We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, great value for money food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western George Hotel
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 4 January 2012

we live locally so didn,t use the accomodation, but we chose to celebrate a family birthday here. easy to book, when we arrived complimentary balloons on table ,a lovely touch, food was superb, steak cooked chargrilled with hand cut real chips, staff so friendly, even sang happy birthday! a perfect evening. thankyou.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

I used this hotel as a base whilst visiting my daughter and her family over the Christmas holidays. From arrival to leaving the staff could not have been more helpful or charming, my room was warm, very clean and well maintained during my three day stay. The dining room staff were very good and served me very well. The cheerful attitude of the staff even though they were working over their Christmas, as well as mine was heartwarming. Thank-you all.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Shame about the George Hotel, checked in with a warm welcome at the desk and upgraded as a gold card holder to room 128, OMG ! Holes in the carpet, dirty walls, bath not working and a dribble from the shower.

Restaurant and bar very good with good quality food at a reasonable price, and a very nice breakfast. Upon check our I enquired about the standard of other rooms, as I had booked 6 more rooms for colleagues for the next 5 night, a tidy bit of business, the receptionist informed me that I was upgraded to the worst room in the hotel which had now been taken off line. No suggestion of a refund or apology, or a least the mention of compensation as the company had booked rooms for the next 5 nights.

Extremely poor service Best Western and not the serve expected when the economic climate is fragile, at a push 1/12 -2 out of 10. Poor service, Poor Hygine, Poor standard.

Room Tip: Make absolutely sure you check your room first before relying on the front desk, that it is the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsfbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I booked 3 rooms for 2 nights each (Fri/Sat).

All were well finished and had excellent facilities.

What stood out for me was the friendliness and quality of the staff. Whilst we did not use the restaurant (pre-booked commitments) the bar was well-stocked and surprisingly (for a hotel) good value.

No hesitation in recommending (budget and quality) were key criteria for me, that were both met.

Room Tip: Be specific about what is a priority for you (shower v bath etc), the staff will try their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

One night, family room. Very easy to find, plenty of parking. Very relaxed hotel. Room plenty big enough! Restaurant looked very nice, bit more expensive than your average pub grub. Had breakfast with price of room & that in itself is worth coming for. Again very relaxed, english cooked to order, quality of the food was great. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily-hfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The food was excellent although restaurant not very restfull. Bedroom was tired although clean. Shower in room 115 lacked water pressure. Staff efficient and friendly. TV was from a past age 14inch CRT. Too far out from Norwich city centre but pleasant walk.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jf2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is part of Arlington Group.
Do not book a room in this hotel if you expect to get what you see on the website.
I booked a double room for guests. I did not expect the room to be the same as the one on the website but at least of the same standard. I decided to go and see the room a few hours before my guests arrived. The room they had put them in looked like an outdated Tavelodge! Bathroom was terrible too. The women told me that only some of the rooms had been refurbished to which I retorted that then they should state that on their website. She said the room on the website was 2 years old anyway. I insisted on an ungraded room which she was able to find which was much better but still not quite in line of what is advertised on the website.
The women was most put out that we wanted to change the room, she could not even look up at me when I paid, thanked her and said good-bye... she carried on working without looking up.
If it was not for the fact that I could not get a refund I would have cancelled the room.
I do not recommend this hotel. The reception and hallways smell old and musty too, carpets are well worn and rooms are not as advertised..
Make sure you know what room you are getting otherwise go to a Travelodge where you will get a better room for much cheaper.

Room Tip: Phone before you book. Make sure you are getting a refurbished room otherwise you are being riipped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArlingtonNorwich, Owner at Best Western George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you for your nameless review although I'm unsure as to what you are talking about. We advertise a number of rooms on our website from our suites down to our single rooms, is there one room in particular you had in mind that you wanted to book as you don't state this in your review!

You also state you could not cancel the room, WHY NOT? If you hadn't booked and paid on advance purchase there was nothing stopping you from cancelling the room, nothing at all! Please get your facts right before you make a statement that is totally incorrect and misleading.

The majority of our rooms are refurbished however if a guest is unhappy with their room they can asked to be moved, it's not a problem as you did, although you forget to mention that somebody happily showed the room where your guest would be staying.

As for your retorting it should be on the website why? We have an ongoing maintenance programme which is not something people normally want to read about, if it's something close to your heart which it clearly is perhaps you should have asked the question on your initial enquiry!?

I despute totally that the reception and corridors smell old and musty as this is not the case.

I end by saying you didn't have to continue with your reservation, you chose to do so! You didn't even stay here but yet feel you have the right to abuse us which is totally unfair and as a resident of Norwich thank you for supporting one of the small businesses that is being engulfed by the corporate market! Not!

Bill Heath
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#19 of 50 in Norwich
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Cringleford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western George Hotel

Address: 10 Arlington Lane | Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £65 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western George Hotel is undergoing a full refurbishment program and we are pleased to announce all bedrooms within the hotel have now been completed. The front of house and public areas are now in the process of being fully refurbished and updated which we hope to have completed by March 2018 ensuring the very minimum of disruption to our valued guests. Within the George hotel is our excellent Arlington grill and brasserie restaurant serving award winning food open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and also provides a take away service. The George is located just off Newmarket Road in a quiet cul de sac on Arlington Lane, just 10 to 15 minutes walk from the City centre, making it an ideal place to stay whilst visiting Norwich and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
Best Western George Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing