We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“central location poor service”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. Rooms were good sized and beds comfy.We had problems with toilet flush and lighting in room.Restaurant menu was too expensive with a limited choice.Although our stay was comfortable the attitude of the majority of staff was substandard.Front desk and restaurant staff need to be more welcoming and courteous towards guests.

Room Tip: rooms facing the main road are too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 575cruze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our rooms spacious and comfortable. I am however, very disappointed that you found my staff's attitude substandard. I do hope you will stay with us again so that we can show you the high levels of customer service that my team normally achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    188
    179
    92
    53
See reviews for
124
223
17
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Very friendly reception staff who were happy to help with any questions. They asked if you wanted to book a table for dinner, when you arrived, and asked if you wanted a wake-up call or newspapers in the morning without having been asked about it first.
The pool is lovely and relaxing and the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna are lovely to relax in, bit i wouldn't call it a "Spa" as such. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the rooms were light, spacious and air conditioned with tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was superb with a large selection of things to choose from - continental or full english!
The first appearance of the hotel from the outside wasn't great (slightly dated in appearance), but inside was lovely.
The only downside i thought is the signposting for the hotel was poor, and i actually missed the turning for it first time around as i didnt see the sign

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angel0071987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you received a friendly welcome and that you enjoyed our leisure club and breakfast facilities. I do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Norwich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have just spent a lovely weekend at the Mercure Norwich. The hotel is clean if a little outdated in places but what makes up for this is the staff.They are pleasant, attentive and courteous but not over the top or intrusive in any way, none of them, from the domestic staff to the reception staff walked past without saying hello. The food in the restaurant was well cooked and nicely presented. The Sebastian Coe gym was clean and well maintained, would definately recommend it and would stay there again. Good welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: ask for one with air con as not all rooms have it and the hotel was a little hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh8969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend break at our hotel. I am very proud of my staff and the majority of reviews we receive agree with you. Thank you also for your kind comments about our restaurant and leisure club. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Staff are the worst i have come across
Hotel is in an industrial est / room average at best but cost 5 star money with a view of a truck
Food expensive and uwfull quality sttil feeling ill now

I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND WOULD OTHERS TO THINK TWICE

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Rob, sounds like we really disappointed you, which is very upsetting for me. As you can see from the reviews that surround you, yours was not a typical experience. I do struggle to answer 'general complaints' on an anonymous website so please be kind enough to email me the details of your stay and I will respond in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Booked in at the end of July, 2 rooms - family of 4, plus grandparents. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - plenty of choice and excellent service. My children LOVED the indoor pool, which was a very nice facility to have, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room were great too, plus a well equipped gym. We didn't have dinner there, purely because we'd booked elsewhere before arrival for a family celebration - but the menu choice looked very good. I'd happily stay there again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and our room had air conditiioning which was a bonus in hot weather. Nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swortley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments on to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
662 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Norwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Norwich Hotel

Property: Mercure Norwich Hotel
Address: 121-131 Boundary Road, Norwich NR3 2BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Norwich Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Norwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Norwich
Norwich Ramada
Mercure Norwich Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing