We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveller rating
330
275
71
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
275
71
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housegarden housecity centreconservatory restaurantnewmarket roadsingle roomseparate buildinglovely hotelthe main hotelmain roadtrouser pressjacuzzi bathwater pressurewithin easy walking distancethe ground floorcomfortable bedample parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 698 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We'd wanted to stay here for some time, having read positive reviews of the restaurant in magazines and newspapers. A show at The Playhouse allowed us to take a short break in Norwich. There is a great deal that is positive about this hotel - good location, easy parking, pleasant grounds, excellent reception staff. The hotel looks cared for - clean, neat and orderly. The lady who cleaned our room was very helpful when we asked for the electronic air freshener to be removed (why does anyone use air fresheners, unless there is a problem?). The bar was comfortable and pleasant and we were able to relax.
Sadly, for us, the downside was the dinner. Cooking lacked attention to detail - perhaps tactlessly we asked if it was the chef's night off? It wasn't! The duck breast hadn't been seared in hot enough oil so whilst the flesh was correctly pink, the skin was like india-rubber. The fondant potato wasn't fondant. The red cabbage was marinated with so many cloves that it made your eyes water. Other aspects of the meal - starters, sorbet, desserts and coffee were good. Service was lacklustre. The wine list was good and well-priced. We found ourselves asking how the restaurant maintained two AA rosettes when it appeared only two tables on a Friday night were occupied by 'real' diners, the remainder being people having bar-snacks? The conservatory seemed very empty and soulless. It is a really diificult time for better quality hotels with good restaurants to survive unless they command higher prices and a big local reputation (cf Best Western Castle Green, Kendal, Cumbria). Norwich did not strike us as an affluent enough city to support high quality restaurants, so perhaps Annesley House needs to focus on its 'lighter bites' bar menu, cutting overheads and giving most people what they actually want. Either that or they need to go for the 'bistro' style as chef Simon Rimmer has done so successfully at his 'Earle Restaurant' at Hale in Cheshire - one of our favourites.
We would stay at Annesley House again, but probably would consider our dining arangements.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parkkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This was our first stay at the Annesley House Hotel . Our room was located on the ground floor which was very comfortable and very well designed and very clean . we enjoyed our breakfast in a lovely conservatory overlooking a pleasant garden with plenty of tables and chairs if you wished to sit outside. The hotel is very well located to visit and explore Norwich. We also found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpfull . We would defintely stay at this Hotel again and would recommend to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike54Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights to do some sightseeing in Norwich. The hotel is situated close to the town centre, so we didn't need to drive once we'd arrived. Our room was spacious and had the important things - TV and tea making and a fan (it was a heat wave at the time).

Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly. We didn't eat there in the evening because the menu looked way overpriced. You have a wealth of places in town to choose from, so why eat there?

Our gripe was that the bath leaked. I reported it but no one dealt with, which was a bad show. If we'd been staying more than a couple of nights we would have complained and asked for a different room.

We both agreed at the end that the best way to sum it up is 'it's okay, just okay'

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slartibartfast3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Lovely hotel, split into wings, we were in the one to the left of reception, on the ground floor, in a simply huge room! Great big bay window, great bathroom, good facilities. The bed was a problem as the foot end of the bed was higher than the head end at say about 10 degrees. Being a bit tall this was quite uncomfortable and found sleeping for the two nights a bit of a chore and woke grumpy and with back ache.

I didn't bother asking to have it looked at as the first night I thought it was just me and the second night was too late to do anything about it.

The breakfasts were nice, the service quick, on a bright, warm day, the dining room which is a large conservatory was rather warm and the sunlight got you if you sat in the wrong place. Other than that, delightful!

I'd stay there again as the city centre is moments away. Also a note on room service, don't bother as there is a Tesco Express round the corner (3-4 mins) that will cater for all your needs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnFunkYourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Got a single occupant room via a deal with laterooms.com, arrived within 45mins of making the booking and was greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist.
Felt too tired to go out so ordered room service from the on-site restaurant which was absolutely delicious, piping hot and arrived quickly.
The en-suite bathroom was a bit too small (toilet is squeezed in) but that's being very picky as the room itself was nicely decorated and featured a modern flat screen tv among the usual tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardRockCamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews