I shall pass on your kind words to the team and I hope you choose us again the next time you have a city break in Norwich.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

As a Norwich based charity fundraiser i needed a venue that was central and would accommodate a non-specific number of people for an evening event with a bar. From the time we arrived we were delighted with the service - nothing too much trouble, including 'borrowing' a PA system on our behalf, extra tables and chairs. We had a great evening and were supported by the staff and management for our event. The food we also ordered was excellent, even though just afternoon snacks. I will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunnsandcakes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Bunnsandcakes1,
Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to be of help with fundraising for a worthy cause. We all look forward to next year!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here for 3 days while visiting from Japan - my partner's Japanese so I wanted to show her one of the nicer, very English style, places to stay in central Norwich.

We had a double facing onto Wensum Street, facing a church across the road. Nice view, not spectacular, but it was good. The room was a good size with a reasonable and modern bathroom.

Overall it felt very comfortable. Very traditionally English and good location. Recommended.

Room Tip: Even though there are several pubs on Wensum Street, we didn't suffer from the noise especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear mjb1001,
I am glad that you and your wife had a nice stay and chose The Maids Head Hotel as your very English style base from which to explore Norwich. If you get chance to come back to Norwich I do hope you will stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Quirky hotel; due to the age and layout you need a good memory in order to remember where to find your room. The rooms are well equipped, nicely furnished and a good size and the bed was very comfortable.
The only thing that spoilt our stay was the noise from the late night (early morning) revelry on the adjacent street - some form of (better) double-glazing might be required.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Neil A,
I am glad you found your room pleasant though I am sorry that you were disturbed by people on the street. Double glazing is a very difficult issue with a Grade 2 listed building but we are looking at ways to improve its' effectiveness. If you request a room away from the street for your next visit we will do our best to accommodate you.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Norwich is a city - indeed its cathedral is one of the most imposing in England and its spire is visible from all over the city. But the Maids Head still reminds me of typical market-town hotels and inns - for all the right reasons. I suspect the place is a local tradition - it's an old building with surprising twists and turns (though we were given a room in its unobtrusively added modern block) - and the afternoon would see groups of local ladies dotted around the lounge having a typical up-market afternoon tea - think sandwiches, cakes on what-nots etc. We had first visited just a few years after our marriage and had been charmed then and, when we decided to revisit Norwich after a gap of over 30 years, a return to the Maid's Head seemed obvious - and it was a choice we didn't regret. It lives up to its 4-star rating and its location, almost next door to the cathedral, is convenient for the centre of the city - but not in the middle of the clubbing district!
Rooms were relatively large, perfectly clean with a good-sized bathroom - with a bath! - and service was helpful and, we found, efficient. Breakfast was a pretty standard buffet but plentiful, and coffee and tea came quickly. And rooms, by the standard of other cities, are incredibly inexpensive.
There had, of course, been changes. The covered courtyard used to be an extension to the somewhat small wood-panelled bar, where one could get snack, pub-grub lunches. But this has now been converted into the hotel's main dining space - breakfast room in the mornings and then transformed into a heavily publicised new up-market restaurant, The Wine Press. This is worth a visit - we had a very good dinner - but the loss of the informal space does mean that the bar can become crowded very quickly.
The old restaurant upstairs, of which we had fond memories, seems to have been added to the large list of function rooms the hotel possesses - but these are largely tucked away - even the inevitable weddings - there was one on the Saturday and one on the Sunday during our visit - didn't really impinge on the hotel's public spaces and though the accompanying discos were audible from our bedroom they did finish on the dot of midnight as promised.
So, while not giving a rave review, we had a perfectly pleasant stay in a place that seems part of the fabric of the city's traditions.

Room Tip: Ask if there are to be any major functions - and if there are, go for the modern section of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank meic_watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear meic_watkins,
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review of your stay in Norwich at The Maids Head Hotel. It is lovely to read that you returned after 30 years and found the hotel to your taste. I am glad that staff were friendly and efficient as we pride ourselves on our team and their guest service skills. I hope it is not another 30 years before we welcome you again!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We went for afternoon tea and so glad we did...It was lush!
Endless tea, stunning cake,
Service excellent, great value, relaxed atmosphere and overall just a super afternoon, couldn't fault it.
We will return and would I recommend it, definitely! !!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonster1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear bonster1997,
Thanks for your very kind words. The whole team take pride in the quality of our Afternoon Tea and it is great to read that you enjoyed it so much. We will be launching an Autumn Afternoon Tea in September so please keep an eye open for that!
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had a lovely stay in the Maids Head Hotel. The room in the modern part of the hotel, was spacious and comfortable and the view across to the cathedral was good, and even better at night, when the buildings were lit up against the night sky.
The hotel staff were very cheerful, helpful, and friendly. They were happy to explain about the history of the hotel and obviously had a great pride in their hotel. There are lots of different areas in the hotel where you can sit and have coffee or drinks and it is in a great location, near to the cathedral. Some parts of the building are very old and characterful.
The breakfast was very good and it was a bonus that we were able to park there all day, even though we had checked out by 12.a.m.

Room Tip: The modern wing is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, General Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Claire R,
I am very pleased to read that you had a lovely stay here at The Maids Head Hotel and that you liked your room. Our staff pride themselves on their service so it is lovely to read that you found them cheerful, helpful & friendly! We hope you will stay with us again when you are next in Norwich.
Kind Regards
Andrew S
pp Christine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4.3 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,719 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maids Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maids Head Hotel

Address: 20 Tombland | Norfolk, Norwich NR3 1LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
#13 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £93 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maids Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maids Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maids Head Norwich
Hotel Maids Head
Maids Head Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing