We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4* ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here by default after overbooking problem at another 4* star in the area . Driving into the hotel car park we wondered what we had arrived to ... Not a pleasing exterior or area ..
Inside we were met with a tired looking reception area ... Carpet worn in places. The reception staff were friendly enough it has to be said . There is no lift upto the bedrooms which needs mentioning.
The bedroom itself was ok .. Outlook onto out buildings wasn't pleasant . The bathroom was dated .. Handles on the bath worn out tarnish ...
Breakfast was adequate ..
Mostly yellow jacket workers seemed to stay at this hotel. Tables of blokes obviously a bit intimidating as a lone female.

I would really not give this hotel a 4* more like a 3* just !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank KazzaC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for the kind comments you made regarding my staff and I am genuinely sorry that you found us not to be pleasing on the eye. Our building is indeed a product of the 1970's and we are undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment that we are very pleased with. We do aim to offer great service and great value and I would be delighted for you to return and experience us at our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
2  Thank Joff114
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Maz M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

we have stayed in this hotel for over 13 years and had nothing but good times.stuart and nicola have always treated us with the upmost respect along with the rest of the staff.if you complain while you are there not after you leave it will be storted.like all hotels it has positive and negitives but the positives are in the high 90%.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Mr Roberts, Thank you so much for your kind comments, they are much appreciated and I am sure other hotel guests will take your advise and give us the opportunity to get things right during their stay. With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived in norwich from Spain on a business trip with 3 potential clients.
Soon realised that this hotel caters for a lot of offshore workers and contractors, which wouldn't have been a problem if the staff treated contractors the same as a private booking. On arrival the receptionist assumed we worked offshore and asked "what company"? I explained we were visiting on a private business trip. Once checked in After a 10 minute wait in the empty bar the barmaid arrived and explained she couldn't sell us alcohol depending on what company we were? Again I told the bar maid we were nothing to do with offshore and nor were we contractors. Then came dinner, again, assumed we were contractors, stuck us in the back corner of the restaurant along with 4 tables of contractors away from the public seating area! We hadn't even pulled our seats in and the waitress asked us if we were ready to order? No drinks, hadn't even looked at the menu? At this point we decided to eat downtown to get away from the hotel. On return later in the night we were again questioned about consuming alcohol!! Never again will I stay in this hotel, £115 pppn but not worth half if that! To top it off, the fruit in the morning was wilted, brown, and soggy!! Terrible!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank bob350r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

My Restaurant Manager did report your comments to me the next day; please accept my personal apologies for the indelicate questioning by some members of my team. This is not representative of the level of personal service we seek to achieve and again I am most sorry for that. We have already used your experience in retraining the team members concerned and I am most grateful for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Pleasant hotel with good facilities
Decor a bit tired and dated
Enjoyed the pool facilities with 2 children who thought the pool was excellent
Not much outlook hotel in more of an industrial area rather than Norwich city itself


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you found our facilities good and that you enjoyed our Leisure Club. With regards to your comments on the decor; I can confirm that we are currently undergoing a programme of refurbishment which will be an ongoing process throughout the year. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,255 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
4 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Norwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Norwich Hotel

Address: 121-131 Boundary Road, Norwich NR3 2BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £59 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Norwich Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Norwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Norwich
Norwich Ramada
Mercure Norwich Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing