We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

As a business traveler, we usually use the larger chains of Hotels which have good facilities but no heart.
Annesley House is different. Small but with so much to offer. I enjoyed comfortable bed (rare), excelent breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free parking, helpful and friendly staff and a prime location.
Brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeberdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Annesley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed for a night as part of a business visit to norwich, ample car parking and easy access from the main road. Although I arrived late in the evening after the restaurant had closed the helpful receptionist also asked if I had eaten. Stayed in Room 17, everything you would need was provided, a single room with a 4ft bed, the only minor points were there was not much space in the room and a small bathroom with limited room between the toilet and sink that may be difficult to navigate for some people and the decoration was in need of some work.Comfortable bed and very good nights sleep, cooked breakfast was also very tasty and service was excellent. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoyingthesun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in room 23 on the 2nd floor and it was a bit of an 'assault course' reaching it as it was situated in the roof accessed by a fairly narrow enclosed spiral staircase but once there the room was fairly large with a comfortable zip linked super king size bed and a very large bathroom which included a bidet. The down side on the bathroom was that due to the low ceiling height my 5ft 10in husband could not fit under the fixed shower head. There were also 2 steps up to the room door and 2 steps down to the bathroom and steps on the 1st floor corridor so if you have even a slight mobility problem you need to advise this when making a booking to ensure you are allocated a suitable room.
Even though the hotel is on the A11 and the road was fairly busy in the daytime it was much quieter at night and did not disturb our sleep
Customer service excellent and we enjoyed a good breakfast in the conservatory breakfast room/restaurant. If we wanted to return to the area again we would probably stay at Annesley House .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensal093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My room was excellent (I had inadvertently paid for a better room but sacrificed breakfast) and very well presented indeed. No aircon, and you needed to go outside to release the catch that restricted the single window to a 2" opening. After that the room cooled down nicely.

The hotel has busy roads at the front and back of its site. The Coach House (where my room was) is nicely away from the front road, but very close to the back one!

You can walk from the Station in about 20-25 minutes (I speak from experience).

I would not hesitate to come back next time I am in Norwich.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked to stay at the hotel as a last minute booking requestin and payin for a double room. On arrival the hotel looked lovely and the front of house staff were some of the politest n welcoming Ive evr met. Thats where it ended. I stay at a lot of hotels in my job n this rokm was not good! For a start it was a twin room with the 2 beds put together (being married for only 2 months this wasnt ideal)! Wallpaper was hangin off behind radiator, the yellow/mustard bathroom was grim. The bedroom furniture (other than the large TV) looked likr it needed to be sent back to the 70's. An unused TV arial was left thrown at the sude of the wall.
Didnt eat there so cant commemt on food.
Overall - staff great, bar n restaurant area nice but room dreadful. I wont be stayin there again. I could get a nicer room with Premier Inn!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Well it was on spec that we found this little gem
I was not happy with just calling into a hotel and booking in without pre booking

The duty manager is an asset
The young lady waitress an asset
The chef don't let him go
The cleaning staff excellent

The room although small was great take into account that the staff juggled things around to accommodate us

The food was superb and was faultless
The location is excellent for the city centre

Well done Best Western it's a credit to the group

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajmehoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business in Norwich. Staff were very helpful on arrival and through my stay. The hotel rooms are nicely appointed and the standard is great. The common areas of the hotel are very pleasant and the conservatory restaurant is lovely at breakfast time with the sun shining. Nice garden to look out on to. Breakfast was fine and if you want a hot breakfast it is cooked to order which always gets my vote.

The buildings that make up the hotel are lovely and car parking is dead easy. It took 5 minutes to walk into town so perfect location. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you are staying for business reasons in norwich.

Room Tip: Get a double room if your budget can stretch to it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonf679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,692 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#15 of 50 in Norwich
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Annesley House Hotel

Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £69 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
Best Western Annesley House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing