We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
RAYLEIGH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good location, nice hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2010

stayed here for a week on business just over 2 weeks ago. single room. not bad. internet conection. mini kettle, etc. comfy bed /bedding. flat screen tv with dvd built in so take a few with you, although i noted they offered some to borrow for free. breakfast was about 8/9 pounds for full english but was pretty good. you are about 10-15 mins walk from the main part of norwich. there is a nice pub, out of the hotel turn left - 5 mins away on the newmarket road. we ate there and was pretty good. hotel location ideal. very little road noise and i was at the front of the hotel nearest the road. shower not bad. service was great.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REVIEWKING7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    247
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
64
287
63
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CAMBS
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble, but the hotel is almost stuck in a 1970 - 1980's time warp!!. Wall paper borders and floral wall paper, frilly curtains and far too much big furniture in the room, which was pretty small to start with. The location is perfect for Norwich city centre so if you are just sleeping as we did its fine, but there is room for lots of improvements. Also the room we had smelt very musty.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLEASANTCRESCENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
431 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I stayed here overnight on a business trip to Norwich. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good choice at breakfast. Room was slightly noisy but only because of the other guests coming and going. However, the rooms are comfortable and clean. Hotel is on the edge of the city centre so very central location. Only thing I would point out is that the evening food is slightly pricy and with small portions - but great quality. £12.50 for small chilli con carne was quite expensive I thought. Otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Our room had originally been large but partly reclaimed to provide an en suite bathroom, however good use has been made of the remaining space and nothing is cramped. It was perfectly adequate for our stay, provided everything that we needed, had very comfortable beds and pillows and was nicely decorated. Traffic noise in the morning was, however, a bit of a problem when the window was open.

We found the restaurant to be particularly good and the a la carte dinner menu offered a fairly extensive choice of dishes. Cooking and presentation were of a high standard. The wine list also offered a fair choice at sensible prices. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection both on the starters buffet and on the cooked-to-order menu. Service was efficient and pleasant.

As someone who spends a lot of nights in hotels in the course of a year, I feel that the rates charged by this hotel represent very fair value for money - "LecoBirmingham" and "BaconLondon" please note!! And please also note that I do not have an expense account - I settle my own bills.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Booked a three night stay at this hotel in error, tried to cancel but I was informed I had booked an advanced saver rate and the £320 cost had already been deducted. My wife and I decided to accept our booking and from the moment we entered this hotel we did not feel comfortable, we felt even more uncomfortable when we entered our rooms. They were small, dark and outdated. I don't want to say any more, other than after the first night we departed and moved on to a splendid hotel in Sheringham. I would rate this hotel 3 out of ten for everything. It may suit those that are used to this standard of accomodation, but I would most certainly not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank LecoBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights to explore Norfolk, the staff are very nice and helpful and the hotel is ok but is like something out of the early 80s. Location is good a ten minute walk takes you into the centre of town but the hotel is very over priced. We payed £75 a night for a shoebox size room that was boiling hot. You can't sleep with the window open as it is on a main road. The bed was also fit for the skip as was the shower. TV was on the floor so could not watch it from bed. If this hotel was priced at £35- £55 a night it would be ok but for £75 you would expect better. Breakfast was not included and was £10 each it was very nice but again should have been included.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaconLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2009

This hotel is ideally situated to explore Norwich. Previous reviewers have commented on the high standard of food at this hotel and I would agree. It is however noisy in the morning from about 6 AM onwards, it being situated at the junction of two major routes into the city centre.

Norwich is an interesting destination , a medieval city with friendly citizens and plenty to see and do. Make sure you pick up one of the free maps available almost everywhere because the city is a bit of a labyrinth.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.9 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
5.4 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.6 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Annesley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Annesley House Hotel

Property: Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Address: 6 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norwich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
#11 Family Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Annesley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Annesley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annesley Hotel
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
Best Western Annesley House Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing