We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shun the chain hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Annesley House continues my theme of why stay in a PremierLodge type place when you can stay in a friendly, characterful hotel for the same money (I realise Best Western is an international brand but is more of a marketing confederation than a "chain"). I had a friendly welcome and stayed in a very good room (no. 12) which was comfortably furnished in a contemporary style, albeit the hotel seemed to have done a deal on a wagon load of cushions as the double bed was almost invisible under the pile of them! The bathroom was similarly impressive with a vast, walk-in shower. I didn't have dinner in the hotel but breakfast was enjoyable in the conservatory attended by a cheerful waitress. I only have occasion to visit Norwich infrequently but the Annesley is where I will be returning to on future business trips.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flipper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have stayed at a few hotels in Norwich and this is by far the best!The rooms are very nice, the staff helpful and friendly and the food good. It is lovely to eat in at the end of a long day. There are menus at two levels of price for dinner. All the food we had was very good in fact delicious! The atmostphere in the restaurant is relaxed.The hotel is also within easy walking distance of Norwich.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

excellent stay, very freindly staff and went out of their way to assist a visitor who had got confused in the city of Norwich. Breakfast filling and evening meal scrumptious Room good and slept very well Thank you for a lovely time

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here two nights recently, whilst visiting Norwich and the surrounding area.
The Coach House annex was exceptionally comfortable and well appointed.
The menu offered a wide choice and our evening meals were delicious. Breakfasts were also very good.
Above all, the manager and all his team were exceptionally helpful, which made for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting family. Lovely hotel close to the city centre. Comfy bed good amenities in the room. Good breakfast. Friendly staff on reception and bar. We stayed in the main part of the hotel which is a large Georgian house. Would definitely come aback to this hotel if we were in Norwich.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday_addict40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was alone on business at the UEA so wanted to feel safe and go for the smaller option and I wasn't disappointed. Very friendly staff, from the reception to dining facilities to the cleaning staff. I had my room upgraded which was lovely, a person in the room above chose to walk about most of the night but that wasn't the hotel's fault but a carpet in the room above mine on the ground floor of the coachhouse would perhaps be a good idea :) everything spottlessly clean, TV bit difficult to work but ok once I got the hang of it. Bathroom was gorgeous and the underfloor heating bliss! Bed was supremely comfortable and the breakfast I had was really tasty. Overall a fab little find and would definitely stay again, Thank you Annesley House :)

Room Tip: Coach house rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SotonFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and found the staff friendly and helpful, I asked if soya milk was available at breakfast and was told that one of the staff would bring this in the following morning, in time for breakfast, that's what I call excellent customer service! The food was very good, had evening meal as well as breakfast. Lovely dining room beautifully decorated. A very comfortable lounge and bar. We had a room in one of the separate houses, apart from having to walk outside to the main hotel for meals (something I find annoying) the room was ok, but cluttered. The bed was v comfortable, the shower was awful v little water pressure, and a very noisy bathroom fan. Bathroom was clean apart from a long hair that was on the bath wall and was still there when we left. Tea and coffee facilities provided, room was dark and the view was of fence ladders and buckets. Very little noise from traffic. Very central for city centre. Would stay here again for friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyllem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,230 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
5.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#10 of 50 in Norwich
669 reviews
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,191 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Annesley House Hotel

Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#10 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £79 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
Best Western Annesley House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing