We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunston Hall(Stoke Holy Cross)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barnham Broom(Barnham Broom)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
170
203
203
100
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
203
203
100
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomwetherspoons pubplenty of free parkingsauna and steam roomcity centreevening mealdecent sizeweekend breakfamily roomtwo night staystayed here for one nightleisure facilitiesfull englishyogurtkayleighasdafunction
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in a family room and it fit all 4 of us nicely. Breakfast was good. Ample parking was provided. A supermarket & a fast food chain are within walking distance from the hotel. Overall very good value for Norwich.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Escapade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed our amenities and our buffet breakfast. I do hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Norwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

stayed one night. inexperienced unfriendly staff running a sub standard hotel spa was nice except for the rude girl in charge the rooms where very worn out & not very comfortable thanfkfully only stayed the one night plus the bar was smelly & outdated coupled with overpriced drinks 2 single vodka &tonics pus 1 bottle of water 14.75 & not even a smile i would be laughing all the way to the bank at those prices. avoid if in norwich

Room Tip: choose the car park
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiepops431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for your review and we are very sorry that we disappointed you to this extent. We generally receive extremely positive feedback about our staff, so your comments were particularly surprising. I can confirm that we are currently undergoing a rolling refurbishment programme which will be completed in 2014. We do hope you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The blurb states " A four star welcome awaits you........


Note this is written by the disabled guest [walking stick] though companions agree with my comments.
Good things: Proper disabled bedroom with good shower unit. [aircon]
Rooms not too far away from dining and the spa.
Bar also close to all facilities.
Showers next to steam room and sauna.
Good breakfast.
Short drive into Norwich, About 40mins to Cromer and The Broads.

Poor things: Hardly any welcome apart from receptionist and houskeeper and cleaners.
No safe in room,nowhere to put suitcases, mismatched chairs Junk table. My friends twin room had no table and only one chair !
19 steps down to spa. Difficult for me with walking stick. Wheelchair lifts switched off.
Have to ask for plastic bags for wet clothes. No anti slip mats on way to sauna and steam room.
Opening times terrible. How can you use spa at reasonable hour if it opens at 9am and breakfast ends at 10:30. As you cannot use steam room or swim on a full stomach.Should be open at 8am.
When warm rolls finished was told we only have cold ones! They were heated at our request. Plates at breakfast were scalding hot! Beware! [4* service?]
Most of the evening meals were tasteless: Tuna, Sea Bass. Pork belly was extremely tough.
Room keys did not work after first night. No hand lotion in room.
Dining staff did not know our meal booking at the hotel and we were charged £101 for second night meal [ which was sorted]. Charged for 5 sweets instead of 4 [again sorted].
Dining room with no atmosphere and dining staff not available when coming in for meals.

We have stayed at Great Danes Mercure previously and some comments are comparative.
Would not recommend this hotel if you are partially disabled [stairwise] . Unless you like mis matched junk furniture in your room.

Room Tip: Room 32 for double disabled but poor furniture. Quiet. Also has aircon.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We do try extremely hard to make all our facilities fully accessible for our disabled guests, so thank you for your kind comments regarding room 32. I have noted your constructive criticisms regarding our leisure club and you will be delighted to learn that our opening times are being extended at the end of this month. I am pleased that you are a fan of the Mercure Great Danes, as am I and I hope that you might give us the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the quality and personal service this hotel provided while on a business stay. Entirely recommend both quality of amenities, politeness of staff, and overall value for money. My business colleagues and I will stay again. Thank you.

Paul Arnold
Group Contracts Director
John Henry Group

Room Tip: We had 16 of our guests stay and all the reviews regarding quality of rooms were excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you and your colleagues had an enjoyable stay with us. We strive to provide a superior service experience for all of our guests and I am delighted that you would choose to stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed here recently with some friends, as were were going into Norwich clubbing.
We had dinner on the Friday night which was delicious, the menu had been updated since the last time I had been here and I couldn't fault the food! The hotel is close to the city centre, just a short cab ride away.
The staff were all very friendly and made sure that we had everything we needed. Our room was lovely, it was spacious and the beds were very comfortable.
The next morning we had breakfast which I was also impressed with, there was a wide range of both hot and continental style breakfasts available.
After that, we used the spa downstairs. The pool was a good size, and there was a jacuzzi, sauna and gym available.
On checkout, the friendly receptionists made sure that everything had been OK with our stay.
I would definitely come back to this hotel when next visiting Norwich.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katyrose26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you had such a good weekend. Your kind comments about all our facilities are very much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next night out in Norwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews