We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to the city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western George Hotel
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
KINGSWINFORD
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“close to the city hotel”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here for 1 night being away with work.I booked it online and when i arrived i found out it was very dated. The receptionist was friendly and it took me 5 mins to get to my room at the back of the hotel.I had asked for a upgrade but none was available.My room was clean but again very dated i can not see anything that would want me to stay here again the bed and pillows were uncomfortable and i just wanted the time to go quickly so that i could be up and on my way again.The car park was full so the hotel must also be?? The cost was in my eyes quite expensive for the service i got. i have stayed all over the country in best western hotels and i have to say this is one of the poorest with no facilitys,even the internet was a saga in its own right.Rant over.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANDREW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    132
    117
    67
    36
See reviews for
54
143
42
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I took my elderly mother here for a belated Mothers' Day Lunch. Her favourite place, as it is near where she lives, and where she spent many happy hours with her late husband. The ambience of the hotel is great, as are the staff (receptionist and barmaid.) That's where the great stops I'm afraid. Cold day, door propped open and no fire lit. The 'manager'/'owner' did actually lilght the fire and shut the door which was a great improvement BUT the tv was on (no-one watching) and also musak in the background. This hotel has the potential to be great, BUT, has sadly gone down the downgrade pub route of big flat screen tv and music on. The beef sandwiches we had were just ok, salad and homemade chips ok but really not what is expected from a hotel of this calibre. Swich the tv off, make the sandwiches better than a supermarket and put the heating on!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank molero12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

The George is fine for a short stay. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is good.

My room was clean and comfortable but small and the walls were quite thin as I could here my neighbour talking on her mobile and coughing.

I would say that The George needs some cash spent on the interior. The woodwork in the room was a bit shabby and the carpets along the hallway have definitely seen better days.

However, overall it was clean, comfortable and friendly and in a great area of Norwich.

The evening menu looked very good too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We always come to the George when in Norwich and it is always a pleasure to stay here. The staff are extremely attentive and friendly. The rooms are always clean and nicely appointed. Unlike a previous review we have always had a spacious room. Lots of extras like newspapers. The bar is nice for a drink. Probably the best thing is the restaurant, food is very good, menu always changing - it has won awards. Very convenient location- you can walk into town. Ample parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zero550657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

they are friendly.... but the room is soooooooooooooo small and the bed was soooooooooooo small!!! that i really don't know what kind of a best western this is.
very clean.
very central
i suppose it is ok for one or maximum 2 nights.
restaurant downstairs.... like a british resto :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itzibitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

When in Norwich I always stay at George hotel for the businessman on the road it offers a great location, Nice bar and a good restaurant with "good value fare" the staff are very attentive, happy and always willing to help regardless how small or big your Query. I had, as always a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cottages, get in quick there are only 4 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essex_Man_About_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Sunday lunch was very disappointing. Tasteless. Beef was nice but vegetables and new potatoes looked over microwaved and tasted stale. Cabbage looked a funny colour, not a nice fresh colour, and new potatoes looked dry and overcooked.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chestnutnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
664 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Cringleford
1.2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western George Hotel

Property: Best Western George Hotel
Address: Arlington Lane | Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
Best Western George Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing