We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Norwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recent visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was clean and tidy but the rooms were very hot as there was no air conditioning. We stayed at the front of the hotel so had to sleep with the window open which meant we had the noise from outside in the morning.
The bar and restaurant were nice and we had dinner and breakfast there which were both very enjoyable.
The gym at the hotel is very small, so any more than three people and it would start to get crowded.
The spa and pool area is ok, except that the back of the sauna started coming away when I leant back on it and there is no water available to drink in the area.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and we had an enjoyable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review I found it very useful. We have attended to the Spa surround and have asked reception to remind guests that free drinking water is available from the Gym area. So thanks for that useful pointer. We do have air-conditioned bedrooms so it's always worth asking prior to arrival. Thanks also for your kind comments regarding our team here. I am very pleased with those comments particularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    182
    172
    86
    51
See reviews for
115
216
16
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean, fresh towels everyday, and the bed very big and comfy. Didn't have an evening meal as we ate out but thought there was an excellent choice at breakfast. Enjoyed the leisure facilities, as it was quiet, but might not be large enough area if there are a lot of families wanting to swim. All in all a great place to stay and definitely worth a trip back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted with our new beds and breakfast specification. I am delighted you are too. Thank also for mentioning our team here, they are doing me proud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Perfect price....Kayleigh was a brilliant ambassador for the hotel....the food was great and the bed was huge, if you fancy a weekend away I can certainly recommend this hotel.

Many thanks for a great stay.

Mark M F

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grubsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. Kayleigh has obviously been on great form recently! our new Brasserie menu seems to be going down well with our guests which is most gratifying.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just left after a very pleasant stay. We paid £49.50 each for a nights stay with evening meal and breakfast. It was great value. The staff were very helpful, especially Kayleigh at dinner. The room was spacious with a lovely, big bed. The hotel was clean throughout. Both evening meal and breakfast were perfectly cooked with a great selection. I highly recommend this hotel.
The only minor downside is that some of the decor is a bit tired, but still very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and in particular for taking the time to mention Kayleigh. Our new beds have been a big hit as has our new Brasserie menu. Again, my gratreful thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned home from our fifth visit (we were there in April).

As always, the staff were friendly and efficient. Our room wass in the front and we noticed a fair bit iof traffic noise from the main road but nothing too bad. Our 'package' included dinner on the first night which was OK and of course breakfast both mornings. The taxi firm used by the hotel is *very* efficient, arriving on time and reasonable charges.

No complaints at all. We were discussing another visit possibly this year.

The big PLUS is, I think, the staff. All the rooms we've had seemerd to have been recently decorated / refitted. Some of the public areas could use a bit of a makeover (carpets especially) but I don't think this is too urgent.

The only 'down side' this visit was probably beyond the hotel's control - a young man took a call on hids mobile at breakfast one morning and bellowed at whoever called him - no-one else was remotely interested in his job but regrettably none of the staff asked him to go outside! Having said that one cannot blame Mercure for a guest's lack of manners.

Room Tip: ask for an airconditiooned room away from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review, it's always great to hear from regular visitors. And thank you too for the kind comments about our fantastic staff who do us so proud. I am very pleased that you have noticed our rolling painting/refurbishment program in the bedrooms, it's always gratifying when guests comment on recent improvements. Really sorry about the egotistical guest at breakfast; Controlling other people's behaviour is indeed a real challenge for my team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely staff from check in to check out. A special thank you to Kayleigh who could not do enough to help us during our stay. She kept us plied with Champagne all afternoon !!!! And was a real gem during dinner. Our evening meal was fantastic. The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. The spa facilities were more than adequate too. Breakfast was great with a huge variety. Thank you Mercure Norwich for a great night away from it all ........ X

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Yours really did sound like a "perfect weekend." We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunny Norwich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This dinner was to raise money for a local charity. It was a very average bland meal, we were effectively ripped off with a bottle of very ordinary white wine costing £25 (actual cost in the region of £5) The male toilets were not clean, smelt badly and generally looked very tired. A round of 4 drinks namely a G&T, 2 x JDs and coke and a glass of white wine cost £22.50.
The experience of being charged excessive prices for very average wine and food in a building with a smelly toilet was one the I shall not repeat, nor recommend to colleagues or friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkRedbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Apologies to the Red Baron regarding our "blocked toilet issue," that night. Never a great advert for a hotel I agree. Problem now remedied I can assure you. Our bar prices are typical for a four star hotel in the city and I hope you will agree that the service levels that night reflected the prices. I am sorry we failed to WOW you that night but I understand the event was a great success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Norwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Norwich Hotel

Property: Mercure Norwich Hotel
Address: 121-131 Boundary Road, Norwich NR3 2BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Norwich Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Norwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Norwich
Norwich Ramada
Mercure Norwich Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing