We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,429)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveller rating
783
444
139
49
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
444
139
49
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine press oldest hotel cathedral suite norwich cathedral lovely old hotel car park afternoon tea elm hill central location free parking executive room scones buffet style single room visiting norwich within easy walking distance weekend break
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in June. The hotel is situated in a great location next to the cathedral, which is ideal for exploring.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Cestrian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Cestrian52,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. I hope we get to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Andrew S
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

An overnight stay for the pair of us on a warm muggy June night

Allocated bedroom was scorching hot, the one window opened out onto the kitchen extraction system .. Even hotter air and far too noisy to even think about sleeping. Reception quickly and willingly managed to allocate us an alternative room, which was a tad cooler and less noisy - Noticed that each room had a pair of electric fans, which tells a story in itself

Apparently they are gradually installing AC in a few newer rooms, but understandably it's v difficult in the older 'listed' areas.

Overall - Great Location, Parking, WiFi, Staff, Breakfast and characterful downstairs public bars/lounges etc.
Not so great are the bedrooms and outdated bathrooms in the older sections of the Hotel.

Room Tip: In Summer ask for a newer room with AC!!!
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Opsimath_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Opsimath_J,
I am pleased to read that the team did their best to look after you during your stay. As you say we are in the process of bedroom refurbishment and I am sure you will approve of the completed rooms. Do please contact me directly - operations@maidsheadhotel.co.uk or 01603 209955 - and I will ensure you get a refurbished room for your next stay.
Kind regards
Andrew S
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The Maids Head Hotel in Norwich is an old hotel with character, our room was really lovely and newly refurbished, we even had a view of the Cathedral Spire! The room was spotlessly clean, we had a very comfortable bed, roll top bath and excellent ensuite with great shower. We were celebrating a special birthday and enjoyed a wonderful evening meal at the hotel with great service. The food was of excellent quality and beautifully presented. Breakfast was also very good with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2323HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear 2323HJ,
Great to read that you enjoyed a wonderful birthday celebration with us in Norwich. I will pass on your compliments to the team.
Kind regards
Andrew S
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

A very mixed experience. On the plus side the location was superb, the staff were courteous and responsive, the bed was comfortable and the breakfasts good. The negatives included relative small bedroom with a lack of storage space, only one bedside table and a very poorly designed walk-in shower room with a toilet which didn't flush effectively and a tiny basin with a large central uni-tap which made it extremely difficult to wash ones face or shave. Also, the shower screen did not stop the water flooding the floor. One of the poorest room experiences I have had, which was a shame because everything else was good.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martingpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear martingpeters,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Maids Head hotel. I am pleased that you had some positive experiences with us and I am sorry that your room was not to your expectation. We are in the process of refurbishing bedrooms and I am sure you will approve of the new rooms. Please contact me directly - operations@maidsheadhotel.co.uk or 01603 209955 - prior to your next visit and I will ensure you get a newly refurbished room for your stay.
Kind regards
Andrew S
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with family and found the environment to be clean, quaint, and very varied in style. Bars and eating venues were very comfortable and table service for tea was really quite delightful. One can only imagine what it would look like as an old horse and trader stopping post.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Godssake999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine M, Manager at Maids Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Godssake999,
I am pleased that you enjoyed the modernity of the hotel but could still feel the connection with the past. We have tried very hard to marry the two and feel there is a lot of history on display at the Maids Head hotel.
Kind regards
Andrew S
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews