We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food and Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Denis

Chez Denis
Ranked #22 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Grade 2 listed building, in the centre of Norwich City Centre. Nestled in Orford Yard Red Lion Street near Loose;s kitchen shop.opposite Deberhams Store.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I visited Chez Denis not long ago for a mid week meal whilst visiting Norwich.

I took advantage of the theatre meal offer which was two courses for 18 pounds before 7.30.

The meal was lovely and the atmosphere in the restaurant very welcoming. I had avocado and prawns to start and then a nice Creole chicken stew for my main course.

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal but did think that it was quite expensive. There wasn't a large amount of food for what we paid, but it was high quality.

The prices for food outside of the theatre deal are quite expensive, however Creole food seems hard to find, so this restaurant is worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samthecannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    97
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food Definitely Worth A Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Myself & other half visited the restaurant on 29th August after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were greeted by friendly faces and sat down to our table immediately. It is a small restaurant with a lovely atmosphere.

Our starters were delicious - I had prawns which had a hint of chilly and tasty sauce. The mains were very good. I would definitely have the monk fish again and the better half had the steak with 22 ingredients. We couldn't name them all so had to pay for the dish! Worth every penny though.

We finished the meal with the bananas with pancakes and sweet sauce - chosen by Denis as we couldn't decide which desert to have.

I would definitely recommend a visit and we will certainly be returning.

It's not your Michelin star restaurant. This is not a negative comment - far from it - if you are looking for fancy cutlery & plates with waiters in black tie then this is not the place for you. However if you want great food, full of flavour accompanied with wholesome veg & potatoes with a great front of house host full of passion and smiling face then you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mediocre and expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Host/owner charming but found the restaurant had a fried food aroma! Food was acceptable but felt the quality was what most people could serve at home and the price tag was expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmasu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Visiting Norwich and looking for a nice restaurant and found a gem of a place. I'm not sure there are many that will beat this. We had prawns and chicken as a starter and the sauces that came with them were amazing. Main course was chicken curry and filet steak - both amazing dishes and the steak was served with really tasty veg - that could be a meal on its own. Creme brûlée was recommended for dessert and this was the best that I have had! Also not to be missed is the rum punch - we couldn't decide what to have and this was recommended - has to be tried!! Fantastic evening and will visit again!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“nice restaurant and nice owner & family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

When I revisit Norwich I will definitely dine here again. Denis is good fun and his family who were dining here next to us as it happens were interesting to chat to. I have slight reservations about the food - did not think my scallops were any better than ordinary considering the price - fresh or frozen? The mutton curry was good, and the banana fritter cooked to my liking was excellent. Denis’s son looked after us superbly. We had a great time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Denis also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Chez Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing