We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to Norwich”
Review of Chez Denis

Chez Denis
Ranked #23 of 823 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Grade 2 listed building, in the centre of Norwich City Centre. Nestled in Orford Yard Red Lion Street near Loose;s kitchen shop.opposite Deberhams Store.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trip to Norwich”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stopped off in Norwich for 2 nights last week, my husband tried to book a reservation somewhere but could not get a reply, so based on the reviews I booked us in here. As with previous comments Denis is very welcoming, friendly but without being too effusive! I had scallops as a starter which were very good. On recommendation from Denis tried the dolphin fish which was delicious and my husband had jerk pork which was good. The creme brulee was out of this world and the rum punch a great finish. This restaurant is well worth a visit, service and food was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZA47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    99
    24
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We decided to come here for our first evening out in ages based on other reviews on this site - and it turned out to be a very wise choice!! We were instantly made to feel welcome by the manager (Denis) and decided to follow his recommendations for starters and mains - the food was absolutely delicious, the service spot-on and the atmosphere perfect! Denis is a brilliant host and we will definitely be coming back here in the very near future :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abcl_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lovely service and great food! follow the recommendation of the manager and you will fell in love with the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LCG112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like being on holiday”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We've been to Chez Denis twice in the last month. The first time we came, it took me back to our Caribbean holidays. We were so impressed with the menu and the quality of food and drink that we came back as soon as we could get a babysitter! I've ordered the crab claws and the jerk chicken and the new orleans steak. Denis is a very welcoming host. I'm looking forward to going back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Caribbean food and French lessons with a smile!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We searched the restaurants in Norwich for something a bit different and this seemed to fit the bill. We were not disappointed. We had a lovely greeting from Denis on arrival and when we all started to speak a little French, which seemed to be appropriate for the type of restaurant we were in, Denis very gently corrected our mistakes! The restaurant is small and cosy and has a great atmosphere. The food was lovely and I especially enjoyed my oranges in rum with coconut ice cream.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Denis also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Chez Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing