We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had a wonderful time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“had a wonderful time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

We stayed in the building which was separate from the reception. The rooms were lovely, although slightly dated, it was clean and "shabby chic" as we call it! when we checked in reception we were greeted with a friendly welcome. The gardens are beautiful! we spent most of the afternoon in them, as the weather was stunning. the locaton is good and only a short taxi drive to "riverside" or "tombland" which are both great for bars and restaurants. all in all was a great stay

  • Liked — gardens
  • Disliked — bar prices
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenfluffybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    242
    62
    13
    6
See reviews for
63
278
61
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2008

When planning a business trip to Norwich, you'd think there'd be a wide range of choice for accomodation?

Not really surprisingly!

I'll keep looking, most the villages, towns and cities I visit have one or two 'gems' hidden.......as for Norwich....need to keep looking I'm afraid.

Location is ok, a short walk from the tacky end of town.....you walk past poundland, co-op dept store and other cheap stores. Access to the road walking from town or train station is via a dodgy looking underpass network. Not for the faint hearted at night...though being a South Londoner born & bread....I don't scare easy!

Hotel reception was less then warm.....young lady at the desk, seemed allergic to smiling & polite conversation.....I quickly gave up as she thrusted the registration card at me to complete.

My room was apparently...''upstairs''. That was the extent of my directions. When I found the room it was like being transported back to the 80's. Vinyl wall freezes, dado rails, frilly net curtains, vinyl wallpaper in the tiny bathroom....peeling in places.

Room was facing onto the busy & noisey Newmarket Road.....with an old sash window that didn't close the whole way, so cold & noisey in Dec!!
Bed was actually quite soft & comfy however....which was a plus.

Everything just felt plastic or nylon. Upon checking out, a different lady (more mature...possibly management?) was equally monotone and methodical.

At £75 per night.....just not value for money, sorry.

  • Liked — Erm..........reasonably near city centre I suppose.
  • Disliked — ....the accomodation.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeymamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornhollio_21
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2008

Loved the hotel.

The room i was staying in was in a separate building from the reception and breakfast room. It was like a separte house. You had a front door key and the key to your room so still very seucre.

The staff were great :-) Breakfast was lovely. It was a really nice breakfast room too.

Hotel was clean.

The only problem was that that the hotel was situated bettween two busy main roads so if you are a light sleeper i would maybe think again - but it did not bother me personally.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cornhollio_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

Stayed here 1 night.
Guy on reception great - friendly and helpful.
Large room clean - but very very dated..must be 20 years since decorated.
Eat in conservatory. It was very cold.
Food - not sure. The guy on the next table marveled at this.
I had the goats cheese tartlet..very nice.
but the main course of baked cod was a big disappointment.
Really close to the centre of town - 8 minutes brisk walk.
Would I stay there again..... I think I'd try other places first

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank radform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.6 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing