We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western George Hotel
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We went on promotional deal and would have been very unhappy to have paid the full amount. Although the hotel is in a good area not too far from town our room was tiny and very ordinary. It was very difficult to find a staff member to help (I had to go behind the reception desk to get our key) and on the second day we were ignored at breakfast. I had to go to the kitchen to find someone. It is not a really bad hotel, just an overpriced and inefficient one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Best Western George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

The hotel is welll placed for the centre of Norwich. The receptionist was not very welcoming and the standard of the rooms was dated and very basic. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable The staff in the bar and restaurant were very helpful and welcoming and the food was good quality and hot. There was a plug off the wall in my room with all the wires exposed - very dangerous

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We as a company work all over England and we always stay with best western,and from a personal point of view i can honestly say the george is right up there with the best,the staff are so polite, friendly, helpful,and always on hand when you need them.I would have no hesitation recomending the george to anyone looking for an hotel with quality all round.keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevgratom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with close family so we had two rooms.
First problem setting the tone for the stay was the lack of parking for guests.

Each Thursday (so we found out at check in) there is a business meeting and the visitors took most of the spaces.
We arrived in the evening and by then it was full.
So we had to park the car out on the street some walking distance from the hotel.
The manager was totally indifferent to paying guests finding a parking space.
We were advised that we would just have to wait until the meeting was over.
That meant that we could not retire as we were parked in a ticket zone in the morning.
Finally, at 1100 pm in the bitter cold we were able to bring the car into the hotels grounds.

The rooms were looking tired around the edges.
They have attempted to give them a contemporary look but it doesn't work in this older hotel.
One of us had to climb across the bed to sleep, as it was jammed up against a wall with no room to create a space.Had to stand on it to close the drapes as well.
How the room attendants manage to change the linen is beyond us!

The bathroom was nice and clean with good towels and amenities.
Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided but the hot drinks with milk always had an oily film.

Free Internet came in very handy however this BW did not provide an included breakfast.
it had an expensive option due to the hotel’s location and no competition.
Most guests do not need a full breakfast so it would be nice to have a continental included.
It was about a 15 min stroll to Norwich city centre so we were able to get a reasonable breakfast there each morning.

The restaurant at the hotel served very good food for dinner as surely it must for a captive market. Prices were reasonable for a hotel but the service was slow due to lack of staff.
This seemed to be the case throughout our stay in all departments.
We went to a pub just down the road that served great food but it was noisy being a weekend.

Overall we felt that the rooms were overpriced without an included breakfast, the service lacking due to staff numbers and a general indifference all round.
There is a maze of corridors to navigate to find rooms and the room layout could be improved.

We won't be staying again as this hotel puts visitors ahead of their paying guests.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Very quick checkin on arrival, polite desk staff who directed us up to our room (318). Corridors rather narrow to negotiate with luggage and several fire doors close together. Room quite small but adequate and clean. Double bed rather narrower than usually find in hotels. Room rather warm but this may have been due to being over the kitchen, view of kitchen roof and vent chimney. Had to go down to reception as no tv remote in the room and to get the wifi code, would have been useful for this to be in the leather bound guide in the room. Shower wasn't working properly, possible to take a shower but water coming out of both taps and shower head thereby wasting a lot of water and a rather weak shower experience. I did report this the first morning and was told that someone would look at it, the next 2 days it wasn't fixed at all. Was disturbed in the morning by loud Polish shouting in the corridor, I don't know if this was other guests or the domestic staff but presume the domestic staff as they were there for about half an hour.
I would say the hotel is rather further from town than mentioned in some of the reviews. According to Google maps to walk from the hotel to Chapelfields mall which is the nearest real shopping part of town takes about 15 minutes. There is not much of note before here apart from a pub or 2 and a newsagents. It would have been useful to have some bus information clearly available near reception or in the information stands. Parking in the city centre is expensive so better to get a bus.

Overall we were happy with our stay just a few little niggles which could have improved it.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank SazSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Reception efficient and friendly. Room was small but clean and well furnished with a decent bathroom. Hotel was fully booked however no noise in room so good sleep quality. Brasserie grill served good food. Breakfast was again good. Norwich city centre a five min walk. Bar prices were very reasonable. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharkyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

The hotel is in a great location for the city centre - about a 10-15 minute walk. The room was quite small but newly refurbished, warm (a bit too warm but you can turn the heating down), new carpet etc.
The bar and breakfast room are comfortable and we had no complaints about the food - no issue asking for more toast and the hot food was cooked to order.
The hotel itself (inside) could do with a new carpet and a lick of paint but they seem to be working on it.
The staff were fantastic and went out of their way to be helpful.
We paid £59 B&B for a double room (via Best Western's web site) - good value for what we got. There was plenty of free parking too.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthuk71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Cringleford
1.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western George Hotel

Address: Arlington Lane | Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £61 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western George Hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment program and hopes all bedrooms within the hotel to be complete by October 2017. Within the George hotel is our excellent Arlington grill and brasserie restaurant serving award winning food open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and also provides a take away service. The George is located just off Newmarket Road in a quiet cul de sac on Arlington Lane, just 10 to 15 minutes walk from the City centre, making it an ideal place to stay whilst visiting Norwich and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
Best Western George Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing