We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very mixed picture” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Norwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Norwich Hotel
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A very mixed picture”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights and as part of the package had a two course dinner on the first night. What we experienced was a very mixed picture some good points but a lot of bad.
First the good, the room was clean and had a good air conditioning, was quiet and had a comfortable bed although the toiletries provided were very basic. The staff were all very helpful and cheerful, but very few of them, only one to take orders in the restaurant and also serve all the meals and clear up, they also seemed very young and lacking experience.
The leisure facilities while small were good.
Now to the bad, it clearly states high speed wifi throughout the hotel, certainly not, a lot of the time it wasn't working at all and even when it did was so slow that you couldn't download even basic websites.
The worst part was the food, as I said earlier we had a two course meal as part of the deal. The starters were just about acceptable but the mains , priced between £12 and £15 were very poor. I had a Thai Green king prawn curry, the prawns were few in number and in terms of size were very small, it was accompanied by rice and prawn crackers which were covered in grease. My wife had the only vegetarian dish on the menu, roasted butternut squash served with egg fresh linguine. The pasta was certainly not linguine was more like thin spaghetti and covered in grease. The butternut squash was minimal in quantity and the whole thing was tasteless.
The breakfast the next day was not much better.
The following night we went to the weather spoons pub where for just over £6 we had far nicer meals.
We would stay the hotel again but would certainly not eat there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awizzbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review and the kind comments you made regarding the rooms and staff here. We have had some great comments recently regarding our new menu but there were quite clearly some mistakes made regarding your own meals for which I apologise. You will be pleased to learn that our WIFI issue has now been fixed by BT so onward and upward; and it's still free! Thank again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    182
    172
    87
    51
See reviews for
115
218
16
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

1 night stay for family function, booked online, although hotel is typical 70's unattractive, large car park, several facilities close by, and the room was very quiet, clean and comfortable. Shower worked well, beds were very comfortable. Staff were smart and helpful,

Room Tip: Ours was # 06, and seemed to be in a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. I agree, the 1970's were not a high point for architectural design in retrospect! However you have made some great comments regarding service and staff at our hotel which I hope sets us apart from the competition. I really do appreciate you making the effort to mention my team in a positive way it really helps with our training. My thanks again and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sunny Norwich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbrigg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here when we went to his works Christmas party.Good food, good entertainment ad a disco. The staff were friendly and the room was clean and quiet. Good basic value for money would go again..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Your comments are very timely as we have just launched this year's Xmas party theme of Mistletoe and Masquerade. We are forecasting another bumper season with packed out party nights and we always offer discounted rates for guests who prefer to stay over and avoid travelling home.
Thank you once again for the kind comments you made about our rooms and staff, I hope to welcome you back this year during the festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stay in the oldest hotel in england.we had a suite very large suite and the price after a bit off
Dealing with them 110 pound excluded breakfast.well not very cheap but worth while.parking
Including and closed to the centre and restaurants very posh hotel ,well recomeded.very quired. Nice large queens
Size bed.yes we are inpressed.come again.

Room Tip: well if you have enough to spend take a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We have received great feedback concerning our new beds. I hope you had a safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband last month and had a wonderful time. Room very clean and nice with fresh towels everyday. Restaurant was very good we had dinner and breakfast there, the staff in the restaurant were lovely and helpful as were the girls on reception morning and night. Didn't use the leisure facilities but looked very nice. Overall would definitely book to stay here again. Thank you!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gina_hightops2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are getting great feedback about our new menu and service in the restaurant. You make some very positive comments regarding my team for which I am most grateful. It's certainly the staff that make the difference! My thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was clean and tidy but the rooms were very hot as there was no air conditioning. We stayed at the front of the hotel so had to sleep with the window open which meant we had the noise from outside in the morning.
The bar and restaurant were nice and we had dinner and breakfast there which were both very enjoyable.
The gym at the hotel is very small, so any more than three people and it would start to get crowded.
The spa and pool area is ok, except that the back of the sauna started coming away when I leant back on it and there is no water available to drink in the area.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and we had an enjoyable stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review I found it very useful. We have attended to the Spa surround and have asked reception to remind guests that free drinking water is available from the Gym area. So thanks for that useful pointer. We do have air-conditioned bedrooms so it's always worth asking prior to arrival. Thanks also for your kind comments regarding our team here. I am very pleased with those comments particularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean, fresh towels everyday, and the bed very big and comfy. Didn't have an evening meal as we ate out but thought there was an excellent choice at breakfast. Enjoyed the leisure facilities, as it was quiet, but might not be large enough area if there are a lot of families wanting to swim. All in all a great place to stay and definitely worth a trip back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart C, General Manager at Mercure Norwich Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted with our new beds and breakfast specification. I am delighted you are too. Thank also for mentioning our team here, they are doing me proud!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Norwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Norwich Hotel

Property: Mercure Norwich Hotel
Address: 121-131 Boundary Road, Norwich NR3 2BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Norwich Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Norwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Norwich
Norwich Ramada
Mercure Norwich Hotel Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing